HomeStars  >  Plumbing in Toronto  >  Mime Plumbing & Home Repairs
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mime Plumbing & Home Repairs

Average customer rating:
9 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

Steve
Steve
2 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Laundry room renovation and dishwasher swap

Hired Mime plumbing to do a basic laundry room plumbing job, replace an exterior hose bib and install a dishwasher.
The laundry room involved moving a wall drain and a few water supply lines over about a foot or so. The dishwasher was a straight swap for a new one. All the plumbing was there and needed nothing extra. My exterior hose bib needed replacement as it had run its course and had sprung a leak.
My contractors came in to build the bulk heads for the laundry room dry wall. All the plumbing needs to be redone as pipes were placed in the wrong place and were either cut too short or cut too long. The pipes were not secured to the framing at the time of installation. When I use my washing machine the supply lines rattle violently. Framing fastener clips along with temperature foam pads were left and not installed. My entire hose bib turns when I need to use the hose and never secured to the wall.
This job should've only taken a few hours but was 12 hours long. I ended up removing my own dishwasher and installing the new one myself while waiting for this day to end. Strangely, I paid the entire bill which included the dishwasher when it was time to collect. I need to hire another plumber to redo everything that I paid Mime plumbing to do.
On a positive note Gabriel is very pleasant and there were no leaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Good day Steve

I was really surprised to read your review from work that was done August 11th, and I believe that in the last 2 months you must have gotten my work confused with someone else. Firstly, the waterlines that needed to be moved, were more like 2 x 16 feet or more, for the cold and hot waterlines. You claimed that the waterlines needed to be replaced and that the pipes were cut too short or too long. Unless you changed the plans and decided to move the location for the washer and laundry tub, the pipes that were placed by me were in the location you requested. Therefore, I’m not sure what pipes you claim were too long or too short.

You claimed that the pipes were not secure. Due to the basement having the outside walls, you agreed that to avoid winter freezing, we would install the pipes on the interior wall, where you would have to put insulation and drywall. That is why I left you the clamps to place on the pipes after you put the insulation and drywall. You accepted that method. I offered to come back after you put the drywall and insulation, and that I would secure the pipes with the clamps, you said you would do that yourself. I would like to advise you that I took photos of the work that I did and can verify that what you required and given an estimate for, is the job I did.

You claimed that the entire hose bib turns. You agreed to put silicone from outside around the pipe as I ran out of silicone and was willing to come back the next day to put the silicone, but you again said you would do that yourself.

I would like to remind you that the job I did was install 2 x 16 feet of waterlines, that I had to go below the ceiling where there were other pipes and electrical wires, which were in tight and inconvenient locations. I then had to install washing machine connection box to the desired location and connect it to the water and drain. Your existing washing machine drain connection did not have a P-trap, which I modified and installed to the building drain system. I replaced and connected the laundry tub to the waterline and drain system.

With all due respect, I do not believe you are a plumber by trade, and therefore, your estimation of how long a job should take is really easy to say when you're not doing the work. At the time I collected payment for the job you asked me to do, you were aware that I had to do extra work with longer pipes than originally estimated, which took longer because of the complexity of the job. You therefore chose while I was working in the basement to replace the existing dishwasher on your own. You didn’t complain about the cost of the job at that time, nor did you ask me for a reduction for you installing the dishwasher on your own. You never attempted to contact me to discuss any concerns, and this negative review is the first I was made aware of your discontentment. I would have preferred to have discussed your concerns rather than see it via this method.

I am sorry you were so disappointed. By the way, I did not charge you by the hour, I charged you a flat fee for the job.

Gabriel of Mime Plumbing

Willowdale c.
Willowdale c.
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Toilet repair or replacement

Toilet repair or replacement was needed at the beginning of a long weekend. He came within a couple of hours on the Friday evening, and determined (correctly) that a repair wouldn't do. The following morning he had sourced a floor model new toilet (saving us a couple hundred dollars), and carefully installed it in a tight location. He was careful not to dirty the house and cleaned up after the job. The price ($200 labour) was very reasonable, given 2 trips plus finding/collecting the new toilet. If we need a plumber again, we will call him first.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to be able to accommodate you with a new toilet, and score a great price on the floor model. It makes my job easy when I have pleasant customers like yourselves. I would be happy to assist with any future plumbing needs.
Thank you again. Gabriel of Mime Plumbing

Michael in Markham
Michael in Markham
3 reviews Vaughan, ON
1/10

Basement bathroom rough-in

Gabriel either is not familiar with building codes or chooses to ignore them. He initially set a new toilet about 10 inches from a wall. When I asked him about it he said yes, it could be out a little. When I asked what the code calls for he said 13 inches. After the installation I thought it still seemed a little tight so I checked online for the requirements and it turns out minimum is 15 inches. I am now forced to move and reframe a very shallow wall in order to meet this minimum. The installation also required the concrete slab be replaced in the areas he dug for the new drains. In some areas he poured no more that 1/4 inch of concrete and other areas virtually none. When I complained to him about this his response was that we only put a thin coat back when replacing the slab. I had to rip up what he had done and re-cement the entire area. The Ontario building code requires 3 inches for a concrete slab. Needless to say I was extremely disappointed with Gabriel's knowledge and the quality of work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Dear Michael:
I am sorry that you were disappointed in our service. When you contacted me to voice the discrepancy, I offered to come out, free of charge, to fix anything to your satisfaction, but, I did not hear anything further.

