Liberty Homes

Builders
Toronto ON M5N 1P6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Home Additions in Old Toronto  >  Liberty Homes  >  Home addition
Julian in East york
Julian in East york
5 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Home addition

I contacted Andrei from HomeStars re our attic loft conversion and second floor addition.
Amongst a number of competitors Liberty came up highly interested in initially responsive.

While going trough budget proposals Andrei came up with a number of revised proposals based on add ones, each time with math errors which it raised red flags as contractors sometimes makes errors to secs contract and later on pass the additional cost to the client.

Since the final drawings process were delaying the application we knew we need it to await for this process to secure a firm budget, at that point Andrei suggested his “Consultation” services to deal with the city application by representing our project with the upcoming Committee of Adjustment and suggesting architect, surveying and engineer vendors.

The idea sounded reasonable except he demanded $3,000 fee fully paid in advance, our second red flag..
I mentioned that that’s not a proper business arrangement, specially due to the poor industry history re issues with contractors, he insisted on this arrangement reassuring that he’l handle all of our pre construction matters and if we decided to choose them as a builder he’ll discount this fees from their construction cost.

I brought to his attention that we hesitated with this arrangement but he still insisted on getting fully paid in advance as he’s a reputable professional builder and this is a normal arrangement with many of his clients.

Upon further discussion we finally gave in with his term and laid in full, things started to line up with the vendors up to the point where the architect offered representing our project with the city application.

At that point I mentioned that that service was offered by Andrei from Liberty, subsequently Andrei backed tracked on his commitment and demanded an additional $2,000 fee for this process.

I was stoned by his reversal and denial on our phone conversation where insisted on “Read the Contract “ argument, I mentioned that I took his word as a verbal contract but he kept ignoring my appeal and subsequently hung up our phone call.

Following that incident I requested to return the fees as he failed to render his “Consultation Services” in full, he categorically denied to return any amount stressing “No Return Policy”.

Subsequently I removed Liberty from this project as based on the prior unethical and unprofessional practices I anticipated further money grabbing
maneuvers.

Needless to say, this was a highly stressful process and poor experience from Liberty Homes.

JO
Toronto, ON

I trusted this company four hour daughter’s bedroom addition and placed a great deal of moral and financial trust.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Julian.
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you feel this way. I understand that you are frustrated and overwhelmed. Your frustration comes from $2,000 dollars fee paid to the architect to represent your case at the committee of adjustment. It seems that you were under the impression that said fee would be included in $3,000 consultation fee you paid to Liberty Homes.

Consultation fees paid to Liberty Homes is for consultation services provided by Liberty Homes only. This together with all other terms were outlined in the agreement signed by you and Liberty Homes. The terms were reviewed and discussed prior to signing and it comes as a big surprise to me that you were under a different impression.

Liberty Homes fulfilled under the terms of the consultation agreement. It is unfortunate, that said misunderstanding resulted in a termination of our collaboration. I am here to continue our conversation. Furthermore, I am open to discussing ways in which your project can be successfully complete and I am confident that we can find a good solution.
Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Best regards,

Andrei Donchenko
Liberty Homes