DH Contracting and Excavation Services

Formerly D&H Bobcat And Trucking Services
Fences & Gates
Calgary AB T1Y 6R6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fences & Gates
DH Contracting and Excavation Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for DH Contracting and Excavation Services

Average customer rating:
8 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

Bubba in Calgary
Bubba in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Poorly equipped, understaffed and overpriced.

This was a very bad experience. I'll likely not hire anyone else from this site it was such a negative experience. Initially, three guys were offered but only two guys were actually provided at an agreed price of $1200 a day. I must have been crazy to agree to these terms. I ended up settling on $700 as I felt sorry for them. They tried removing a screwed & stapled down filler board on top of sub floor with a small pry bar and a shovel. Things proceeded at a snail's pace. There were screws but they had no screw gun. Dismal performance for an exhorbitant price. Our worst renovation experience yet.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I would like to tell my side of the story on this project, This individual was told 1 week prior to my team going into the said project that there will only be 2 Staff as our third one went on Holidays, Which he agreed to and accepted by text. Then when we first looked at the said THERE was no screws through the home but when my staff showed up with the Necessary Equipment on the Project, We were shocked to find an over Abundance on Freshly Placed screws in the Nailed flooring we were suppose to tear out. Now I am a reasonable person and I think letting the client know that instead of the one day he insisted on ( Which was not agreed to, It was suppose to be 2 Days, This was agreed via text by the owner when he accepted our quote)that my crew might run into the next day due to screws found on floor boards. Now expecting my client to say oh ok how long do you figure>? Nope Serious attitude right off the Bat, Like I was trying to take him for a Ride. I explained calmly after being told I was trying to scam him that I just wanted to let you Know this is the reason and we will work by the Hour for tomorrow instead of the Full day Charge which I Thought Being a Nice person would benefit the both of us...I was so sadly mistaken, The Client Comes home and go's to see my crew, was super nice and friendly to them, Even so nice to lend a Drill as my crew were not equipped with this machine as we did not know there were screws added ( From what we can tell, Pictures Prove everything I guess )From there I let him know by text I am on my way could you send the e transfer like we agreed to, He go's off AGAIN!!! I am thinking what is wrong with this guys, starts going off about my staff, about them not having the right equipment and he is NOT HAPPY. I reply back I am so sorry sir but we did not know of this situation and we will do better tomorrow, I call my staff and they proceed to tell me that he was here and so was his wife praising on how well we were doing, my staff informed his wife and apologized to her earlier in the day for taking a bit longer but we did not know of these screws that were placed here, she says oh you are doing just fine, Then my staff tell me what do u mean we are slow? We are 75% done, All we have is the 2 Pieces in the hallway and the living room everything else is done...Now my red flags are going up, thinking why is this guy being such a freak about one room which would take 2 guys maybe 2 hours due to the 75% of screws that were drilled into the nailed flooring???
we show up and here he comes all big and bad, which is fine because every Client has there right to be mad, be not happy, this is there project and I am there to do a job.
So my partner gets out and right away my client is all aggressive and demanding, My partner said listen my friend I see you are not happy, My crew is Trying and we agreed on 1 to 2 days so sir why the aggression? He reply back this is Probably your last day!! My partner says yes sir that is so true it is my last day because I can not and will not be harassed over something that was an unforeseen thing, Pay me my fee for the Day and I am on my way no Hard feelings. He reply's I am not paying the full fee are u crazy, My Partner says ok Sir what do u think is fair for 2 guys, All equipment for 8.5 Hours, He come back with half the amount we agreed on so my partner laughed a bit and said ok buddy lets do this amount which was 100.00 more than his Price he wanted to pay us and we will be on our way...Finally he paid.
the really Sad thing is my staff even went back into his project grabbed the drill and handed it back to him and instead of being nice to my staff member he go's and says something ignorant under his breath...will not repeat on here but as a Lady owner this client should have been more educated, Respectful when talking to people.

So yes this was a very bad experience and it is making me question the moral of people now a days and what they believe is fair treatment.
Please don't know that this review against us as it is just one persons belief.
We are all Human and where does it really get us by being nasty to someone that maybe needs a fair chance.

Craig
Craig
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Yard regrading, fence and deck build, tree removal

Hughie, George and the guys were hired to strip the entire backyard of a 50 year old house including trees bushes, fence and a huge cement patio. Regrade the yard because of slope caused by patio, new top soil, fabric and stone so no regrowth. After a nightmare with a fence contractor D&H came to the rescue to build a fortress fence and finish the deck. Super job, great characters. Very satisfied with the results. I would highly recommend D&H for anyone needing the services. Thanks Hughie

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so much

bp
bp
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Back yard soil remouval and landscaping

I wish everything worked like these guys. They are great at what they do!!
Hughie and his team do good work at a fair price.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so much

dustin macpherson
dustin macpherson
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Excavation

Huey squeezed me in his busy schedule came on a Sunday, which worked out perfectly and didn't impact my overall project, great person, great work, definitely knew what he was doing and performed the work a timely, reliable, and understanding, professional manner.

We would heartily recommend D & H Bobcat to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank u so much

Skylark D.
Skylark D.
1 review Calgary, AB

First Review

10/10

Snow removal and general upkeep maintenance.

The work is always performed in a reliable , timely and professional manner. Huey will always call if he sees an area of concern or improvement.
We would heartily recommend D & H Bobcat to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for being a Loyal Client of D&H Bobcat and Trucking for over 20 years, We have enjoyed helpping you with all projects you have given us over the years

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about DH Contracting and Excavation Services

We at DH Contracting and Excavation Services have over 30 + years in Many types of Services we offer Calgary, Red Deer, Sylvan Lake, Edmonton, Blackfalds, Old's, Didsbury, Cochrane, Okotoks, strathmore, Airdrie, High River, Surrounding Area's. We offer Complete Customer Satisfaction on Every Project, We are your One Stop Shop ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Calgary?