A Family Of Trades Inc.

Roofing
High River AB T1V
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Basement Renovation
A Family Of Trades Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for A Family Of Trades Inc.

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Len piercey in High River
Len piercey in High River
1 review High River, AB
10/10

New roof

Had this company replace our roof. Did everything they said they would do in a timely and professional manner. Found the workers to be very courteous and knew what they were doing. Charles was very courteous and easy to deal with. Highly recommend this company to anyone needing roof repairs or replacement.

Was this review helpful?
Jocelynn in Chestermere
Jocelynn in Chestermere
2 reviews Chestermere, AB
10/10

Roof repair

After having two other roofing companies fall through with promises to inspect/assess our roof issue Charles and his roofer came by and quickly and efficiently identified our roof problem, provided options and reasonable quotes and then fixed the issue in a timely manner. No more falling shingles! Thanks guys.

Was this review helpful?
Cheryl in High River
Cheryl in High River
1 review High River, AB
10/10

New Roofing

Awesome company, had an great telephone conversation with Charles, he explained everything in great depth. I had never met Charles but was very comfortable having this company doing the new roof on my home in High River. Between him and myself we chose the shingles that we thought would be the best for my home. He quoted me a price and stuck to it. Not once did I question him on wondering when the work would be done. The work was done quickly and with pride. I trusted this company to do what they said they would do and they went beyond my expectations. I did all this with Charles over the phone and me being a thousand km away I totally trusted this company to do the work they promised me. When I went to High River on the weekend I was so impressed with the workmanship done and met Charles. All I can say about Charles and his team, awesome company, honest, respectful, and totally trustworthy. I would recommend this great company to anyone that needs work done from A FAMILY OF TRADES INC.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much. We aim to please

Neil in Calgary
Neil in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Roof, fascia, gutter, heating

Without knowing who to choose, Charles and his team at A Family of Trades presented the most knowledgeable about the issue I was having for a roof repair on a home considering to be purchased. From the original phone call, I received prompt, courteous, professional service that ended with A Family of Trades being awarded the contract for a re-roofing our home.

Better still than this, was the cooperation I received and fairness in pricing as I leveraged the excellent talent that Charles was able to attract by extending the scope of the roofing to also include installation of a garage heating system. The people that worked for A Family of Trades presented as professional as the ownership. You definitely won't receive a hyped up sales job and then sub-par workmanship when you engage this company.

I'm now 6 months past the original installation date and their workmanship looks as good today as it did when they completed the project. Trust A Family of Trades, and if your experience is anywhere near as good as mine, you'll know you received terrific value for what you spent.

Neil Neufeld, CPA CMA

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Neil, we welcome you to our family and appreciate the kind words. Don't hesitate to contact us for any and all of your interior/exterior needs.

Kym B in Chestermere
Kym B in Chestermere
1 review Chestermere, AB
10/10

Roof and eaves

Charles and his team were awesome! We had them out to assess hail damage, and from the quoting process to finishing the job we were treated with respect, all our questions were answered and the crew was very professional and did the work in a very short time frame. We will be asking Charles to quote on furthr work we have to complete. We cannot say thank you enough.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate the business. Please keep us in mind for all of your interior/exterior needs. It was a pleasure working with you

S B.
S B.
2 reviews Chestermere, AB
10/10

Basement Bathroom and Main Floor Renovation

Charles and his team do fantastic work! This is why we keep calling on them as new projects arise. I would highly recommend them to anyone as they are very professional and do a wonderful job! They added a complete new bathroom to our home downstairs and just completed new luxury vinyl plank all throughout our main floor along with countless other jobs including painting, electrical, new installations, etc and we are very pleased with everything that has been completed! Start to finish this is a great company to choose for reliable, efficient and friendly service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's been a pleasure working with you and your family over the years. You are like family to us. Thanks for continuing to choose A Family Of Trades Inc

Will in Calgary
Will in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

New Roof

Absolutely top notch! Charles and his team are the best in their business. We had a new roof installed last year and the Family of Trades team scored off the charts in every aspect of the job. We had a minor challenge that needed attention and Charles sent a highly qualified member of the team out and the job was handled in less than 24 hours.
I fully recommend A Family of Trades for any job around the house. You can be assured of the highest quality execution at a fair and reasonable price. That is my definition of value.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the continued support and the refererrals. Please dont hesitate to call, should you require anything. Thanks again for the business. Best wishes Charles T.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews High River, AB
10/10

Roof

I hired A Family of Trades Inc to do my roof. They did an amazing job! They dealt with the insurance company on my behalf. It was such an easy process. They were fast and efficient. I will definitely be using their services again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You can always count on A Family Of Trades Inc. Please feel free to call us, should you require any of our services.

JJC in High River
JJC in High River
1 review High River, AB

First Review

0/10

Basement Renovation

We agreed to have “A Family of Trades” complete our basement renovation and were treated like a side-job that the owner couldn’t have cared less about. We hired Charles to do framing, electrical, drywall and ceiling in our 700 sq/ft basement. The issues started right away.

When the work started, Charles did not coordinate his “employees”, he left that all to us. I put “employees” in quotes, as EVERY SINGLE WORKER had a full time job elsewhere and completed our work in their spare time. It took 2 months for something that should have taken 2 weeks at most.

When we asked him specifically to handle a situation (worker showing up late, or not at all and not completing the work as specified), he had the worker call us instead. After the framing was FINALLY completed (it took 3 weeks) his own worker said “it’s scabby, but it will do.”

