Oneway Construction

General Contractors
Ottawa ON K1J 1C1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Basement Renovation
Oneway Construction
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

75%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2017 winnerBest of 2017winner

Reviews for Oneway Construction

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (23 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Backyard construction, including deck

My experience with OneWay was disappointing. I consider their conduct to be unethical and would not recommend doing business with them.
We engaged OneWay to build a large multi-level deck in our backyard as well as a fence in Spring 2017. Wesley made a very strong first impression, and conveyed a lot of passion and commitment to his work. We considered other contractors’ quotes, and ultimately selected OneWay because they could commit to the timeline we wanted in advance of a large event we were planning, offered a 10-year warranty, and had good online reviews.
OneWay confirmed the deck project would take 9-10 business days. It took more than 3 months for the base deck to be built. We were patient and appreciative even though our event (and many others that summer) needed to be cancelled. We didn’t get to use the deck in the summer of 2017. And ultimately, OneWay never completed the deck – the staining is still outstanding and we’ve incurred damages to the base deck as a result, which has cost us much more than budgeted. The warranty is not worth anything.
Here is a summary of the disappointing delays. If I could go back in time, I would modify the contract to enforce a final sign-off on delivery before final payment.
1. Early in the project, OneWay blamed continued delays on the City of Ottawa being non-responsive to the permit application. We independently followed up with the City of Ottawa and discovered that OneWay was not being truthful about the permit application process, and the back-and-forth underway with the City. In fact the City had been responding, but OneWay had several omissions in the application submitted they didn’t want to acknowledge to us. Despite the inconsistency and the disappointment of cancelling our event, we were patient and didn’t complain, hoping everything else would run smoothly.
2. OneWay made measurement errors and had to modify the deck design as a result, with little clearance between our deck and our shed. We rolled with the change, and didn’t mention it again. We were even jovial about a planter in front of our house being broken by Wesley’s truck, as he agreed to remove it and build us a new one (we never got a new one). In many way, we tried to maintain a strong relationship as partners in the project.
3. We observed improper application of the stain over mud (muddy footprints). When we raised these concerns with OneWay, we took their word that it would be fixed in the fall. Excuses continued, and then we took their word that they would do it in the spring. Spring became summer, summer became fall, and excuses continued (as did non-response to numerous phone calls and emails). The staining was never fixed, and it’s been well over one year since they committed to fixing.
4. Damage is now very obvious on the deck. In addition to the bad staining, most of the light fixtures have broken. The warranty certificate they dropped off does not appear to be worth anything. Even when we reach OneWay be phone or email, and they agree to “show up” on a specific day, they never do. It seems OneWay may not be adhering to Section 74 of the Competition Act regarding warranties. At a minimum, I would not value the warranty from OneWay when considering their quote.
5. We wrote an online review last Fall with a poor rating and Wesley immediately contacted us to have it taken down, promising he’d complete the job asap. My husband gave him the benefit of the doubt and took down his online review. I wish he had not – Wesley and OneWay did not follow through on their commitment, and seem only concerned with cultivated their online reputation versus their actual customer service.
The latest excuse we received from OneWay was that it was “a kindness” that they agreed to stain the deck, as it was not explicit in our contract. In fact, Wesley always made it clear to us that a stain would be included in the construction of the deck: the early proposals state that a CFW-UV5 Clear penetrating wood finish will be used; text exchanges discuss what colour stain we'll be using; he assured us throughout the construction that the stain was included; and in email exchanges he committed to addressing our reasonable concerns after the project's completion, among them fixing the errors made in the application of the stain and applying a second coat. Other commitments agreed-to in writing, such as fence caps, were not fulfilled.
My take-away is that OneWay has endless excuses for not showing up, for delays, and for incomplete work. They will spend more time and energy on making fake appointments and managing their online profile than they will on fulfilling their contractual obligations to customers. Unfortunately, the passion and commitment I perceived in our first meeting did not persist through the project, and I’m left feeling we dealt with a disingenuous person and company. I hope nobody else has the same experience we did. I would avoid this company.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Gananoque, ON
10/10

Major Reno

Oneway Construction Inc. is the only company we would consider using for any kind of building or renovation work that we would do again in the future. Wes and his team have worked on two major renovations in our home. They were professional and with an eye to detail that both of us as homeowners expect and quite frankly demand. We trust him implicitly to always make the right decisions and guide us when it comes to making the correct choices for products, fittings etc.. They care as much about our house as we do. We couldn't be more grateful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Shawn Mendoza in Gloucester
Shawn Mendoza in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Renovation

One way has completely renovated and transformed the upstairs and main level of my house. I bought a historic house built in the 1800s that required extensive renovations. I couldn't be happier with the amazing results and professionalism I received. Wesley is a really professional and knowledgeable contractor. I had many companies and contractors come through and I decided to go with One way because Wesley by far had the most direction and knowledge of construction.
I'm looking forward to having Oneway come back next year to transform the basement.

