Oz Painting

Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
Oshawa ON L1K 0N2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Paint & Wallpaper Contractors in Oshawa  >  Oz Painting  >  Stair Refinishing Disaster
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON

First Review


Stair Refinishing Disaster

We had the unfortunate experience of hiring Oz Painting to refinish our stairs based on a recommendation. They produced visibly sloppy work and when we expressed our concerns to Oz the owner he actually put his stamp of approval on it. Told us that the quality of work was what all his clients expect from him and is standard across the industry. We have since had 3 painters come in to evaluate his work and they all agree that this is not industry standard.

Pooled stain, brush strokes, poor matching and being repeatedly cancelled on last minute is the type of workmanship and customer experience we received with Oz Painting. Two weeks since this staining has been done and our stairs and banisters are still sticky yet when in socked feet they are more slippery than ice. Our hardwood floors are satin finish and when we noticed the stairs were glossy we mentioned our concerns with the crew who told us that you can't refinish in satin. And when we commented that the stairs were slippery like ice when in socked feet we were told it's because most people put runners. Our project never included runners.

Oz claimed we locked his guy out but you can't lock someone out who doesn't show up! We gave him more than enough time and opportunity to come and correct this job but were cancelled on repeatedly -- twice the evening before, once 5 minutes before, and once 45 minutes after they were supposed to arrive.

Eventually we came to a point where we had zero confidence that this project would ever be completed, especially to our satisfaction, and told Oz's crew to come get their things. We have not heard from them since.

From start to its current state this has been a terrible experience. Oz Painting guarantees their work according to the Facebook page, but refuses to refund our deposit or find a solution to correct the work. Oz continuously ignored our calls and texts or when he did respond it was with screenshots of his one-sided conversations with his crew which never showed any discussion about or concerns with the quality of work. They only ever showed when work was being scheduled (and never when the crew had cancelled!).

Disregard the pickets and non-stained area in the pictures I am posting (aside from the parts that were supposed to be stained and missed). We wanted those parts to be white but the project never got that far.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The project was passed onto another painter Dave Tobin A&J painting, along with the deposit.
You had also gave more money to Dave towards the stairs.
The reason this job was passed on was due to the fact you had affected my schedule by firing the lady who hired me initially for the project and had lied to me about dates.
Oz Painting never touched your stairs.
Maybe you should have allowed Dave to finish the job he had started, rather than lock him out and make it near impossible for him to access the job.
Starting at 4pm as you offered at one account is NOT being flexible at all.