Root Fencing Inc

Fences & Gates
Calgary AB T2Z 2L9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fences & Gates
Root Fencing Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Root Fencing Inc

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (30 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Perfect deck

So professional and very easy going especially with all the changes we made. Even when they come up with an idea, they will think about it, come back the next day, say they have second thoughts about it and come up with a better idea. Highly recommend them. Their craftsmanship is impeccable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review J & R. It was such a pleasure to work with you both and your family. We enjoyed brainstorming with you on design ideas and think your project turned out great! Enjoy your backyard oasis !

Murray and Cheryl in Redwood Meadows
Murray and Cheryl in Redwood Meadows
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Fence and Gate Project

We moved into a new house in a new community. We had a good-neighbour fence built by Root Fencing on the recommendation of our neighbour (who had used Root Fencing in the past). It was a good decision as we liked their work. This latest project entailed a trailer gate and man gate at the back of our house, a short fence extension and man gate at the front of our house, as well as a short section of fence on the other side of the house. Mark and Tamara do great work. They do all the work themselves (ie. no subcontractors), so they have complete control over the quality of the work, and they are great to work with. We loved the final result and will be asking them to build a deck for us next year.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Murray and Cheryl! It was great getting to know you both and we appreciate your hospitality. Looking forward to working on your deck in the spring !

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Fence Project

Tamara was quick to respond and answer any questions. Mark and Tamara worked efficiently and kept a clean worksite. Despite challenging conditions (snow/mud) the project was completed in a reasonable timeframe. The cost came in exactly as quoted with no surprises. The end result looks great. I would recommend them for all of your fencing needs!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review and your patience as we battled that September snow blast and the mud that followed! Looking forward to hearing from you for future projects

Rick in Calgary
Rick in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Hard Work Appreciated and Happy Customers

These guys worked through crazy amounts of mud and our wacky fence line to create a beautiful fence that we love and one that is secure for our dogs! I love that they don't subcontract out any work and are easy to talk to. Thanks so much Mark and Tamara

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your kind review Rick. We appreciate your hospitality and look forward to future projects

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Fence

A job well done. Very pleased with the results as are my neighbours! Very beefy looking as we got the privacy fence around our backyard. Always pleasant to talk to in person and quick response with every email. Friendly to our dogs who just wanted their yard back. Will recommend Tamara and Mark. thanks

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure working with you two and getting to know the pups throughout the project. Don't hesitate to let us know if you need anything. Enjoy your yard !

Sarah in Calgary
Sarah in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Backyard projects

Mark and Tamara built us a cedar deck with a glass handrail and finished off our cedar fence to complete our backyard. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Tamara always makes her self available by phone or email whenever we had a question. The duo works so well together and turned out a great product. I should also mention we've signed them up to build us a shed later this year and my sister is having them build a fence for her this fall! Thx Root Fencing!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Sarah! We appreciate your hospitality and look forward to hearing from you for your next project!

info in Calgary
info in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Service is just as important as the physical job

We reached out to 4 or 5 of the top rated companies on Home Stars for a fence and it was quite clear from the start who we would be going with. A prompt response and service is just as important to me as the work being done. Tamara would always reply within a matter of hours. They quoted me a price which stuck, they showed up when they said they would and were a pleasure to deal with. The quality is amazing and pricing was competitive. You get the owners building your fence which is pretty impressive. I have already referred them to multiuple people and believe they are building a friends fence in the coming weeks.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Travis! It was a pleasure working with you two to complete your fence! We appreciate the referrals and are looking forward to completing your friends fence next month. Hope to hear from you again for future projects

N Andrews in Calgary
N Andrews in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Happy Repeat Customers!

Mark built our fence for us years ago in Okotoks, it stood the test of time and still looks like new! So, when we moved to Calgary we instantly knew who we were going to call when we needed a new fence. He and Tamara are great to work with, very personable, keep a clean jobsite, work efficiently and always turn out a gorgeous product. They pay close attention to fine details that most company’s overlook. We also took full advantage of their custom woodworking skills and had them build us two cedar dog houses for our pups and purchased one of their log benches. You can tell they love what they do, and we will be calling them next year for our deck. Thank you Root Fencing!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Nancy. It was such a treat to hear from you and Mitch again. So much fun to build custom dog houses for Boots and Sally too. Enjoy your yard!