Thank you Wesley and your team at One way for all your work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mr. Mendoza for your kind words, it was an absolute pleasure working with you. We look forward to hearing from you to complete your basement.
Thank you again for choosing ONEWAY CONSTRUCTION as your construction company.

Kind regards,
The ONEWAY Team

LaurieBiggs in Gloucester
LaurieBiggs in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

FINISHED BASEMENT AND ADDING .

OnewayConstruction finished our basement, which included adding a bedroom, living room, full bathroom, storage room and hobby shop. We were extremely pleased with the results - in fact, the renovation quality is way better than the rest of our newly built home. They were always quick to reply to our emails and paid close attention to us and details. The team have a ton of experience in small-to-large home renos which definitely shows in the results. Highly recommended!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Laurie, our absolute pleasure working with you and your family. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
Our team wishes you all the best.

Warm regards,
The Oneway Team.

Janet W. Ottawa
Janet W. Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Disappointed

My experience with Oneway Construction was very unpleasant. Here are the course of events.

February 14, 2018- signed a contract with Oneway Construction for bathroom and kitchen renovation. Gave Wesley a 50% deposit by cheque in the amount of $4,407, which was cashed immediately. Wesley verbally guaranteed that the work would be completed by April 30. By the end of April, Wesley apologized for not being able to start the job because of delays in previous projects (according to him) and said that he would start May 18 which did not happen.
May 22- Oneway Construction came and took measurements and Wesley said he would get back to me with a start date which he never did.
June 4- Oneway Construction e-mailed me that a relative was very sick and they couldn’t start any new projects. I was offered the option of getting a full deposit refund. The same day I e-mailed back that I did want a full deposit refund.

As of July 2, no refund has been given to me, even though I was promised several times that a certified cheque would be delivered to my home. Every time there was a different excuse why they couldn’t bring or mail the cheque. Also, they completely ignored a letter from a lawyer that I hired about demanding payment.

All previous reviews that I read about this company do not jibe with my experience, which is puzzling. Based on my interaction with Oneway Construction, they do not seem to have a code of ethics or professional behaviour. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on the quality of work as it was never delivered.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

To whom this may concern,

Mrs. Wolfe agreed to have her small repair project fit in between bigger projects when a time in the schedule became available. After only one week Mrs. Wolfe became very eager to have it done, even though the agreement was to fit her project when time became available, no set date was given. We received the deposit when the contract was signed, the deposit cheque was deposited two days later, not realizing this would be an issue.
We gave Mrs. Wolfe the option for refund of deposit since she decided not to wait any longer for when time became available between bigger projects as originally agreed upon. Mrs. Wolfe decided to terminate the contract- We processed the contract termination letter in a timely manner, and refund shortly after when the letter was signed. Unfortunately my mother has been diagnosed with advanced cancer and I had to go out of town for this purpose which delayed the cheque delivery by a couple of days. July 2nd was Canada day holiday, therefore the refund cheque was delivered on July 3rd in full when our offices reopened after the long weekend.
We kept contact with Mrs. Wolfe throughout the whole process. All of our customers have been more than understanding with my family's unfortunate situation except Mrs. Wolfe.

We wish Mrs. Wolfe and her family all the best and it's unfortunate that her experience with our company was disappointing as she states above. We strive in customer satisfaction and quality services.

Sincere regards,
Oneway Construction

Hamza Mohammed in Gloucester
Hamza Mohammed in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Home addition

Excellent service, excellent communications. From the first moment I engaged Oneway Construction for my project, I was very impressed with the level of communication and respect for my time. The crews showed up on time, did excellent work, and cleaned up beautifully at the end of each day. Could not recommend more! We are so happy with our addition, they are so talented, the work is beautiful, thank you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the feedback and choosing Oneway for your project.

