TouchPlow

Snow Removal
Ottawa ON K2C 3E4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Snow Removal in Ottawa  >  TouchPlow
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

44%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for TouchPlow

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Great idea if someone actually shows up

I put in an order for 4 hours and under, nobody showed up - I ended up have to clean the snow myself. I am not able to cancel the job on the app and there is no phone number to call, I hope I will get my $56 back. So disappointed in this service- it’s a good business idea but only if they do what they say they are going to do

Was this review helpful?
Sylvie in Ottawa
Sylvie in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

No one has shown up, driveway still a mess

I call early, at 9:00 a.m. and chose the 4 to 12 hours. I thought that was fair and good time. I got home from work 9 hours later, only to find myself parking on the street for the night. I am a heart attack survivor, so shovelling is a big NO NO. My husband is a commercial driver, so he's just not home till the weekend. He recommended the app, so I tried it. Thought the app was wonderful. I pay, they go, I get a pic of it being accomplished, great concept. There were 50+ plows in the vicinity. Where did they go? Unfortunately, it was a big bust so far on my end, with still a driveway full of snow. All I have on my app is "yup it was claimed, proper address notes, the driver who claimed the job"......and Nothing else. Now what?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Overpriced, poor service, damaged my property.

I guess I was right to be suspicious of an on-demand plow service. They are quite pricey, with costs on a sliding scale for service within 4, 12, or 24 hours. I was in a rush, so chose 4 hour service. They didn't show on time. They finally showed after 5.5 hours, did a crappy job, and damaged my stonework. And still charged me 4- hour rate. In trying to get ahold of company, I found their toll free phone number out of service, and their "24-hour" monitored call centre never responded at all. And when I did let them know of damage, they said they were not responsible, despite instructions on their website for damage claims. So, buyer beware... overpriced and careless service that does not meet their own service standards, shoddy communication, and terrible customer service. Buyers should also be aware that company is owned by the same person as Metro Snow and Ice in Ottawa, an equally poor company. Steer clear!

Was this review helpful?
Gord in Barrie
Gord in Barrie
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

They plowed the wrong driveway!

They plowed once well enough a few weeks ago, but this time they plowed someone else's driveway. The photo was of a 1½ width driveway with a white car on it. We have a single driveway and our red car is in the garage. The phone number on their receipt (844-779-7669) is disconnected.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We will address 'tis with the driver, refund immediately and issue you a Bonus Code. Please email us with the exact address. Many thanks
Touchplow

sferg in Ottawa
sferg in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
9/10

Reliable on demand snow plow service

Normally I shovel my own small driveway, but twice this year I called on TouchPlow via their free app (downloaded from Google Play) to order a plow within a 12 hour window. Both times TouchPlow came through and saved me from backbreaking shovelling. At $30 I found it a very reasonable price and the plow job was solid. You can pay a higher rate ($37.50) if you want the plow job done within 4 hours. I highly recommend this service for anyone who doesn't need a winter season contract, but just a plow here and there.

Was this review helpful?
Jennifer in Ottawa
Jennifer in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

snow removal

I was worried that because they are app based that there wouldn't be any way to contact. I had an email from the owner on the same day discussing who might be best for my particularly difficult job. The contractor showed up within an hour of our conversation and did an amazing job! What a relief! I will never shovel this driveway again. Friends of mine use the Touchplow app all the time and now I will too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Many thanks! While the app is new we are always 'upgrading ' as customers give us the 'constructive' feedback we need. Many thanks for this.
Ken Dale
CEO
Touchplow

Steve in Ottawa
Steve in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Great service

Have used this service in the 2 heaviest snowfalls of the year and have had fantastic results. Love the fact that you can choose the window when you want them to show up, allows me to plan for when the plow fills the driveway. Had a question on billing and Ken took care of it instantly without question.

