Elevation Renovations Ltd

Decks
Calgary AB T2S 2H3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Decks
Elevation Renovations Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Elevation Renovations Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

2 Story Deck with stairs

We were looking for a good contractor when we found Michael. Michael knew when he arrived we would require a Calgary building permit and a development permit. He showed us that due to our backyard layout and shape that the stairs infringed bylaw. Michael quoted us and with the estimate breakdown and clarity, we couldn't say "no" as he was very professional and easy to talk to. The stair design and construction were very interesting to watch as they constructed them. The other quotes we received didn't offer the same materials or quality. The double-deck took 10 days to complete as he said. The inspector complimented his work even saying, "He does good work!" The blueprints Michael drew for use were very detailed to even show the kind of screws he was using and where. The decks are a great addition to the family as now our dogs can access the lawn from the top deck. We are very pleased with the decks Michael built. I wish we found Michael years ago in our old house where the contractor did a bad job and we had to get the small deck redone before we sold the house. We didn't even ask Michael for insurance or licensing, he just gave it to us when we signed the small contract. We knew right there we made the right choice. We recommend Michael and his team for your renovations. If you can book him, you should!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review!

DanP
DanP
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Basement Development

I'm a retired Capital Investor and I'm getting old. I met Mike in 2008 walking my dog with the wife as he was installing windows on his house. Elevation Renovations wasn't a thing yet and he owned another small renovation company at the time. We were interviewing contractors so we gave Mike a chance to show us his work. His house was beautiful! We found Mike very passionate, down to earth and honest. No large contract was signed but a few lines on the estimate. We decided to hire Mike to run the job as we had a feeling he would do whatever it took to give us an amazing basement. We made the right choice. Its was a 4 month project due to the lack of materials and wait time during the oil boom.
2013 after the flood we had Mike back again to renovate are water damaged basement. We sold the house in 2014 in Elbow Park when he was done just a few months after.

Last renovation will be this year. We own another home in Kelowna and are talking to Mike now to update and renovate the living area, bathroom and kitchen. This will be the last one for us and we will house his crews and himself for the duration of the renovation. We highly recommend Mike and hope he will except the offer.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dan!

Thank you so much for the review!
Hope your well over there!
Let's talk about this Kelowna project.

Mike
Elevation Renovations

Rick&Lisa
Rick&Lisa
0 reviews Okotoks, AB
10/10

Gazebo, Arbor, Privacy walls

Summer of 2020 Mike completed some work for us. After estimate, we reviewed everything between 4 Contractors. Mike was the only one that offered a warranty, professional blueprints, broken down estimates and references. Mike provided licensing for are follow-up meeting and a timeline and explained everything very well. Mike also pulled permits which no one else offered. The privacy walls and gazebo with Arbor were built in 4 days from start to finish. We couldn't believe the 20-year vertical warranty! We recieved a signed paper of the warranty from Cloverdale paint. They hauled out the garbage and dirt for us also. Very pleased with the build as it added the final touches to our backyard landscaping. I'd highly recommend Mike and his members as it is hard to find a good contractor.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lisa and Rick,
Thank you for the great review!
I hope your son had a speedy recovery!
I wish your family all the best.
If you need anything let's us know

Elevation renovations

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Deck, bathrooms, carpentry

Hi I’m Cindy with Shee Creek Homes.
Mike and his crew do great work and have completed many large and small contract jobs for us. When we need carpenters or finishers Mike and his crews are always ready to help. They have completed bathrooms, decks and stairs for us. Keep up the great work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Cindy

Thank you for the review

Great group of people over there.

Talk soon!

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Chestermere, AB
10/10

Large deck build

Long over due review. We have saved up for a few years to do this project and we interviewed a handful of contractors. We picked Mike as he was able to break down the cost of everything that was on are list. Deck size is 40 x 12. Mike pulled the necessary permits, and we received blueprints for the custom deck which I believe Mike designed himself.

We wanted a flush beam as we didn’t want to restrict are view of Chestermere lake. We also wanted wood cased columns, black glass rail and vinyl decking. Mike was able to deliver on these items with price and material design in his estimate.