All the best,
ONEWAY CONSTRUCTION

Angela
Angela
4 reviews Ottawa, ON
4/10

Main Bathroom Removation

We originally hired ONEWAY to simply refresh our main bathroom, keeping the existing layout, but during the design process made a big change to completely gut and reconfigure the entire space.
From our first meeting with Wesley, we could see and appreciate his passion for making homes more functional – and ultimately safe – for his clients. He took a lot of time to go through any concerns we had with the bathroom as a whole so that he could provide the most accurate quote and drawings.
Once the work began, Justin, Connor and Dave were extremely professional and respectful of not only us, but our home, and also our neighbors. The project began a few weeks before Christmas, so they worked long hours and kept the entire space clean and safe from start to finish ... which was especially important with our 2 year old running around. Everyone's attention to detail is outstanding and each member of the team took the time needed to ensure that things were above the highest of standards.
Justin in particular was especially helpful with some major tile issues we had with a supplier. His advice was invaluable, and the care and time he took for the install of our 3 different variations of tile in our bathroom was outstanding.
As the owner, Wesley is very passionate about his business and the work that is produced by every member of his team, staying on top of things during the renovation to ensure that the client is aware of any issues or changes that need to be addressed. Unfortunately, there were times we had some communication delays and a severe miscommunication via email or phone, but Deila always tried her best to go above and beyond during the renovation to ensure she got us the information required as soon as possible.
Deila herself helped by sourcing us an alternate tub when a supplier had advised they had stock readily available for a 6ft tub, per the drawings, when in fact it was a 4-6wk lead special order. She was able to find a beautiful 5.5ft tub quickly for the required install date.
Although there were delays with the project that at times were beyond anyone's control, and a severe miscommunication between Wesley and ourselves, we can say that we were very happy with the crew are happy with the bathroom overall.
Where ONEWAY truly fell short with us and why we no longer feel comfortable recommending them, is the warranty follow up for some simple misses during the renovation. These misses included: re-grout/sealant around the tub at the floor, re-caulk the bathroom vanity properly, as well as to put our attic insulation back to it's original spot. I notified ONEWAY just a few short months after the renovation was complete on the issues, and it took a full year long wait and runaround to finally coordinate and commit to finishing the work - which itself, took less than 60min to complete. Waiting a full year - between lost emails and cancelled appointments, for what we knew would be such a quick warranty job - ultimately means we unfortunately no longer feel comfortable recommending ONEWAY.

Review has 3 previous versions
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words and great feedback. It was a pleasure working with you and helping with your bathroom project. We look forward to working with you again on future projects.

Sincere regards,
The ONEWAY CONSTRUCTION Team.

Lini in Ottawa
Lini in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Bathroom renovation caused over 20,000$ of damage - run away

My original post was positive, as I wanted to support a local company and help them grow. It turns out The owner is a great salesman, but that it absolutely it. They started the project over 2 months late, the ended it 5 weeks late, and instead of completing the bathroom renovation, they went ahead and started using the the term warranty work to avoid saying they did not complete the work. A month after the project ended I had a leak in my bathroom fan and informed them of this, they said it was condensation. A year later I had a severe leak from my bathroom fan and they said it was not an emergency, so came by 2 months later to move the fan, after I mentioned the leak had spread in the house. When they showed up, they noticed how severe the damage was and said it was not their fan but my roof the problem. I called my insurance company and they denied the claim due to faulty installation of the bathroom fan. Needless to say, remediation will cost us over 20,000$. This company did not return our key when asked and informed us they would return it when they happen to be in our area. They also left a big gaping hole in our ceiling and threatened to go to collection agencies and put a lien on our house if we didn't pay the invoice for placing a hole in our ceiling since they did not consider it warranty work.

Review has 1 previous version
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the feedback- your opinion is very important to us.
It's great to hear you are enjoying your bathroom. It was a pleasure working with you and look forward to working with you again in the future.

All the best,
ONEWAY CONSTRUCTION

Brad in Ottawa
Brad in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Main upstairs bathroom

We had Wesley and his crew completely gut and rebuild our main family bathroom including a custom vanity. The project was not without it's setbacks however Wesley was extremely easy to communicate with and was always available to answer our questions. The crew of Justin, Jesse and Connor were very easy to work with and you could tell that they take pride in their work. The worksite was kept clean at the end of each day which was huge as we have 2 young boys running around. The finished product was everything we imagined and we are very happy with the experience of this reno.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words Brad and Julianne. It's very nice to hear you are enjoying your renovated bathroom. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your family. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The ONEWAY Team.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Oneway Construction

ONE WAY specializes in custom homes, additions, renovations, foundation repair and more. From the initial design consultation to the completion of a custom build, home addition, a renovation or whatever your dream project may be, ONE WAY serves the individual needs of our clients with precision, clarity and a unique understanding of the design/build process.

