DDW Hardscapes

Masonry & Bricklaying
North Vancouver BC V7L 1E6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

8%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Review for DDW Hardscapes

Average customer rating:
0 10 (1 reviews)

Sort by

AC from West Vancouver
AC from West Vancouver
2 reviews North Vancouver, BC

First Review

0/10

Unreliable and unprofessional... hire at your own risk

Work not bad, but highly unreliable. Hire at your own risk.
Not only did Daniel (the owner) started the job months after he first said he was going to start, but he also DID NOT finish it! Was paid in full (except for the final $500) and essentially ran away with the money. Did not finish the job because he got called out on NOT delivering a product when he was supposed to and that other contractors were depending on (he didn't understand this. he didn't get that other contractors had been booked and paid when his product didn't show up when he promised it would). He said he was going to deliver on a particular day. We booked an excavator to finish the work. Lo and behold, the said product was NOT delivered. We called him out and he didn't like it. The said product was something we already paid for (he said he was saving us cash and that's why he couldn't get it to us on time...uh, we paid for it already and it was a part of the price. So, was he saving HIMSELF some cash?). Quote was initially for $6000+ but went up to $10000+. And we paid this, no questions asked because we thought he was professional. We have a paper trail of all the interactions.

Also, in terms being unprofessional, we tried numerous times to contact this guy to reschedule the work...NEVER GOT ANY RESPONSE BACK! No texts, no emails, no whatsapp messages, no phone calls. He said he doesn't respond to belligerent messages. I can provide samples of these "belligerent" messages and you tell me if they were belligerent.

The work sat, thanks to him, because we couldn't book an excavator again for months in the summertime. In the end, he just said keep the $500 and I'm not finishing the work.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

DDW Hardscapes acknowledges that this particular job was indeed not completed, which is extremely unfortunate and we were disappointed at this outcome as well.

However, there are certain circumstances where a contractor has a right to leave a job, and unfortunately this was one of them.

In the entire duration DDW Hardscapes has been in operation, this is the only time that we did not complete a job. We did bring this job to 98% completion (including the added scope, which is what resulted in the revised quote) and are happy to share the photos of the quality work we did.

If anyone has concerns or questions about this review, we welcome a conversation. Additionally, we are happy to provide many references of satisfied customers.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about DDW Hardscapes

Hardscaping, retaining walls, pavers.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.