We still have stone to go in on are deck. This will happen when the weather warms up. Mike will be back to work with the bricklayer.

We had colour matched to the window and door trims and when I got home from work I noticed the colour was a shade off. Mike came out that day and we checked and he agreed it was off. Mike agreed to repaint the deck columns no charge and reassured us if we see anything we don’t like just let him know and they’ll correct it right away. On Monday or Tuesday the painter was back out and she finished before the end of the week.
All the neighbours and people on the walking trails have complemented the deck. We are very please with the work.

This spring we are going to get Mike to do are basement and concrete under are deck.

We highly recommend Mike and his team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Derek,
Thanks for the review.
We will see you in a couple months.
If you need anything let me know.

Elevation renovations

Private User
Private User
2 reviews Okotoks, AB
0/10

Argumentative, incompetent and unprofessional.

   I don't even know where to start, this guy is clueless and here is my catalogue of issues with him.
   After the demo took place and he removed my washer and gas dryer they were to be relocated in the basement. From this we had a capped gas line that had to be decommissioned in the basement. Mike decides to open the gas line without telling anyone in the house. It filled the house with gas while my infant slept right above in his room, my wife had called me freaking out and she decided to get our baby up and leave the house. Why he didn't just purge the gas through one of the Gas appliances I truly don't know. Then we had to call a plumber to open the valve on the meter, we had no furnace for hours and it was only 5°C. Mike claims ATCO came to fix it and it's documented but since we had no permits I am certain this didn't happen. Also if this documented, it would be left in the residence.
       We sent Mike all the big ticket items we wanted for the reno. Mike decided to order a smaller tub then we wanted and did not consult us. When it arrived it was considerably smaller than the one we ordered, it was not suitable for the space. It had to be sent back and we had to wait another 3 weeks for the tub we wanted. This was ome of many items we had to buy because Mike had no money to pay for material. At this point we were without two of our bathrooms for over 5 weeks and hardly any progress.
      Then Mike didn't buy the shower tile we wanted. He didn't tell us the tile we wanted wasn't available when he went to pick it up weeks later. He went ahead and installed something he bought out of a bargain bin, again WITHOUT consulting us. It was crooked, had drooping tiles and so far from level it was hard to look at. He said he would fix them as he went on and completed the tile. It took 4 days. I came home and was almost ready to accept the countless inconsistencies until I found the wall wasn't true and plumb. It was approximately half an inch at the centre point. I asked why they didn't put a level on anything. They had it down to bare studs with the demo and never checked anything. One of the studs had to be firred up to make the wall true. At this point there was too many issues with the tile and wall. The nook was even crooked and out of level. I made him tear it all down. They had it all stripped down to bare studs, why didn't they put a level on anything!? I just couldn't understand. After he ripped the tile and wall down because it was poorly installed he tried to put regular drywall in for the shower walls. I was blown away. Not even a MRM board or the cement board like he had quoted me!!! Now since the walls were removed all the waterproofing securities from the shluter drain pan system and accessories are gone. The lower portion of the walls were an essential part of the water protection and now it's gone. Unfortunately I still paid a premium for this material.
    Now onto the drain pan. He Installed the drain pan, it looked ok until I put a level in it. There was no way on this green earth that it would ever drain and he was calling it good. Well a level and gravity isn't wrong, it actually graded away from the drain substantially, I couldn't believe it. He even argued with me about it until we put water in it and it created a half inch pool in the middle. So now the walls are down and the installed drain pan is installed WRONG! Mike's fix? He decides he's going to raise the drain pan corners on one side so it would drain, definitely not a recommended practice, then put spray foam insulation underneath it to make it structurally sound, have a look at the pictures. Well now it's failing, the soft spots have now opened up the small tiles and water has gotten beneath ruining the thinset and tile placement. Its only been done for three weeks. Since then, he has been back to try and fix it by injecting quikrete beneath it.Well, low and behold it's failing again. This is not installed on the floor and the pictures clearly show it. Mike has been ignoring me since. I decided I have to fix it myself. I quickly find out that Mike doubled up the grout to create grade to the drain. Unfortunately all the tiles on the second level of grout never adhered. If you'll notice in the pics Mike didn't even red guard the shower pan. The red you see is my blood from having to try and clean up his mess. The red guard waterproofing is not a requiremt but why not put the extra protection? All he cares about is getting paid and he talked about it often. I thought to myself if you had done things right the first time you'd be long gone and paid.
