Where to start, fancy website, good reviews, fair quote from Tim Maille, should be good right? Here come the red flags. Payment up front for 50%, cheque payable to a numbered company. Workers showing up late (after 11 each day rather than 9 as promised) or not at all one day meaning the 3 day job became 6 while living in a construction site the whole time. The last day Tim asked for final payment as they were "finishing up". I paid in good faith (my mistake as I had to be at work and couldn’t be home). Turns out they didn’t finish but they took the cheque and cashed it anyway. Job not done. Followed up with a concern after I started painting (drywall tape pulling through due to not enough mud used on the job), Tim denies it and first blames the paint product I used, then lack of preparation, then that the drywall must have been wet, then that there must have been dust. Either way, my fault not his. Offers to redo the work at my expense. A photo is worth a thousand words right? Enjoy these photos of the type of work $4k gets you. The baseboard work look like something out of high school shop class. Avoid at all costs.
- Company Response
I'm sorry to see this review after all our conversations. I always guarantee my work and make every effort to ensure a high quality product. As I tried to explain, the issue was not with the quality of the drywall work. Unfortunately the main issue arose when you painted over top of the drywall yourself but told me you were hiring a professional crew. A professional painter would paint the drywall and complete the finish work (the caulking and the filling leaving everything with a finished look - this is why in the pictures the walls look unfinished). Since you did not hire painters and didn't properly prep the walls (vacuuming and cleaning - a professional painting team always does this) the drywall now looks like it's flaking, crumbling and showing tape lines. When fresh drywall isn't cleaned before painting, the paint can't properly adhere to the wall and sticks to the layer of drywall dust. This causes it to chip and flake off particularly after several coats of paint.
I would have been happy to tell you how to properly prep the walls if I'd known you were painting yourself, however since I was told a professional crew was handling the rest I assumed it would be done properly. Unfortunately I cannot be responsible for work that's not done by me or my team.
I'm understand that this is frustrating. I know there were several other home improvement initiatives you undertook yourself that also didn't turn out well and that this is stressful for you. I am happy to help guide my clients or make suggestions if they want to undertake work themselves but cannot do so when I haven't been properly informed.
As a side note, the trim work looks unfinished because it hasn't been caulked and filled. It is an industry standard for painters to do this when painting fresh drywall. The trim doesn't match because you specifically requested not to replace all the trim (which I suggested) and only wanted a small section replaced. I had indicated several times that it would not match (similar trim is no longer available) and would not look good but you were firm that this was what you wanted.
All the best,