Since we were unhappy about the framing, Charles said after inspections, we would have a “dedicated team” come to do the drywall because he wanted to “make things right.” He and his team were scheduled to show up on a specific date and when we called to confirm the time we could expect him, he said it wouldn’t be for another 11 days. He said he wasn’t aware of the fact he was to show up that date and we sent him a screenshot of a text message FROM HIM with the confirmation.

We then got a call from a random person saying he was told by Charles to call us to do the drywall. This person also worked a full time job and had to schedule our drywall around it. It took another 3 weeks and there was also a lot of framing that this worker had to fix because it wasn’t done properly the first time.

After the drywall, we had to clean the basement and then came the ceiling. Charles did this work himself. We asked for knockdown ceiling and I can’t even begin to describe the mess that was made. Not only was it NOT a knockdown ceiling, Charles made an absolute mess of the drywall as he did not cover any of it and used a sprayer to do the ceiling. There were chunks and lumps all over the entire basement and he just left. We had to call him to come back and he sent a guy who used a scraper, which tore up parts of the wall and didn’t even get rid of the chunks of compound that were all over the place. We had to call Charles back again to ensure that the walls were ready to paint (as they were prior to the ceiling). He sent the same guy back to sand, who did a half-ass job at best and left dust everywhere again. So besides cleaning the entire basement again, in order to paint, we had to mud and sand several parts of the walls.

The entire time, we consistently asked Charles to step up. Only ONCE did he come to check on the work that was done (framing) and he had no idea what was going on with regards to the rest of our renovation unless WE updated him. We advised him every step of the way in terms of our expectations and disappointment with what was happening and he LITERALLY IGNORED it.

Then came time for the bill. We told him we wanted to pay by credit card, as we had done with the 50% deposit. What a gong show. He sent us two different invoices (with different numbers), one that included a 3% LATE FEE even before the work was completed when we had been told initially to pay upon completion. The terms on both invoices were different (and had changed multiple times over the duration of our renovation). When we disputed the 3% late fee on the one invoice, we noticed that a 3% service charge was added to the other invoice for using our credit card, which was not imposed upon us for the 50% deposit (nor was it in the terms of the original contract)! We also had to ask twice to have the cost for the electrical permit taken off the bill, as we ended up getting that ourselves too, despite it being in the contact/quote.

Their tagline is "welcome to the family." Well, sorry to break it to you Uncle Charlie, but I wouldn't use A Family of Trades again if you were the last contractor on earth.

Added to address owner comments regarding the 'FACTS':

Owner comment: "Customer called us in for a full basement renovation" - FACT - we hired them to do electrical, framing, drywall and ceiling. Which is EXACTLY what they quoted us on, on May 17. Nothing else.

Owner comment: "I personally went to home and added acoustic seal to walls and joints and used code approved green tuck tape to seal up areas" - FACT: he did this only after asking us to go to Home Depot and buy the stuff and do it ourselves and we told him it was his job to do the work in our basement.

Owner comment: "Customer sent me a text message on Thursday June 8 stating they wanted to put a deposit down to do the drywall and ceiling." - FACT: We hadn't been asked for a deposit until this date. The instant we got the invoice requesting a 50% deposit, we contacted him to pay it. That was June 8.

Owner Comment: "With this said we had booked four similar jobs that had committed. We emailed them that they should find someone else as that we were busy." - FACT: No, they did not. We had sent an email that outlined all of our verbal conversations and frustrations up to this date. They said they "apologize for the miscommunication regarding a start time for the drywall. If you would like to find another company to complete the drywall portion, I completely understand."

"They still insisted on using our services." - FACT: The framing needed to be fixed and we weren't about to pay someone else to fix it.

Owner Comment: "You can decide for your self...Funny thing is,there is no mention as to the high quality of work and finished product." - FACT: That statement should speak for itself.

Owner comment: "In 13 plus years we have never had a client publish on so many platforms how horrible they think we were" - FACT: that is because the owner asked us to remove our review and when we would not, he deleted his FB page. We published on TWO other platforms (besides Facebook) where we assumed that our review could not be deleted by the owner in order to allow customers to see only positive reviews.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize in advance to our many customers who may see this. lets discuss the facts. Customer called us in for a full basement renovation, and we gave them our suppliers to pick materials. They did not visit our suppliers nor did they allow our flooring crews to do an on site measure. I met with customer personally again and they suggested we simply fix their framing as that they fired last framer. I sent in our master electrician and framer. We sent them an estimate on may 17/2017. I met with them again, and customer suggested simply getting electrical and framing work completed. They suggested waiting for inspection to pass, which of course it did, before using our other services. I personally went to home and added acoustic seal to walls and joints and used code approved green tuck tape to seal up areas that electrician had to access and areas that did not meet code. Customer sent me a text message on Thursday June 8 stating they wanted to put a deposit down to do the drywall and ceiling. With this said we had booked four similar jobs that had committed. We emailed them that they should find someone else as that we were busy. They still insisted on using our services. There are many gaps to fill in, including the permit process, to which they personally apologized. They wanted a discount for entire permits, where as we only charged for electrical which we of course, we automatically voided. You can decide for your self, we bent over backwards for a customer that simply could not decide what they wanted. In 13 plus years we have never had a client publish on so many platforms how horrible they think we were. Funny thing is,there is no mention as to the high quality of work and finished product. The owner is reviewing this matter in order to determine next steps. I do not have the authority to represent them, I am simply stating some facts.
Thanks in advance Charles T.
A Family Of Trades Inc.
403-835-9572
Sales and service manager.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A Family Of Trades Inc.

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.