     The shower nook, I Had to ask him countless times to make the shower nook straight and level. If I can see it just walking into the bathroom, its not level or square! He removed pieces three different times and finally got it to an acceptable state. The amount of time you took to put this in, it should be free. You should have been paying me so you could practice being a carpenter. Then he Installed painted shluter trim instead of buying the powder coated black trim, of which he said it did not even exist. He says he has 20+ years experience but doesn't even know that there's an actual powder coated black trim readily available at most tile shops. I made him replace that too. He had some painted trim pieces and some powder coated pieces. It looked ridiculous and was already showing the SS finish beneath his paint job. At one point I was so fed up, I had all the material and he had only been coming once or twice a week. At this point I had told him I have someone else coming to finish the tile. All the sudden he starts showing uo daily.
       I found the sink in the basement shower just stubbed into the main instead of glued in or threaded. He comes back to fix that and complains about how everybody but him is incompetent. I find later that he got plumbers glue on my brand new carpet. Now it's got a permanent stain right at the bathroom entry. While all of this going on he nicked the walls up in the stairwell and at the bathroom entry and I have a pile of extra work just to clean up after him.
       We decided to go to with a box beam for the ceiling in the upstairs bathroom. We waited 5 weeks for the material and when it arrives its too short, he ordered the wrong size, he can't read a tape! Finally he gets some new material and installs it. He told me it's from a 50 year old brewery but writes on his website that it's a 150 yr old barn. When I looked at it, there was big gaps against the wall and there was paint from the ceiling on the wood! He had just finished telling me he went over everything with a fine toothed comb! My goodness I would be embarrassed. My wife had pointed out a bunch of spots that had huge gaps and paint all over everything. It's currently sitting at a poorly unfinished state. See the pics.
       He installed some wainscoting on the walls in our bathroom and didn't didnt do that right, they should have been mitered to make a nice joint. He butted them up then put up a fight when I asked him to hide the ugly joints.
     The grout in both bathrooms... Mike Argued about the depth of the grout
on the floor saying it doesn't need to be flush or close to the top of the tile. It isn't hard to find that minimum standard for grout in any tile jobs is flush or as close as possible. It just makes sense, who wants big grout lines to catch dirt and other nasties in a bathroom.
      After mike said he was done, I came in to have a look. I found several grout lines in the shower that were not complete and large grout lines that I could stick my finger in on the floor.
      Mike also had the nerve to talk to the other contractors in the house calling me a tyrant and that it was our fault he had been back so many times. He even talked about his other customers... All I ever wanted was for the job to be done right, thank God I had a level and a good eye. I feel bad for anyone who may not have an eye for what's proper and what's not while this guy is in their house. He says I was abusive to him and his contractors, well for one I never spoke to any of his guys. I barely saw any one other than Mike. Also, Mike asked me several times to go hiking and snowshoeing with him.
     I recently looked over my bill and found that I paid for permits yet Mike made no mention of permits. He says I agreed we would not pull permits because it was cosmetic work. Unfortunately i trusted him. What he not cosmetic is, removing a gas line, changing plumbing orientation, adding lights and a new circuit. All of this was done in my reno. After fronting him thousands and buying my own material, would I shy away from permits for 200$!? He claims it's obvious in the invoice, that if it's not in the right column it wasn't charged. So, all the other items that aren't in the right column are free too?? The answer is no and I would have gladly spend 200 bucks for the security and insurance within my home. Now he isn't returning my calls or texts.  I wish I had known Mike is Unlicensed to receive money up front. I could have canceled this whole contract before it was too late. I have had no choice but to report him. Including reporting him to AB services because he is unlicensed, BBB because he is not holding up his warranty statements and the CRA for tax evasion I really would not recommend him for anything.
     This guy says he has professionals on his crew, more than half the time he spent here he complained about them. Saying they were incompetent and just created more work for him. This guy is a real treat to deal with. I only went with him because he was recommended by our real estate agent. Boy do I wish I could turn back the hands of time. He was sure quick to ask for payment as things were coming to completion. I actually helped fund the whole project, sending him money and buying certain big items on my own dime. It's actually illegal for an UNLICENSED COBTRACTOR to ask for payment. I truly wish I had kept 2 grand back because I knew the shower pan would fail. I'm not sure where Mike feels he credited me 1500 for the shower pan. It's pretty obvious what's going on from his email. What he actually did was ask for a cash payment and not to his business, to his personal name so he could avoid taxes. REPORTED! It's easily going to cost me 2 Grand to have fixed Thanks Mike you've been a real treat.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate you finding us online and detailing your experience. Elevation Renovations would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences experienced throughout your project. We did try our best to go above and beyond our usual scope in order to make sure you were satisfied with our work. In doing so, we did provide you with a significant refund on the project including free material and labour. Further, our company is fully licensed as seen through the Verification process at Homestars. Unfortunately were unable to continue doing business and we truly wish you all the best with your project.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Two Hills, AB
10/10

