The Post Hole Company

Fences & Gates
Mississauga ON L5N 4B7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fences & Gates
The Post Hole Company
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

76%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Post Hole Company

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Leslie, Orangeville, ON in Orangeville
Leslie, Orangeville, ON in Orangeville
0 reviews Orangeville, ON
10/10

Removal & Installation of Fence Posts

The Post Hole Company exceeded my expectations right from the start. The job was scheduled promptly and executed professionally. I highly recommend The Post Hole Company as their expertise made a difficult job of removing post foundations damaged by a storm look like a simple task.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Derek80
Derek80
4 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Very Impressed!!!

In need of a quick turnaround I searched google to find this company. First call was answered promptly and my needs were addressed and suggestions were given. Marlene handled the phone calls and emails with upmost clarity and swiftness. Best part of the service was getting email updates with timing and schedule changes for when to expect the crew onsite. Most people don't understand weather, traffic and hold ups can change the expected arrival times....Marlene kept on top of this all day.
Crew arrived on time.
The Crew consists of well polished individuals led by Andy. In uniform and you an tell everyone knows their part of the job. Andy also managed and directed the crews to run effeciently and streamlined the process. Well maintained equipment was used.
The crew even helped out with squaring off some posts that weren't marked with no hesitation when asked too.

Job was finished promptly and within the timing originally discussed.

Will hire again without hesitation.

Thanks to Andy and his team
Marlene was a pleasure to speak with a managed the schedule and details.
A+

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
VLiewvack in Mississauga
VLiewvack in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

SUPERIOR COMPANY IN EVERY WAY!

Far exceeded our expectations. Very knowledgeable and professional staff.

From our first point of contact with Lexi to the finished product, everything was a breeze.

It took a total of 2 days for them to build 240 feet of fence (which is as straight as an arrow by the way)! First day, they took down our old, ugly fence and installed brand new posts. Second day, they built our entire fence and 2 double gates which look exquisite!

Our fence looks incredible and we couldn't have made a better decision than to hire them.

Great quality. Professional staff. Friendly and polite. Amazing workmanship. A+++++!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Patricia in Mississauga
Patricia in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Arrogant

Andy showed up a day late “due to weather” and immediately started criticizing my guys working on a deck in which he quoted and did not get the job. When the deck guy put him in his place and told him to work on what you were hired for and we will work on what we were hired for, well he didn’t like that. After he took my payment he then kindly informed me that he has contacted various inspection guys as my workers aren’t doing the job right. Needless to say I work for government and quite familiar with the bylaws and when the city inspector did come he couldn’t believe it wasn’t a neighbour who complained but a contractor complaining about another contractor! Inspector also complimented how amazing the deck looks and due to it being less than 24” off the ground, no permit is needed! Andy’s fence posts are all uneven heights and a few have way too much concrete that has settled above the grade of my backyard. He treated his student workers like they were just there to do the hard parts while he rode around on his machines. Wouldn’t recommend this company to anyone and certainly would never hire them again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear your of your anger towards our foreman who reported your deck builder for unsafe building and non-compliance with dig safe regulations.

As we were attempting to communicate to you, it is our legal responsibility to report all non-compliance incidents to the TSSA.

We understand that you are unhappy as your project may be placed on hold for the moment but there is no reason to make false claims to your credit card company that your payment was “not authorized”.

Whilst speaking with you on the phone, you made it clear that the reason behind your dissatisfaction stemmed from our reporting the deck builder you hired from Home Depot for non-compliance with the law. You had also voiced that you immediately disliked our foreman assigned to your project today yet you permitted him to conduct work on your property.

After our conversation, we realize your anger is stemming from being reported for non-compliance. If we could remedy this in any way, we would. We were simply acting on our legal duty. Before reporting your builder, our foreman advised him directly of the errors he was making including digging without locates from Ontario 1 Call. Unfortunately your builder decided to brush aside our foreman and told him to mind his own business. At that point, we had no other option but to report your builder to a higher authority as he made it clear he was not interested in the safety of your property nor the safety of other tradesmen working on your site, let alone your safety.

Any business dreads to hear about an unsatisfied customer. It is understandable and fair of a customer to leave a poor review based on poor customer service and/or workmanship. Unfortunately, in this case, you indicated satisfaction with our workmanship by paying for the work we did on your property and clearly communicated that your anger was a result of our doing our due diligence. This leaves us with nothing to remedy other than explaining our legal requirements as a fully insured and trusted fence & deck builder and post hole service provider.

As for your claim that we quoted you on the building of a deck, this is a blatant lie.

We trust your next actions will be made with honesty, fairness and with just-cause.

SC in Toronto
SC in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Highly Recommended!

Guys showed up and went above and beyond my expectations! Post holes are lined up perfectly, they mixed perfect concrete, cleaned up after themselves and were all friendly and professional from start to finish. Will definitely hire again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Catherine in Mississauga
Catherine in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Fence Posts

Recently we contacted The Post Hole Company and discussed what we needed with Marlene in customer service. Marlene was extremely helpful and was a pleasure to deal with, she organized our job Four 12foot fence post to be installed.
They arrived on time and the three young men were very professional and obliging, finishing the job quickly.
We highly recommend The Post Hole Company.
Thank you. Ed & Catherine

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Grant in Brampton
Grant in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Fence repair

Crew showed up on site... made recommendations for most economical and efficient way to repair my fence. They removed existing posts, installed new posts and cleaned up in about an hour. Highly recommend this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Whitby, ON
1/10

Disrespectful And Dishonest

Watch out for hidden fees. They charged me $10 to lift each post. $50 to rent a tool. Quoted me $500, ended up paying $830! Threatened to refer me to collection when I complained. The "owner" was very rude and pompous! Never again will I deal with them. Read Homestar reviews before you call anyone.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You were advised of the length of posts to purchase, but you bought shorter ones to save a buck and maximize your profit.

You did not make mention of the concrete barrier wall we had to demolish in order to dig the post holes. You didn't mention it to us because you knew that concrete wall demolition is not in the scope of what post hole companies do.

You were NOT upfront about the scope of your project and you disregarded our site preparatory instructions. It took us 1.5 hours to get to your project location but we decided to cut our losses and leave as there was nothing for us to do. You begged us to stay and help you.

The only way to accomplish any work on your site was to rent a jackhammer. We advised you that you would need to at least pay for the rental of the equipment to which you had agreed. (We covered the diesel and hourly wages for our crew).

We were also forced to suspend HEAVY 6x6 posts in concrete. We had to use more portland and gravel than normal in each hole to be able to suspend those posts. That also increased the cost per hole.

We did not charge you anything extra in labour. In hind-site, we should have.

Now we have a dirty review from a hack of a contractor who is dishonest, unfair and greedy.

We'd like to say it was a pleasure working with you, but it wasn't. We too will never again do business with you. We only hope that going forward, you conduct yourself professionally, quit cutting corners and give customers the respect they deserve with quality workmanship!

Signed,
The Pompous "Owner" of The Post Hole Company Corp.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Fence posts digging

They did professional job. Request locate underground pipe line before digging. Save a lots of time for my fence project. They taught me how to install fence by myself. Thanks them very much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Post Hole Company

We are your full-service post hole company offering digging, setting, post hole services as well as custom built fence and decks. We are fully insured with over 16 years of experience in the industry. Get in touch and tell us about your project today! (905) 497-HOLE info@ThePostHoleCompany. com
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Brampton?