At ONE WAY we are able to provide the best quality work through our commitment to accuracy, reliability, honesty and efficiency in every one of our Ottawa home building projects. We are known in the community for our superior craftsmanship and the high degree of honesty we've shown in our more than 20 years of building homes. Our valuable experience in kitchen renovations, bathroom renovations, basement renovations and much more has placed us as leaders in the Ottawa home renovations community. Every project detail is handled by our experts, ensuring every aspect of your project will exceed industry standards.

TEN MAIN REASONS TO CHOOSE ONE WAY:

1. HONEST & DEPENDABLE: Integrity and fairness are the basis of ONEWAY Construction business ethics, whether dealing with customers, suppliers or fellow team members. The Owner and Employees of ONE WAY are in the building business because they love it. They are dedicated to each project and take much pride in the final product.

2. EXPERIENCE: ONE WAYs team has over 20 years of experience and a proven track record. Their experience ensures that their projects will be done right and with the upmost professionalism. They also use only proven and reputable subcontractors and material suppliers. Their staff also includes a licensed professional engineer and licensed carpenters. Wesley the owner of ONE WAY graduated trade school from North Bennett St. School in order to advance even more his passion for construction and lead employees of ONE WAY graduated trade school at Algonquin College in Ottawa.

3. COMPANY SIZE: ONEWAY focus is on quality craftsmanship, functionality and value. They emphasize hands-on management style and personal attention to clients.

4. OFFICE MANAGEMENT: Besides providing outstanding field work, ONE WAY also completes the management of their projects with the upmost professionalism. Detailed estimating, proposals, permitting, and material/Subcontractor coordination are essential to a successful project. Their full-time office manager assures quick email responses and communication.

5. COST: ONE WAY strives to assure their clients real value for their dollar at a profit sufficient to provide for the well being of their employees. Their detailed proposals ensure clients that there won't be any hidden cost and they know exactly what they are getting.

6. QUALITY: ONE WAY prides themselves with having a strong dedication to the principle that a quality product is its own best form of advertising. Their employees are qualified and experienced craftsman. Quality construction continues after the close of the project and for their customer’s peace of mind, ONEWAY Construction offers an unbeatable 10-year warranty- in addition to our 10 year warranty, you will benefit from manufactures product warranty because of proper product installation- meaning your manufacture’s warranty won’t be voided due to poor installation procedure.

7. SCHEDULE: When ONE WAY starts a project, they commit themselves to get it done in the timeliest manner as possible. They use the latest tools, techniques, and technology to do the job more quickly. By doing their own site work, rough carpentry work, exterior finish work, and interior finish work they have better control of the project schedule and can expedite the project.

8. DESIGN SERVICES: ONEWAY Construction works closely with a great team of professional and dedicated designers, delivering the best services to their customers and bringing their imagination into life. They want the client to be happy with their home or project, now and long into the future. Detailed plans also allow the project to be more precisely estimated and eliminates questions in the field.

9. SERVICE: ONE WAY guides clients through every step of the building process, from design to material discussion, budget to site arrangement. They consider the details of a project from the start-up, preparing the way for a smooth and positive construction experience.

10. SAFETY: ONEWAY Construction is sincerely interested in the safety of their employees, the public, and our operations. They have a Safety Program and their employees are continually trained on safety issues.

Call us today to schedule a free-no obligation consultation.

613-492-1009

info@onewayconstruction.ca

CATEGORIES
General Contractors, Bathroom Renovation, Kitchen Planning & Renovation, and Basement Renovation
SERVICES
Kitchen Renovations, Bathroom Remodel, Basement Remodel, Home Additions, Foundation Repair, General Contracting Services
BRANDS
Schluter, James Hardie, Elite windows and doors, Invisirail, Roxul, Trex, TEC and more...
STYLES
Our style is to our customer's desire.
SPECIALITIES
Kitchen Renovations, Bathroom Renovations, Basement Renovations, Home Additions, Foundation Repair, Decks, Pergolas, Garage additions, custom kitchens.
WEBSITE
http://www.onewayconstruction.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Credit Cards, E-transfers, Cash
LICENSES
Fully Licensed Carpenters
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
10 Year Workmanship Warranty + 25 Year Warranty Roofing Workmanship + Lifetime Foundation Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.