Jakub made an agreement with my 85 year old nieghbour to remove and replace our shared fence without my prior knowledge. The version of a contract received was a written amount on the back of their business card.
The first day of the job they showed up at 330pm. They were late the second day too. I asked on day one and day two about getting a contract. Jakub said he would do it but it never appeared. I asked one of his labourers if they were putting in a shadow board fence. The employee didn’t even know what that was, which you would expect someone in the industry to be familiar with.
I was frustrated by day 3 of not having a contract or an agreement and said it was inappropriate to start a job without something in writing so everyone knew what the plan was. This resulted in Jakub calling me and yelling at me over the phone saying it was none of my business, I didn’t hire him and he doesn’t know why he has to deal with me.
I made it clear that it has everything to do with me since I co own the fence that was torn out and will partially own the one going in. Also his crew is on my property to do the install. He continued to be aggressive to the point of abusive on the phone until I told him that we would obviously not agree and I did not see the point in continuing the conversation.
In regards to the product. His business card contract did say 6 ft fence, however what was installed is only 5 feet high. Single sided and leaving one foot gaps in some places along the bottom.
To this day I have not seen a contract or a warranty for the fence.
It appears that this same person with the same phone number was previously running a business under the name Creative Ideas Landscaping that has a 38% star score and many reviews commenting on poor customer service, late arrivals to jobs, poor workmanship and unfinished work.
- Company Response
Once again I was hired by Maria not you. We did what we were asked to do and then some. Maria wanted the fence to be 5 feet high. The fence was built by Maria's late husband 20 years ago. The original fence was 5 feet high and leaning over Maria's yard. It was a safety issue, also working in the rain with power tools is a safety issue. Which out of the 5 days that we were there it rained for 2 days. Maria and her daughter's were very satisfied with the workmanship. In terms of my guys not knowing what you were talking about is because we use different terms. Perhaps bord on bord or staggered look but once again we did exactly what the homeowner that HIRED Me wanted. Which was exactly how it was before, 5 foot hight and finished on one side. I was advised , since you didn't pay for any of the fence not to deal with you only with Maria and her daughter's . We had a verbal agreement that it was fulfilled. For your information Maria was provided with a written warranty. I would strongly suggest finding a hobby of some sort.