Parent & Associates Inc.

Home Inspection
Ottawa ON K1B 3E7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Home Inspection in Ottawa  >  Parent & Associates Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

49%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Parent & Associates Inc.

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

load bearing wall inspection

Marc came to m home without a ladder to inspect whether a wall was load bearing or not. I provided my own ladder and he spent 3 minutes looking at the wall to conclude that said wall was not load bearing. He did not inspect upper level load above the area in question nor did he inspect the lower level for underpining. He spent more time making sure my cheque was made out to the right counterparty, Suffice to say his cheque was cancelled and he is now threatening me for litigation. I work with lawyers for a living and we had a chuckle with his veiled threats. No service was rendered therefore no payment received. Case closed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The mandate given to me by my client was to examine the second floor structural system in order to determine if a wall which had been removed a few years ago at first floor level was originally a load-bearing wall or a non-load bearing partition wall. I noted that the removed wall was perpendicular to the second floor joists and was supported by the first floor joists. The first floor joist system could not be examined as it was not visible and also inaccessible in the apartment below the client’s unit. The removed wall originally supported framing for a large bulkhead, which contained forced air ducting. It was possible to examine the top end of the original wall studs through a small opening on the side of the bulkhead, where a return air vent was located. Here it was noted that the wall studs had been cut at the level of the bulkhead ceiling. It was also noted that no beam was visible that would normally have been installed for support of the second floor joists if the removed wall had been load-bearing. I told the client that a small opening would have to be created on the side of the bulkhead so that I could come back and examine the second floor joists, at the top of the removed wall, to determine if the joists overlapped or are continuous between a ceiling beam at one end and a load-bearing wall at the other end. Should the joists be continuous, a calculation would then be made upon measurement of their size and spacing to confirm that the removed wall was not load-bearing. The client agreed to create this opening and to call me for a return visit. This would have been done at no extra cost to the client. My investigation was done in a professional competent manner and I would be happy to discuss my methodology with any other engineer which the client may retain to carry out another investigation on site. I had all necessary equipment in my truck including step ladders and would have used mine but the client offered the use of his own step ladder. I spent 60 minutes on site to carry out my investigation and got the impression at that time that the client was satisfied with my services.

Neil Blair in Ottawa
Neil Blair in Ottawa
4 reviews Ottawa, ON

First Review

10/10

Knowledgeable and honest

Eric is knowledgeable, honest, and truly cares about his clients. I mentioned an issue with a water value and he actually took his time and wrote a very thorough response at 2AM. I am very impressed by the dedication he has to his work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Neil, I really appreciate the nice feedback! I'm always more than happy to help in any way I can, and it was absolutely my pleasure to help you as well. Please don't hesitate to contact me again, at any time, if you ever have any questions or need further advice. I am also always happy to visit your home when I'm in your area, if ever there's anything you would like me to look at in person. I wish you all the best, and a wonderful and prosperous new year.

Juudy & Rob in Ottawa
Juudy & Rob in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Home Inspection Prior to Renovations

We were very pleased to have Eric Parent perform a home inspection last week for our 40-year old townhouse. Eric is such a great guy, polite and relaxed - his confidence put us at ease.
Eric’s thorough knowledge and experience was evident as we toured the house. The formal report is thoroughly detailed and easily comprehensible. Eric’s offer to perform a follow-up visit/report at no extra charge once repairs have been effected is most appreciated! We would not hesitate to recommend Parent & Assoc Inc.!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Home Inspection

Had Marc inspect my home prior to purchasing in 2013. He missed telling me that there was asbestos which was easily visible. I called him about 6 weeks back (October 2015) when I discovered this - he said he would send a refund, but did not accept outright blame. Now refund was ever provided. Also, prior to calling I had contacted him by email but two prior attempts to do so were left unanswered. I have since reported this to my realtor who had recommended him.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear client,

Unfortunately we never received your emails due to technical problems with our email system. For that we apologize. As I explained to you, during our subsequent telephone conversation, the asbestos was located within a wall cavity, behind a wall heat register, which was screwed into the wall, and therefore could not be seen as the protocol does not allow for invasive observation and thus we cannot remove screwed-in wall registers.

Regarding the refund, we attempted to contact you several times by telephone in order to get your mailing address, but unfortunately the phone numbers we have on file for you do not work. If you would have called our office, we could’ve quickly and happily rectified the situation by obtaining your mailing address from you, and subsequently we would have immediately mailed you your refund, however you never attempted to reach us beyond the initial telephone call.

I’m sorry you are not satisfied with the service you received. We’ve been conducting home inspections in the Ottawa and Gatineau regions since 1982, and have completed over 30,000 (thirty-thousand) home inspections between myself and Eric Parent. Despite this large number of completed inspections, we very rarely get complaints. Furthermore, we feel it is unjust that you state the asbestos was clearly visible, as it was completely concealed, which I explained to you. Despite the fact that it is a hidden issue and we had no way whatsoever to detect it, and we are therefore not liable, we nonetheless offered to refund your fee out of goodwill, as the satisfaction of our clients is of the utmost importance to us. Yet, you still chose to leave this very negative review, despite failing to contact us at anytime.

Please contact our office at your convenience, in order for us to obtain your mailing address so we can send your refund immediately.

Yours truly,
Marc Parent

Gaelyn from Ottawa
Gaelyn from Ottawa
1 review Nepean, ON
10/10

Home Inspection

Excellent service, from start to finish. They handled a schedule conflict graciously and efficiently.
Eric was vastly knowledgable, and more than that, was able to explain things in a way I could easily understand (I'm a first time home buyer, this was my first experience with a home inspection but not my partner's). He did a thorough inspection and took his time. Not once did it feel rushed or like we skipped something. Every question we asked was met with an informed and confident response.
He even followed up after we didn't take the house.
We'll definitely be calling him for the next one. Thumbs up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
elizabeth from Barrhaven
elizabeth from Barrhaven
2 reviews Ottawa, ON

First Review

10/10

home inspection

I recently bought my first home and had Marc come out to inspect. He was thorough, answered all my questions and was reasonably priced. Provided detailed summary by email within 48hours. Would definitely recommend their services.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.