Cory and Terra Klassen in Calgary
Cory and Terra Klassen in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Outstanding Workmanship paired with amazing customer service, that is root fencing

Mark and Tamara have been absolutely outstanding to deal with, the quality of work paired with customer service is like no other. The projects were completed on time and on budget and we are so happy we found them. We have not only used them for 1 project we keep having them back every year to do additional projects simply because they are wonderful

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Terra and Cory! It's been such a pleasure to work with you both over the past few years on turning your backyard into your very own oasis. We enjoy all of your creative ideas they are very fun to build. Looking forward to the next one

M.H. in Calgary
M.H. in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
3/10

2 years later...

After searching for a reputable company to do my fence and RV gate project I settled on this one because of their reviews on here and because of their reassurance that the RV gate that they would build won’t sag. This was my main concern when I was getting quotes and Mark and Tamara’s response to the question of “will this gate sag?” was: “not the way we build them”. So we went ahead with root fencing. Less than 3 months after the fence and gate were completed, the RV gate started to visibly sag. Their initial excuse was the wood is just drying out. Ok fine. Few more months go by and the gate sagged enough to the point where it can’t open or close properly. They came back and moved the latches around so they line up again, rather than dealing with the actual sag of the gate. This happened a couple more times over the 1st year. Each time I would ask them to “please call me!” when they come so we can figure out a proper solution before they do anything with the latch again, and each time they would come and go without even letting me know they came or what they did.

This is now only the second year on the fence, and the heavy gate needs to be lifted to open/close, despite their many adjustments to the latch, the fact remains that this gate is sagging. Not only is it an eye sore, but my wife isn’t able to lift it to open/close if she wanted to put the garbage bins out for example. I emailed them again and again they said they’ll swing by whenever they’re in the area. Again I asked (begged) in a follow up email for a phone call so we can discuss the issue. No response. Their communication leaves a lot to be desired. (My neighbor who shared in the fence also had the same complaint early on, she was confused as to why they wouldn’t communicate with her properly.)
I believe the reason they ignore my requests and come and go without talking to me is because they don’t have a real solution other than moving the latch so that it lines up with where the gate is now.

To be fair, the rest of the fence looks good, but many other companies would have built the same fence for less $. I paid extra and went with root fencing for their confidence in the RV gate and was immediately disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mohammed
Thank you for your feedback. We have been back to your residence multiple times over the past few years to make sure that the gate is fully functional and made sure not to leave until it was. Our schedule can be a bit unpredictable which is why we were unable to provide you with an exact time we would arrive to adjust your gate. Our apologies for that. Each time we have been there it was a latch adjustment that was needed, which is normal as the wood shrinks and expands with the seasons. We don't mind doing this at all and it is a service we are happy to offer all of our clients.

We have also spoken over email and the phone every time you've been in contact, and I'm very sorry if it felt like the communication was not adequate, but I can assure you you've never been intentionally ignored on our end. We did return every email and call in as timely a manner as possible. We did address your neighbours concerns right away while we were still on site which was an aesthetic issue in which she wanted one of the panels to face a different way to accommodate her garden boxes. This change was made right away. We also did our very best to accommodate your budget and worked together with you on price.

The top cap on one side of the gate did warp slightly (approximately half inch more than the other side). Unfortunately with the unpredictability of pressure treated wood sometimes the boards may dry or warp at different rates which we realize is unsightly, but does not mean that the gate has sagged. We do hand select all of our wood and use proper ACQ compatible screws on our top caps but sometimes this cannot be avoided. We install diagonal braces on all of our gates which shifts the weight from the latch down to the bottom hinge therefore transferring the weight down to the bottom hinge from the centre of the gate. We offered the option of installing a man gate at the time of install as using an RV gate every day can be a bit time consuming for everyday tasks such as taking out the garbage but that was declined. We've offered several different solutions to help you with operating your RV gate easily and efficiently.

We do pride ourselves on our quality of work and great relationships with our clients and are sorry for any confusion or inconvenience this has caused. We appreciate your business!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Calgary?