Work not bad, but highly unreliable. Hire at your own risk.
Not only did Daniel (the owner) started the job months after he first said he was going to start, but he also DID NOT finish it! Was paid in full (except for the final $500) and essentially ran away with the money. Did not finish the job because he got called out on NOT delivering a product when he was supposed to and that other contractors were depending on (he didn't understand this. he didn't get that other contractors had been booked and paid when his product didn't show up when he promised it would). He said he was going to deliver on a particular day. We booked an excavator to finish the work. Lo and behold, the said product was NOT delivered. We called him out and he didn't like it. The said product was something we already paid for (he said he was saving us cash and that's why he couldn't get it to us on time...uh, we paid for it already and it was a part of the price. So, was he saving HIMSELF some cash?). Quote was initially for $6000+ but went up to $10000+. And we paid this, no questions asked because we thought he was professional. We have a paper trail of all the interactions.
Also, in terms being unprofessional, we tried numerous times to contact this guy to reschedule the work...NEVER GOT ANY RESPONSE BACK! No texts, no emails, no whatsapp messages, no phone calls. He said he doesn't respond to belligerent messages. I can provide samples of these "belligerent" messages and you tell me if they were belligerent.
The work sat, thanks to him, because we couldn't book an excavator again for months in the summertime. In the end, he just said keep the $500 and I'm not finishing the work.
- Company Response
DDW Hardscapes acknowledges that this particular job was indeed not completed, which is extremely unfortunate and we were disappointed at this outcome as well.
However, there are certain circumstances where a contractor has a right to leave a job, and unfortunately this was one of them.
In the entire duration DDW Hardscapes has been in operation, this is the only time that we did not complete a job. We did bring this job to 98% completion (including the added scope, which is what resulted in the revised quote) and are happy to share the photos of the quality work we did.
If anyone has concerns or questions about this review, we welcome a conversation. Additionally, we are happy to provide many references of satisfied customers.