Design And Conquer Home Improvement Ltd.

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
Hamilton ON L0R
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design in Hamilton  >  Design And Conquer Home Improvement Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

55%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Design And Conquer Home Improvement Ltd.

Average customer rating:
5.3 10 (15 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Smithville, ON
10/10

Thanks

Thank you Josie and Joe. My cabinets look nothing like the originals. You managed my expectations so well and kept me informed throughout the process. Everyone that sees my cabinets loves them. The colour is perfect and I am delighted with my “new” kitchen! Thank you so much, I wish you continued success and all the best for your family.

Was this review helpful?
Tracey in Toronto
Tracey in Toronto
0 reviews Cambridge, ON
1/10

Disappointed

We hired Design and Conquer to refinish our kitchen cabinets after meeting with Josie. Josie is very personable and sold us on their services speaking highly of their process and providing beautiful samples.
Joe is also very friendly and began the work on our kitchen in February 2018. The process involves removing your cabinet doors and finishing them at their shop. Our doors were gone for almost 3 weeks and I was shocked at the state or the project when they were returned to our home. The issues on our doors included hairs and stickers being painted over, fibers under the coats of paint on the majority of the doors, and spots that look to have been missed with the initial coat all together. Our cabinets were also re-hung crooked and the handles were mostly loose. All required tightening or correction. We were shocked that a business would return cabinets to our home in the state they were in. It appeared that very little care was given at their shop to adequately clean and prepare the cabinets for painting, and the work space must have been unclean. I immediately contacted Josie with our concerns and was advised that it was best to wait 2 weeks to allow the paint to cure and that there was always a follow-up visit scheduled to address any issues.
After the two weeks, we had additional complaints, and there were spots already chipping. Joe returned to address the spots and although he did fix some areas, the fixes were a fraction of the actual concerns. Again, he left us with a product in a totally unacceptable state. I will be clear that this is not "nit-picking" about the work as you will see from the pictures below. This was simply unacceptable work. Joe returned a third time after meeting with me to address the entire job and the exact details of our concerns. We were asked to flag the concerning areas and Joe returned to again correct the issues. After this 3rd visit, my kitchen was left in a terrible state. No care had been taken to cover my cupboards, floors or move my kitchen rug. There were paint splatters everywhere. And the actual job was still in an unacceptable and unprofessional state.
After this third attempt to fix the issues, I opted to no longer allow Design and Conquer access to my home. I do not feel that there is a skill level there to correct the issues that they have created.
I will be very clear that we followed the instructions given to us by Joe and Josie at every step. We stayed in constant communication with them and gave them the benefit of the doubt until our patience was pushed to the limits.
We were given a refund of approximately 25 % of the cost of the job as compensation for our dissatisfaction with the job (which Josie has clearly advised voids any warranty on the job).
This experience has been stressful and heartbreaking for us. This is a project we saved to be able to complete and we are left with a finish that looks like we did it ourselves. I truly hope no one else has to go through this experience.

ADDITION: in response to company's "excuses", please take a look at the photo's I attached and decide whether this is a case of problems with wood absorbtion. Who on earth trusts a company to continue to do work in their home after repeated disappointments, flawed workmanship and terrible treatment/respect of my home.?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Each kitchen requires varying levels of follow up- in this case the wood associated with the cabinets continued to absorb after each visit- and needed further attention. While we always communicated with our clients, we were put in a very difficult stressful situation when a client no longer wants us to return-our hands are tied- judgement on the prep and environment in which the cupboards are completed is false in this review. With regards to the warranty, I cannot uphold a warranty when a client clearly communicates that he/she us has involved another business that completes similar work to ours. We are committed to any number of visits that a kitchen requires as long as we have client cooperation- the client was refunded a portion of the project to compensate for the fact that the kitchen still required work and we were empathetic to the fact that the clients were unhappy. But again we were not permitted to continue- we do generalize that kitchens on average are completed in 3 weeks with a touch up visit however please note there are kitchens that require more time and effort depending on the existing cupboards we are presented with-

Happy in Hanover  in Hanover
Happy in Hanover in Hanover
0 reviews Hanover, ON
10/10

We Overpaid On Purpose!

Both Joe and Josie were an absolute pleasure to work with! Josie provided a quote within 20 minutes of me requesting a quote. Josie is very thorough and detailed at explaining their service and process and has a wealth of design expertise to help make decisions easier. Both Joe and Josie were willing to travel over 2 hours to our home to provide their service at no extra cost. Joe was just as pleasant as Josie, answered all questions asked, sent us lots of pictures as he was completing the work in our home and made sure we were fully satisfied with the end result. We fully trusted Joe being in our home and he even got on well with our dog. In the end we are very satisfied with our new kitchen, happy with the cost for their services and even overpaid them which I can honestly say I have never done with a contractor....and they contacted me to say I overpaid and wanted to make sure that was on purpose! A great duo that made us feel comfortable and happy from beginning to end.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

