West Coast Windows

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
7533 Progress Way Delta BC V4G 1E8
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Windows & Doors Installation & Service in Delta  >  West Coast Windows   >  Doors, windows - sloppy craftsmanship
Chad in Surrey
Chad in Surrey
1 review Surrey, BC
4/10

Doors, windows - sloppy craftsmanship

The quality of their products are good, and our first experience with them was positive. However our second time with them for all our doors and remaining windows was very disappointing. Extremely sloppy craftsmanship, excessive caulking and filler used, and left for us to "clean up". The trim boards around our door aren't cut at the proper angle and leave a gap at the door jam, the board is warped, and we had to request someone come back and clean up the mess they left. French doors are difficult to lock, installer told my wife "you have to give it a tug to lock it". Also they need to be more thorough with ensuring customers have all relevant information and not assume we've visited the showroom and know everything about the product. Very simple things could have gotten them 5 stars instead of 2, but at the end of the day what we remember is what we see when the installers leave, and that was extremely disappointing.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chad

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your experience.

We take any feedback very seriously as it helps us to improve our installation techniques and services. We recognize your concern about the caulking and filler on the wooden trim surrounding the entry doors, however our first priority with all of our windows and doors is proper weatherproofing to make sure you get the most durable and long lasting installation possible. When you previously contacted us about your concern with the sealant and filler we sent a service team back to inspect these items for you. In addition to the exterior weather seal we also like to provide a tight seal for the doors weather stripping. When you are pulling the door shut and locking it, you are feeling the weather stripping compress against the door giving you the most energy efficient seal. With all doors there is some play with the deadbolt strike plate, which can be adjusted to make the door close with no resistance, however the compromise would be a loose weather seal and poor energy efficiency.

We understand that you assumed the entry doors would come painted, although there was no discussion of painting the doors or a selection of a paint color. During all of our in home consultations we aim to provide homeowners with as much relevant product information as possible, but we also provide homeowners with supplemental information through our detailed estimates, the estimates cover page, our door and window catalogues, our website, and our showroom. All of these resources particularize all components of our wide range of products and installs, and in this circumstance they all detail how all entry doors only come primed not painted.

We would like to encourage you to contact us if there are still items with your install you are not pleases with, as is the case with all of our installs we are committed to your project and would be happy to continue to work with you to find a solution you will be happy with.

Thanks

The West Coast Windows Team