Portuguese Brothers Concrete & Paving

Concrete Contractors
Hamilton ON L0R 1W0
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Concrete Contractors
Portuguese Brothers Concrete & Paving
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

49%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Portuguese Brothers Concrete & Paving

Average customer rating:
4.8 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

John in Stoney Creek
John in Stoney Creek
3 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Concrete work front and backyard

We hired Portuguese Brothers to do some work for us in the front and backyard. They worked their magic to transform our front and backyard to a work of art. We are extremely pleased with the work that was done. Manny and his crew did a fantastic job, very polite and respectful. Very professional and knowledgeable. Strongly recommend Manny and his crew, many thanks to them all, Manny, Ana, Selena, Luis, Jose, Jason, John and Joe. They all worked extremely hard to get the job done quickly. They did an amazing job!!! We are very happy with the workmanship and how they handled the job from start to finish. Would definitely recommend this Company. Thank you so much from John & Mickey

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you guys it was a pleasure working for you.
God bless you .
Ana

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

driveway, porch, both sides of the haouse

My driveway is full of sinkholes even though I paid and I was promised to get heavy duty parking lot asphalt
The concrete on the porch stairs cracked open, because it did not have the right amount of cuts
They cash the money and forget to came back and apply the sealer
THE WORST QUALITY EVER
CHIP WORK
THEY TOTALLY REFUSING TO DO SERVICE CALL
THEY DID NOT PROVIDED CONTRACT OR INVOICE

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Even dough is private I know who this is.
I did went to see the complaint .
I did not refuse to fix even though the contract states that I don't have to ,but with this costumer was all about bad behaviour and swearing at me and threatening me .
I am a lady and I left due to the swearing at me and when I didn't even open my mouth.
And we did sealed the job when we were done the concrete like we always do.

Cheryl Burley in Hamilton
Cheryl Burley in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Poured concrete around our pool deck.

Do not ever use this company for any job. They were hired to pour concrete around my pool and like a fool I paid them cash as they requested at the end of day one, even though the job was not completed as they did not make the cuts, because they promised me they would be back the next day to complete the job. They left and I had to spend two days cleaning up the mess they left. The coping all around the pool was covered in concrete and there were huge chucks of concrete in the pool. Naturally the next day they didn't show up and the day after that they never showed up. Then on the third day they called and said they would come the next day, however, as I was having a huge party the day after I asked them if they could please wait until after the party as we couldn't swim for 2 days after the initial work was done due to the concrete dust in the water and we had to spend several hours getting the water clear enough to swim and I couldn't risk the chance of the water turning grey again before the party. To make a long story short they never returned to complete the cuts and now the concrete is cracking everywhere and there are spots where the water pools every time it rains because they didn't level it. When they were cleaning out their concrete paid they just dumped all the stones into our culvert and never bothered to clean it up. Consequently there is still dried up concrete in our ditch. Yes in a way it is my fault for paying them up front when the job was not completed but I am an honest person and I expected honestly back from this company but boy was I wrong. They are not a company to be trusted or reliable and their workmanship was terrible to say the least.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First of all we never take all money until we complete the job. And if there was a complain ,why the office wasn't informed about it, if there is no calls or complains how are we suppose to know.
We never refuse to go and check the complaint.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Driveway

We used Portuguese brothers concrere & paving inc to do our driveway , we are very happy with the work manship and with the way they handled everything , they did an amazing job i recomend this company 100%

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I don't know who you are but thank you very much .
It's always a pleasure to work for nice costumers.
God bless you.

Ana

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Simcoe County, ON

First Review

4/10

Concrete patio and pad

I do not recommend using this company. I hired the Portuguese Brothers Concrete company to lay two pads at my home, and if this project had been successful, it would have awarded them two driveways, a garage floor and quite possibly a third driveway. However, I feel fortunate that I started with a small project first to gauge the quality of the company. To start, they did not follow through with what they said about the thickness of the stone base or the thickness of the cement. When I questioned the owner the day of the cement pour about the depth of the pad, he became defensive and obstinate regarding my concerns. The ground was not level, which no doubt accounts for the pooling of water in one corner of the main pad. I got a stamped border around the main pad, which was supposed to be a solid colour, but for some reason that was never explained to me, there are dark blue-grey marks all through the border that are not consistent, so it's not part of the pattern. There was also a lack of communication on the part of the company as far as how to care for the job when finished, what direction I wanted the main pad to be graded and so forth. Further to all this, my property was left in a terrible state. Nothing was cleaned up as promised and garbage was left around after they finished. I was upfront with them from the beginning about the future potential if this project had gone well, yet everything I just explained is how the project unfolded. The Portuguese Brothers Concrete will be losing out on significant projects in the near future, that I would have endorsed if they just did what they said they would do, so in my opinion, this says a lot about the company. This was a very disappointing experience and therefore I don't recommend using this company.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Concrete Contractors pros in Hamilton?