Bathroom redo

I had a plan for a bathroom and with Mikes help and his excellent crew, it became more. More beautiful.

He was courteous and professional.
If I ever undertake a project like this again, I already know who's doing it.

Oh ya.....he does Autocad designs as well...

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, thanks for the review!
Hope all is well over there.
If you need anything let me know.

Thanks

Private User
Private User
1 review Okotoks, AB
10/10

Bathroom renovations

My bathroom renovation project was an undertaking considering the complexities present. The schedule took longer due to COVID and the company procedures which I’m all about. The attention to detail was amazing and the wife and I appreciate the efforts made to protect us and his trades throughout the bathroom renovations. I would recommend Elevation renovations for any of your renovations projects. Great work guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review and I hope your well!
We take COVID 19 seriously and we don't mess around.
If you need any other renovations or need any help with your home let us know.

Thanks again.

Mike.

Elevation renovations

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Basement renovation

Mike and team completed mu basement development. They did a great job and their experience showed every step of the way. There was a few material problems and it was corrected right away. Mike owed up to it and corrected the change with no hesitation. They kept their work area clean and the finished job looked really nice. I'd highly recommend elevation renovations to complete your renovations.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the positive review.

We have completed many basement renovations and many basement renovations are ongoing. Private user or I'd thank you personally but looks like Daryl by the email. I'm still waiting for your smoked beef rib recipe that you said you'd email me haha

Cheers

Thanks again.

Mike
Elevation renovations

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Elevation Renovations Ltd

With over 22 years of experience Elevation Renovations brings trust, quality and expertise to every project. During consultation we examine your proposed renovation and come up with working solution's that are beautiful and serve the needs of you and your family. The estimate will break it down so you can see all aspects of your renovation with no hidden costs. No estimate it final as if you decided to make changes to the renovation we can do it quickly and accurately before the work starts. We pride on a tight communication line to keep you in the know how on all decisions before work starts. This is your home and we want you to have your finished renovation turn out the way you envisioned your space. Specialized in Bathroom remodeling, Pergolas, decks, Kitchen remodeling, Fireplace remodeling, basement developments and home renovations we have you covered. Check are website and online presence to consider us as your renovator.

CATEGORIES
Decks and General Contractors
SERVICES
Bathroom renovations, Kitchen renovations, Decks, Interior finishing, Full home renovations, Custom carpentry, Built-in cabinets, Painting and finishing, Plumbing, Electrical, Exterior renovations, Tile, Flooring, Home theater room renovations and setup, Coffered ceilings, Project management and design.
BRANDS
Schluter waterproofing systems All major brick and mortar Brands
STYLES
Contemporary, Boho, country living, Rustic, Timber framing, Modern, Prohibition, Victorian.
SPECIALITIES
Concrete Countertops
WEBSITE
https://www.elevationrenovations.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1999
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
14
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, E transfer, cash, Major Credit car, gold bars
MEMBERSHIPS
Canadian Construction association
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Bachelors of science in construction management
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
4500
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
10 year structural, 5 year installation
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.