Tr Flat Roof Repair

Toronto ON M6L 2K9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Tr Flat Roof Repair
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Tr Flat Roof Repair

Average customer rating:
1 10 (2 reviews)

Sort by

Sidney in Mississauga
Sidney in Mississauga
7 reviews Mississauga, ON

Failed Flat Roof Replacement

We hired Tr Flat Roof Repair thinking they could repair flat roofs. When Val initially came, he made a convincing story that our original flat roof was poorly installed, and he would be able to replace it. When he came to repair the flat roof, he just put extra layers of flat roof material on our existing flat roof without replacing the original one. Within no time the roof started to leak when heavy rainfall came. Also, the roof leaks when too much snow accumulates on the flat roof. We called Val to sort it out, but he always blames the other house roofing being the cause of the leaks without owning to his poor job. Please be aware that if issues do come that they will blame anything other than their work.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sidney,

Your review is total defamation and is completely untrue. We are one of the most successful companies when it comes to residential flat roof repairs/ installations.

Below are the true facts:

Your flat roof is only a 3x4 ft front door overhang with no penetration whatsoever. It is connected with a huge sloped shingle garage roof with another metal roof layer on top. You requested a quote for a flat roof overhang replacement. We never call a client back when we send a quote, let alone use push tactics to get a client to choose our company. In addition, we never even charge a deposit before completing the entire roof and giving the client the option to bring an inspector or inspect the roof themselves.

We installed a brand new flat roof. We did not install a new layer on an existing roof layer as you are claiming in your review (we can get a flat roof expert to inspect the roof layers (core test) and If this is true, we will give you a full refund). There is only the roof system that we installed and a thick insulated panel.

You are failing to mention that with you present, we conducted a half an hour water test and not a single drop of water was leaking. After this test, we let you know that the metal roof is failing. Instead of diverting the water on top of the flat roof, the water is flowing in between the shingle roof and metal roof and heavily leaking where the shingle roof meets the flat roof. Yet the metal roofing company convinced you that it wasn’t their roof causing the leak.

For your piece of mind, we told you to bring an independent roofing expert but you refused. Even though there were no issues with your flat roof, we gave you a conditional offer for a free roof replacement with us or another roofing company. The condition was that if after the new roof is installed, you still experience leaks (we are 100 per cent sure this will happen), then you will have to cover the costs.

We are looking at legal options to resolve this issue as a review like this is clear defamation. You will be contacted by our lawyers.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

First Review


flat roof replacement

contracted flat roof replacement few months later in winter leak occurred in bedroom due to cap sheet not properly adhered during installation. Contractor came out and try to blame leak on siding I had to show contractor the issue and did temporary fix . Contractor said he would fix it properly when weather would permit but after 5 months changed his mind. During the repair to drywall ceiling also noticed plywood that contractor replaced was 1/4 in and not supported at all and had to redo.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Simon Kapteijn,

We replaced your main flat roof and you never had issues with installation. We also replaced your aluminium fascia that was falling apart free of charge. The roof that you are referring to in your review is the small balcony section that we worked on. In our many years working in this industry, with both residential and commercial properties, this is the first quality complaint we’ve received.

Here are our notes from this installation to help clarify the issue on our end:

When we opened your flat roof at 254 Howland Ave, we noticed that a large section of the joist was severely rotten on the upper roof and on the lower roof, the support joist that connects the plywood was missing (we showed photos from google maps, and you came up on the roof to inspect as well). We notified you that this created a safety hazard, not only for the tenants inside, but also for the crew working on your roof. Knowing that it’s a major safety hazard (especially in the winter with the weight of the snow potentially causing it to collapse) you refused to hire a licensed carpenter and fix it.

Also, on the lower balcony roof that you’re referring to, the fascia board was completely rotten, the doorstep was rotten with no flashing. The siding channel, trims and the plywood and ten test behind the siding was also substantially rotten. We told you that these issues needed to be fixed by a licensed carpenter. You also refused to do this. In all our years, we have never raised such major structural issues with a property owner/realtor and they ignored our recommendations.

The leak that you are mentioning is the result of damaged siding. We inspected the roof when you called us about the issue and we told you where the leak was coming from. You told us by email that you fixed the leak temporarily when you applied caulking on the fascia.

Furthermore, we asked you to bring a new trim flashing (which costs $5) so that we can fix it permanently (even though this was not in our contract and not a result of a faulty roof installation) and you refused our offer.

In your review, you claimed we installed 1/4th plywood. None of the suppliers that we use sell 1/4th plywood. You can easily find the thickness of the plywood through a core test, and this will disprove your claim.

Furthermore, after we installed the roof, you made modifications to the structure of the roof inside and outside (only this in itself voids both the manufacturer and workmanship warranty). You refused to make these modifications before we installed the roof, against our instruction. Despite this, we offered to come and fix it for free, but you refused to provide the materials needed.

It’s clear that this property was neglected for a long time. Our recommendation to fix the siding and the door flashing would’ve solved your leak issue, but it seems you did not want to spend any money on fixing anything on this property, no matter how serious the issue.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Tr Flat Roof Repair

As a premium roofing company Toronto roofing company we at TR Flat Roof Reppair offer following services: Roof repair, flat roof repair, emergency roof repair, ordinary roof repair, shingle roof repair, flat roofing repair, flat roofing replacement, commercial roofing Toronto, commercial roof repair, residential flat roofing Toronto, residential roof repair. ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Toronto?