Thanks @touchplow

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for this!
With any new app their is sometimes confusion about 'how to properly use' the app. We're making great strides (and some app changes each storm) to update and educate as quickly as possible.
Glad you were well serviced and thanks again.'ken Dale
Touchplow

Patrizia in Kanata
Patrizia in Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Job Accepted, Waited 12 hours, Provider Never Showed Up.

My job was accepted and plow had a 4 to 12 hour window to complete job. Never showed up. Notified company and they did nothing to rectify the situation. Did not offer to send another plow, or provide any solution whatsoever. However, I did get an apology but was still left with a driveway full of snow. Time wasted and very frustrating for the customer. Had to take to Kijiji late in the evening to try and find someone to clear the driveway. I was snowed in and needed to get to work the following morning. Thankfully, a man with shovel showed up at 10:00 pm and literally shovelled my entire driveway. I will not use Touch Plow in the future. It's too bad because the concept is great. It just isn't reliable. Can't wait around for hours for a plow to not show. Company needs to come up with a better way to hold providers accountable for their jobs. Perhaps before a provider can accept a job, they must actually 'buy' the job first then company can pay them after the job is completed. I don't know the terms to become a provider but this would be likely reduce the amount of providers who accept jobs then bail.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for this Patricia, as you know imspent many tweets with you trying to solve the issues. It was an exceptionally large storm and unfortunately every Provider was busy with the demand. where the app,operators very well like Uber,during 'peak times' there may not be enough plows. Cars are easier to find then plow drivers during busy times as they are also out taking care of their own contracts. We successfully cleared out thousands of customers this snowstorm with great accolades. I offered you a bonus code for next storm is you emailed the office. Again as per my tweets, apologies.
Ken Dale
President

OttawaUserReview in Kanata
OttawaUserReview in Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Wanted to love it!

I ordered a plow, who arrived on time and did a fantastic job. I was so impressed that I recommended it to two friends. Then I see that they charged me double what they quoted and I can only reach them through contact form on their website. I've since let them know to not book! So disappointed and while I plan to fight the charge, I no longer recommend them - it's not worth the hassle!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We still want you to 'love it'
You dont seem to understand the 'process' here.
We as a policy 'add' on a simple $25 capture fee on top of the quoted price in case the driveway is larger then stipulated by the customer. (This happens when people 'understate' their driveway size to save money and helps protect the Provider so he won't 'drive away' or dispute your job).
This $25 his fee is IMMEDIATELY returned and credited to your card or account when the job is completed, expired or cancelled.
Its normal practice. Similar to any fee for room rental, car rental ect.
Understanding this, since you love the service it would be nice if you could update your review and rating.
Many thanks and hope you (and your freinds) try us again
Touchplow

Tara Campeau in Komoka
Tara Campeau in Komoka
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Do not hire them

TouchPlow
1-877-779-7669
Ottawa
ON
K2C 3E4
CANADA

Yesterday was the first time i used this app. I requested the driveway be plowed and i selected the "within 4 hours" option. The money was taken from my credit card and my request for a provider to plow is still PENDING. My brother in law from Barhaven came into the office today and had the exact same thing happen. The only way to contact them is by email and they don't respond!!! I want my money back and Ill do my driveway myself!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for this....let me explain...
First Tara....you did not enter a house number' when you registered. a Provider did show up actually, wasted valueable time and fuel and 'disputed' the job stating 'no house number' for this job.
I pointed this out to you today actually.
After all this an 'updated rating and review would be nice?)
Secondly,
1) You ordered your plow 'within 4 hours' during peak time....sorry, during a big storm s drivers sometimes ALL get busy....simply book a more reasonable 4-12 hr window and the job will be grabbed,
2) Your 'deposit' is ALWAYS refunded immediately! (Through your bank which can take up to 24 hours depending on your bank)
Tara.....this is a snow app not...not Pizza Pizza...there's a difference and a bit of patience is sometimes required during a bigger storm. 99% of Touchplow requests were cleared.....within the mid range time frames requested.
TouchPlow

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about TouchPlow

North Americas 'On Demand" Snow clearing app. Download, Register in, Order Your Plow and Relax!
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.