Surface West

Bathroom Renovation
Calgary AB T2G 4X4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

3%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Review for Surface West

Average customer rating:
0 10 (1 reviews)

Sort by

andsons10 in Calgary
andsons10 in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

0/10

DO NOT HIRE SURFACE WEST

They came to our home and messed up the job 3 times. The first time after the templated the top was too narrow and the sink cut out wasn't even rectangular and with a lot of router chips in it. The second top they made out of the first so there are seams everywhere and they were still too narrow and too short on length. The third time they were still too short so they hacked in an extension done poorly and they made the third top out of a combination of the 1st and 2nd. It still isn't right and they are claiming we cracked the top, left corian glue drips all over it and unsanded and hacked seams. They didn't even scribe the waterfall gable so it was the right height and not floating on the cabinets. WARNING DO NOT HIRE THEM!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

To those reading,

Yes, we can admit to having made a mistake with the first island counter-top, but we replaced it with a new one within a week. The second top was built to spec, and was built from scratch. We did NOT reuse a single piece of the 1st top, and can prove that easily as it is still sitting inside of our shop. There was no third time. The cracks, glue drips, and "unsanded and hacked seams" were NOT present when we completed our work, and we have photos of the completed work to back that up. We also offered to come back and repair any item that they deemed not to be up to their standard, but were told that we were "banned" from the premises.

The customer chose to dispute the charge for the work with MasterCard, and after initially reversing the charge, MasterCard took our side and has refunded us. The customer has now decided to appeal the decision.

It should also be noted that their General Contractor mentioned that this customer was suing 5 other contractors. We'll leave that up to interpretation.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Surface West

Specializing in custom solid surface projects such as showers, and kitchen counter-tops. Our in-house Kivia Solid Surface is affordable, durable, and beautiful! Our showroom is right here in Calgary, and our product is available to view. We also stock Corian & Meganite. Our Shop Manager has over 35 years of ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Bathroom Renovation pros in Calgary?