We have not experienced such an unhappy customer in all our services, and we are sorry that you were so unsatisfied. Our goal is to make all our customers happy, and we are sorry we weren't able to meet that goal with you.

Jason
Jason
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

New toilet installation

I have had Gabriel do a couple of jobs for me recently. Both of which I am extremely pleased with his work. This particular toilet is well known to be extremely difficult to install. That's why I called Gabriel. It is the one-piece American Standard "Tofino" model. He got the job done in a reasonable amount of time and at a reasonable price. The people complaining on Home Depot's website about this toilet should have called Gabriel. I have had no trouble with the installation or operation of this toilet. And further, he is one heck of a nice honest guy!
HD would have charged me $120 for installation + around $60 for delivery.
Would I use his services again? OF COURSE!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Jason
Thank you so much for such a positive feedback of my work in your home. It is a pleasure when customers are so satisfied with my work. Having customers review my work is very much appreciated, and helps potential customers evaluate my services based on others' opinions.
Thank you again for taking the time to express your opinion and should you have any future plumbing or home repair needs, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Gabriel of Mime Plumbing & Home Repairs

Muhammad K.
Muhammad K.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen & Bath renovation.

It is Kitchen Sink installation. Fans installed in living & drawing. Bath room shower.repair & cocking.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Muhammad. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review with HomeStars. If you need any further plumbing or home repairs, please do not hesitate to contact me. Gabriel of Mime Plumbing and Home Repairs

R. A.
R. A.
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Kitchen Faucet & Value Replaced

Gabriel provides professional service, showed up on time and got the job done!!! We had a leaking kitchen faucet & original valve replaced. Will have him back to install 2 new toilets soon.

Thanks Gabriel

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of my work. Each time a customer takes that time, it helps other customers select a professional for their plumbing jobs. I appreciate the positive feedback!
Gabriel of Mime Plumbing & Home Repairs

a.mobin.rahni
a.mobin.rahni
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Two bathroom sink

I'm very happy with what he done on my unit , he is very proffesional and very friendly , Thanks Gabriel

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello and thank you for your review. I appreciate the time you took to review my work and thank you for the kind words.
Gabriel

Michelle
Michelle
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen - sink and faucet installation

We found an add for Gabriel of Mime Plumbing on kijiji and cross checked his company on homestars. We were looking for someone to hook up a new sink and install a faucet in our rental property downtown. We currently have tenants, so needed someone in ASAP. Gabriel not only promptly returned our call, but also booked an appointment to do the job that afternoon. He showed up downtown on time and did a fabulous job at a very reasonable rate. We would definitely recommend him and will be keeping his number handy for all of our future plumbing needs. Thanks again Gabriel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Michelle
Thank you for your kind words and your review is very much appreciated, and helps promote my business and the high values I place on customer satisfaction. It is important to me that people know that not only is the quality of work important, but, trust and integrity are just as important. If I tell a customer I will be there, than I want them to feel confident that I will show up, and not leave until the job is complete.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I would be happy to assist with any future plumbing or home repair needs.

Gabriel of Mime Plumbing & Home Repairs

maryrosebufalino
maryrosebufalino
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

Installation of dishwasher and kitchen faucet

Gabriel was kind and professional when he installed my kitchen faucet and dishwasher in my condo unit. I had a hard time finding contractors to help because my condo is small and so the jobs aren't very big. Gabriel gave me a fair price and completed the work on time. I will call him again if I ever need a plumber.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Mary Rose:
Thank you for your review. I stand behind my motto of no job is too small or too big.
Gabriel of Mime Plumbing and Home Repairs

ramanujbasu
ramanujbasu
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Pipe leak in bathroom

Gabriel was prompt and knowledgeable. He did the job well and I was satisfied with the results.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Ramanuj
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on my work. I would be happy to assist with any future plumbing or home repair jobs you may have.

Thank you again
Gabriel of Mime Plumbing and Home Repairs

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mime Plumbing & Home Repairs

MIME PLUMBING & HOME REPAIRS MIME PLUMBING IS A LICENCED AND INSURED PLUMBER! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! The best plumbing prices in the GTA! Reliable and Friendly. You won't be disappointed. Welcome! Our expert Emergency Maintenance team ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.