Kaeley CMC

Builders
Burlington ON L7M 0R1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Home Additions in Breslau  >  Kaeley CMC  >  Bathroom, Kitchen Flooring Renovation
Jason Wong from Calgary
Jason Wong from Calgary
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
1/10

Bathroom, Kitchen Flooring Renovation

KCMC struggles to complete the important items, and the quality of work is below expectations

- After 1.5 years and KCMC was still uanable to obtain building permits for newly constructed bathrooms, plumbing etc. KCMC has now said they are no longer applying for the permit, we are left to try to obtain these permits ourselves.

- Does not follow electrical standards: installed new electrical work (40+ pot lights, 2 new 240v plugs, converting 2 prong plugs to 3 prong plugs, wired an undeveloped room) these were never inspected or certified by the ESA. 1.5 year after further electrical was required by another electrician, which included grounding the installed 3 prong plugs, adding the proper clips to the installed pot lights, and fixing 1 of the 2 newly installed 240v plugs

- Does not complete items to code. Newly installed bathroom exhaust exits into the storage room instead of to the outside, drywall installation in a bedroom required a change order (more $$) as they did not factor in insulation or ventilation to convert an undeveloped space to a bedroom, which was an oversight by KCMC's quote.

- Quality of work is subpar: installed chipped tiles, damaged floor planks (there were left over unopened boxes of tiles and hardwood), Vinyl planks were cupping prior to moving in, 6 inch scratch on brand new shower stalls, closet system failed due to faulty installation, poor door installations, faulty tile grouting after 2 re grouts, the floor still requires more grouting in the foyer, bathrooms, and kitchen. We provided KCMC a deficiencies list prior to moving in which each of these items were on this list.

- KCMC does not honour their warranty and would no longer fix the outstanding items, which were brought up in numerous emails and phone calls prior to the 1 year warranty mark

KCMC walked away leaving 3% of the budget to complete the remaining work.

Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Work was delayed due to the first covid breakout and the loss of key trades personnel.

Site maintained was maintained in safe and clean condition (the clients were not on-site, and no comments were made during construction)

KCMC completed all items as stated in our scope of work.

The electrical contractor installed all electrical as per EST safe standards. EST due to covid did not review the rough-in as it was in an existing wall and all wiring was not visible.) The service to the house was upgraded and did receive an ESA inspection.

The project was completed well within their original budget expectations, the quality of work was mid-range as per the client's expectations. The client throughout the construction requested changes and upgrades to certain items.

KCMC constantly revised all drawings to reflect all changes as well as proposed changes with attached budget updates.

The permit application was made for new plumbing and a window enlargement. (The city of Mississauga received our application but failed to respond due to their new covid rules and inspection and review rules we made numerous inquiries only to discover that our application was terminated without consulting us. This was confirmed at the later stage of the project.)

In its early covid stage City inspection was by means of Video review or via photos.

KCMC maintained a video and pictorial record of all plumbing and structural installations.

All plumbing, electrical work was completed with licensed sub-trade.

KCMC was advised by the client that they were making their own application for permit.

KCMC provided them with all required drawings.

KCMC did not receive any payment for their efforts in applying for permit.

The client requested a 200amp upgrade to the electrical system the system was then inspected by the ESA.

ESA does not inspect work that is covered by existing or new service covering.

All ESA inspections were the responsibility of the electrical contractor who at the time of installation was directly employed by the client. In order to save construction costs.

KCMC completed their work as per the AGREED scope of work and any venting used was by way of existing conditions where the original venting remained.

All new venting was to code.
Comments pertaining to oversight by KCMC's are erroneous KCMC was clearly requested to stay within the budget factor as money was not readily available. KCMC maintain throughout the construction a level of professional demeanour with the client advising then of all changes that were due to hidden site conditions.

KCMC find the above comments to be totally incorrect.

KCMC under their deficiency program carried out the following.

Replaced 2 # bathroom tiles with minor flaws. Note all original tiles and grout was supplied by the client.

Regarding Damaged floor planks: KCMC has reviewed all the numerous project communications with the client: we did not see on our initial site inspection nor receive any comments from the client that indicated damaged new floor planks. (All flooring was supplied by the owner). Please note the reinstallation of all furniture was undertaken by the client.

Regarding 6 scratch on shower stall. The shower stall was a tiled stall: On site inspection no such scratch was identified, nor any noted correspondence was received in this matter.

Regarding door installation: The existing internal doors were replaced with new doors using the existing 50-year-old door jambs, when door installation was completed KCMC ask the client to sign off on the work which he done. The client was advised that a 100% job would require the frames to be replaced but that would massively increase their construction cost.

Regarding faulty tile grouting: The area in question was the entrance corridor leading from the front door, KCMC removed the existing floor tiles in order to install new tile. The existing floor joist were 6 x2 with a 4 x1/2 pine cross decking, we advised the client that the floor tile they supplied.

Previous versions of this review:

Jason Wong from Calgary
Jason Wong from Calgary
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
2/10

Bathroom, Kitchen Flooring Renovation

KCMC struggles to complete the important items, and the quality of work is below expectations

- After 1.5 years and KCMC was still uanable to obtain building permits for newly constructed bathrooms, plumbing etc. KCMC has now said they are no longer going to apply, we are left to try to obtain these permits ourselves.

- Does not follow electrical standards: installed new electrical work (40+ pot lights, 2 new 240v plugs, converting 2 prong plugs to 3 prong plugs) these were never inspected or certified by the ESA. Further electrical 1.5 year after was required by another electrician, which included grounding the installed 3 prong plugs, adding the proper clips to the installed pot lights, and fixing 1 of the 2 newly installed 240v plugs

- Does not complete items to code. Newly installed bathroom exhaust exits into the storage room instead of to the outside, drywall installation in a bedroom required a change order (more $$) as they did not factor in insulation or ventilation to convert an undeveloped space to a bedroom, which was an oversight by KCMC's quote.

- Quality of work is subpar: installed chipped tiles, damaged floor planks (there were left over boxes of tiles and hardwood), Vinyl planks were cupping prior to moving in, 6 inch scratch on brand new shower stalls, closet system failed due to faulty installation, poor door installations, faulty tile grouting after 2 re grouts, the floor still requires more grouting in the foyer, bathrooms, and kitchen. We provided KCMC a deficiencies list prior to moving in which each of these items were on this list.

- KCMC does not honour their warranty and would no longer fix the outstanding items, which were brought up in numerous emails and phone calls prior to the 1 year warranty mark

KCMC walked away leaving 3% of the budget to complete the remaining work.

Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Was this review helpful?