FourSixteen Construction And Renovation

General Contractors
Toronto ON M6N 4P5
Write a Review
Write a Review
General Contractors
FourSixteen Construction And Renovation
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Review for FourSixteen Construction And Renovation

Average customer rating:
4 10 (1 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

First Review


full bathroom reno

At the beginning I when discussing the job. I was encouraged to replace everything with new. I advised to keep cost down I could reuse my shower control and other fixtures. I was constantly told we re going to put better stuff. Well the 600$ bath tub I was supposed to get was actually a 300$ tub that they chipped while try to install the tub spout. The shower control with temperature setting ended up being the newer version of my old moen shower control fixture. They threw out my water pic shower hose even though I expressly said not to. They did a very good job installing the wall and floor tiles. but for reasons we agreed on some parts of the bob could not be done. Even though they had less parts to buy and more of the labour was not done they did not reduce their price. They put out way too little caulking on the walls and used cheap grout instead of the higher quality mold and stain resistant grout. When I questions the them they took offense. It took them over a month to get the bathtub water spout installed correctly. The towel shot it installed crooked and when I mentioned this they advise they could not do it right. In the end the look of the bathroom is ok but definitely not worth the 9000.00 . while they maintain I only paid 8700.00 I spent over 300.00 more because the lavatory fixture. towel rack, and shower curtain rod they wanted to install were just too cheap to accept. Again they did not refund any of the money paid and they did not use those parts. Not worth the money stay away.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

When we first met to discuss your bathroom there was some talk of keeping your original shower control, but as any good contractor would recommend, we suggested that it be replaced with new since the wall will be open and the unit purchased relatively inexpensively. You agreed. In the price negotiation you wanted one with a separate arm and handheld unit. This ultimately changed in order to meet your budget.

You asked us to design and pick out your fixtures and finishes stating "I'm a man, I don't know about this stuff". So we showed you many pictures of numerous bathrooms we have completed and you found one you liked, that's what we based our design on.

You never specified a bathtub, just that you wanted a soaker tub. So we went with a tub we have used many times knowing the quality and reliability of it. I have yet to see the chip you speak of.

We did throw out your old shower head by accident and promptly apologized and replaced it with a new one of your choice at our expense.

Throughout the job there was ongoing changes that both added and subtracted from our costs, mostly added. This is the first I'm hearing that you wanted further discounts. During our negotiations budget was a big concern for you and we had to find a way to complete the job within it. This meant not having high end finishes. Most of our reductions to make this happen came on the labour side and not materials.

We put the proper amount of caulking as we do in all our jobs. You infact had us remove the caulking from the base of the toilet as recommended to you by google. Then you refused to let us caulk around the shower fixtures.

The grout we used is also the same grout we use on all jobs and comes from the tile supplier. It is a brand name and sold across the world. Also you did not ask for a special grout, and as stated, you needed to keep costs down.

There were some technical issues with the tub spout that at no time did we say wasn't going to be fixed. The reason it took so long was having to work around your schedule. Once the spout was installed properly you called several days later to complain about a cracked tile behind the spout. We obviously didn't install a cracked tile and I believe you broke it messing around with the spout. We came back to fix it at no charge which meant we had to start all over again with the spout. You were told numerous times not to use the shower for 24hrs in order for the tile and grout and silicone to dry. But you called 12hrs later saying that you used it and now needs further repair, which we also did no charge.

There was no issue with the towel rod. You asked us to pick out the fixtures, which we did with quality products, but not high end products to meet the budget. These fixtures were on site for several days before they were installed. You could have inspected them to make sure you were satisfied. Once they were installed it was the style of them that you didn't like, not the quality. We are unable to return these items. We did remove them and replace them with units purchased by you that you should have specified from the beginning.

After all was said and done we asked if you were happy and you said yes and then started discussing plans with us to renovate your kitchen. So I'm surprised that now you are writing a negative review.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Toronto?