Reliance Home Comfort

Heating & Air Conditioning
51 Simcoe Street South Oshawa ON L1H 4G4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 6 timesBest of 2019winner 6 times
Giving Back Award winner 3 timesGiving Back Awardwinner 3 times

Reviews for Reliance Home Comfort

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (10963 reviews)

Sort by

Amir
Amir
7 reviews Guelph, ON
0/10

Water Heater Leaking

I have been renting the water heater from Reliance and recently noticed that there was a substantial amount of water under the tank. I called their service and scheduled an appointment that was given to me a day and half later. When finally the guy showed up, his first words were oh we will need to change the vent and that will cost you about $300. Then he goes on about how the tank is actually leaking and he doesn't have one today so won't be able to fix. Terrible service... So much for "peace of mind". When I told them I will buy my own tank they are trying to ding me $40 for an "account closing fee and inspection". As far as I am concerned they haven't provided me with a reliable water heater...

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry to hear this Amir, if you could contact me with more info at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com I would like to review this situation further. Thanks. RM

Sherri in Oakville
Sherri in Oakville
1 review OAKVILLE, ON
10/10

water heater repair

I called Reliance Home Comfort to help me diagnose the problem with my water heater (it was only providing luke warm water). The call centre walked me through a couple steps to see if i could correct it on my own. When this did not work, they dispatched a technican out to help. The technician was very prompt and professional, and he solved the problem within 30 mins. Thank you for looking after this for me, I appreciate the help.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm glad we were able to resolve this Sherri and appreciate you taking the time to share the kind words. RM

maureen macdonald in Burlington
maureen macdonald in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Replaced furnace blower

My A/C stopped on the Hottest Day in July, 44 degress with humidex. I was fortunate to get a service appointment for the following day.
I'd like to thank Kirsten, the service provider. She is a bright, friendly and professional person. She kept me informed of the repair as she fixed our system. She also gave me pointers on maintaining the efficiency of our A/C.
Before long the A/C was running again. I hope that Reliance is proud of Kirsten and how well she executes her job and represents your company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Maureen. I am thrilled to hear about this experience and am glad that we were able to resolve this for you. I will be sure to share these very kind words with Kirsten. Thanks again! RM

peter gannon in Mississauga
peter gannon in Mississauga
1 review MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

instalation of air conditioner heater and furnace

Air conditioner broke down and Gary Sing was the tech. that acame in to fix it and suggested it was better to go in for a new unit and we were better of replacing the furnace and water heater as well. Gary was very helpful and freindly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

So glad to hear this Peter. Thanks for taking the time to share. RM

Donald Hunt in Burlington
Donald Hunt in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

repair air conditioner

On one of the hottest day in July my air conditioner gave out at 200 pm I called the service dept they were at my home by 500pm problem fixed and no charge as i rent my unit from reliance home comfort Thank you very much for the prompt service Donald Hunt

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to share Donald. I'm glad that you were pleased with the service your recieved. We appreciate your business and wish to thank you for choosing Reliance. RM

joe watson in Hamilton
joe watson in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

new furnace, a/c and tankless hot water

First lets not confuse the actual workers who come to your home, these people are top notch. For years I rented a hot water tank from this company, and was always happy with their service and level of customer service I received on the phone, so it was a natural move to contack them when they had a promotion going on to install a new furnace and a/c unit because mine was dated to my uneducated understanding, turns out my furnace was only 15 years old and still great but hindsight is 20/20. Either way ever since I signed up for this promotion I have had noting but issues with the company, everything from billing issues to receiving the free tv promotion. One night the furnace quit mid winter and my wife phoned in to ask for help, thank god the call was recorded, well she was treated very rude and after the investigation revealed what happened we were credited a free month payment. for 3 months straight they failed to take their payment from my bank, after I called to inquire they tried to take all of the money at once and also nail me with late fees hahaha, well again after hours on the phone they came to the realization the billing error was their fault. This is the tip of the iceberg, I have never regretted a home upgrade decession more, I can't wait to get rid of reliance....again not for the actual workers just the company. If you are considering a reliance purchase or rental consider these words I write, they are true. Everyday I wish reliance was gone from my life, I wish they would just come even without notice and take their equipment out of my house, I would even be willing to pay removal costs just to get rid of them. What ads insult to injury is the constant deals I see from the competition for the same equipment at thousands less.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm very sorry to hear about the experience Joe and would like to assist if possible. If you could please contact me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com, I would like to escalate in an effort to get a better understanding of what transpired and hopefully address your concerns. Thank you. RM

Alan Gale in Milton
Alan Gale in Milton
2 reviews MILTON, ON
10/10

Air Conditioner

The repair involved the replacement of the A Coil. Cost was covered by maintenance plan through Reliance proving it pays to use a maintenance plan. Service response was fast. The part had to be ordered - was told may take a few days - but was installed and ready to go the next day. Great service during one of the hottest periods this summer.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for sharing this great experience, we value your business. RM

Christene in Georgetown
Christene in Georgetown
1 review GEORGETOWN, ON
8/10

Happy with Service

We are happy with the service Reliance Home Comfort provided for our hot water tank,however, we were little disappointed that was a repeat for same repairs. The technician did take care of ordering new part for resolution.
The only thing we are not sure of and they didn't mention, was if this was being covered at our cost or if we are getting invoiced.
Otherthanthat, the service is great!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate the time to you've taken to share your thoughts Christene and value your feedback. If you have any issues in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com. Thanks again. RM

D. Kiriella in Brampton
D. Kiriella in Brampton
2 reviews BRAMPTON, ON
10/10

Air Conditioner Repair by Paul C.

We had a new Air Conditioner installed in our home. Following the first installation, we encountered some issues with the unit. It was not cooling our home effectively and was extremely loud. Upon multiple inspections by several Reliance service employees, Paul C. arrived at our home with the task of replacing the defective unit with a new one. We were thoroughly pleased by Paul C.’s professional service. He worked very efficiently and was very knowledgeable. He went the extra mile to deliver excellent customer service, wearing shoe protectors in our home, providing us with a cover for our new unit, and all warranty paperwork; integral details overlooked during the initial installation process. Paul C. was exceptional and we recommend him and his work with enthusiasm!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your business and the time you've taken to share your experience with us. I will ensure that Paul is recognized for his efforts. RM

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Reliance Home Comfort

Reliance Home Comfort has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services for over 40 years. Specializing in furnaces, air conditioners, water heaters and plumbing, we provide our customers with peace of mind and are with you every step of the way. When you choose Reliance, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.7 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. With one of the largest networks of licensed technicians in Canada, we respond to over 500,000 service calls each year.
After all, we believe you are investing in much more than home comfort equipment, you’re investing in a relationship and your satisfaction is our top priority.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning and Plumbing
PRODUCTS
Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Air Purifiers, Boilers, Water Softeners, Equipment Protection Plans
SERVICES
Installation, Service, Repair, Plumbing
BRANDS
Carrier, Goodman, Rheem, Amana, Smart Air, Rinnai
WEBSITE
https://www.reliancehomecomfort.com
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Cash, Credit Card, Pre-Authorized Payment
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.