You are a pleasure to work with and well worth the drive! We hope you enjoy your kitchen for many years to come! #happyhanoverkitchen

Tiffany.DeAngelis in
Tiffany.DeAngelis in
0 reviews Smithville, ON
10/10

Kitchen cupboards

Joe and Josie were very easy to work with! They listened to our needs and executed our vision! We had very open commutation with them and they made it easy to discuss any concerns or questions we had! I highly recommend their service!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks Tiffany! You were both great to work with as well! Enjoy your beautiful kitchen!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Design and Conquer came in and refaced my kitchen cabinets in the summer. They worked with me and gave me there honest opinion on what will look good in my home. I have two small kids and again worked around my schedule so we wouldn't be home when they started with the renovations due to the fumes. I am very very happy with the finished product and they are very easy to work with. I have and will recommend this company again to anyone looking for reface there kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks so much Lucy for your kind words and honest feedback. We absolutely enjoyed working with you!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Smithville, ON
10/10

Shelving design and install

Design and Conquer was fantastic to deal with. The wait time for the product was very appropriate and the cost also very suitable.
Josie and Joe were lovely to talk to, and very helpful and knowledgable. Joe even did an additional job while here to install the shelving. Great company to have come into your home.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We strive for this level of service with each client. Have a great day!

Courtney in Hamilton
Courtney in Hamilton
0 reviews Hamilton, ON
8/10

Kitchen Cabinet refinishing

Design and Conquer recently refinished my kitchen cabinets and I love it! They were friendly and informative the whole way through and completed within the promised timelines. I was happy with the price and service.
would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
1/10

Backsplash

We hired this company to demo our backsplash and reinstall. The entire job was done poorly. The tiles were not level or all flush and the grout was applied horribly and discoloured. Overall, poor workmanship. After much complaining, they decided to have the backsplash redone at their cost, including the price of the tiles. I thought that was very fair and professional. This was the only positive thing I could say about this company. Almost two months went by before anything was done. After much communication, things finally got done. A two day job, turned into two months of annoyance and frustration. They wasted so much of our time and we had to look at a horrible backsplash for almost two months. The backsplash was finally redone by someone else, after I mentioned possibly wanting my money back. I'm so happy to no longer have to deal with this company. I'm only happy that they had it redone and even making that happen was a long, drawn out thing. I don't normally write reviews, but I felt the need to share my experience, so no one else has to deal with our situation. Be cautious.

Review has 2 previous versions
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Kitchen Renovation

My family used this company in July 2016. We left a review on their Facebook page regarding our experience and it seems like it was deleted. This is unfortunate as I have become aware that other people have had negative experiences since then. If my review was left on the Facebook page, perhaps other consumers would have been forewarned. I feel compelled to share my story here so that others steer clear of this company.

"I don't normally write this type of post but I want to publicly acknowledge what a disappointing experience we have had with Design and Conquer. We chose this company to renovate our kitchen because of the fantastic reviews, beautiful before and after photos and Joe and Josie's friendly and enthusiastic personalities. However, it has been nothin but frustrating and disappointing, Without getting into a play by play of the past four weeks - it has been filled with poor communication, last minute cancellations, late shows (on one occasion 5 hours late), SLOPPY workmanship (messy paint, poor paint coverage and hardware falling off and unfastened!), unapologetic attitudes and a complete disregard for our family's valuable time and life. We have been empathetic that sometimes there are delays with these types of projects but all we want is for our kitchen to be DONE so that we can move on. We have paid good money to have our kitchen renovated and expected that it would be done in 2 weeks - that is the advertisement on the side of the work truck after all!!! We now have to do the final touch ups ourselves. We were hopeful that today this nightmare would finally end but we had another NO SHOW with no explanation .. no call, text, email, if you are looking to renovate your kitchen look elsewhere!!!

It has now been 6 months and I can add to this review to say that a) I have learned that there prices are actually quite high compared to other kitchen refinishers b) the paint has not been durable and has chipped immensely ... once a week I have to walk around my kitchen to do paint touch ups c) I have heard about other individuals using their services who have been over the moon happy and others who have had equally frustrating experiences as us. I'm not sure how they pick and choose which customers will receive good service but I know we were on their short list ...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Townhouse main floor installation and kitchen cupboards refinishing

At first it was exciting to hear Josie describe the ideas and the work they would do. They botched everything from floor measurements to nicks in every wall, nicked the granite counter, nicked my front door with cupboards that weren't dry yet. They would not answer my calls, took 3 months to complete floor and cupboards in a small townhouse. Joe has no finesse, no eye for detail, and got so defensive he yelled and had to call back to apologize. I was so unhappy with the job that one star is too much.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Design And Conquer Home Improvement Ltd.

Design and Conquer Home Improvement Ltd is a cosmetic home renovation company specializing in Kitchen Cabinet & Furniture Refinishing and backsplash installation work. With over 20 years experience in refinishing and paint, the knowledge of paint chemistry coupled with detailed workmanship makes us experts in the our field. A family ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.