Hb Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Ottawa ON K4A 0G2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winnerBest of 2021winner

Reviews for Hb Pools

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (39 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Lefaivre, ON
10/10

Awesome Pool Company!

We've been using HB Pools for our annual maintenance over the past few years for my 94-year-old mother's pool, yes 94! She loves this company. Responsive, punctual, fair, excellent work habits, and most of all very polite staff, especially Amy and Dennis. Keep up the great work. Highly recommended!

Maria

Was this review helpful?
Tammy
Tammy
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Service

Denis and Amy were super friendly and knowledgeable! It was like having friends over to fix the pool! They were very fast and efficient ! I learned some new tips and tricks! Awesome service! Would recommend them anytime! They are a fierce duo!

Was this review helpful?
Chris Anderson
Chris Anderson
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Repair inground pool leak

We moved here in 2019, and pool was installed 2018. Pool vendor did not want to help us with this problem (slackers) but recommended HB Pools. HB Pools called back timely, was sympathetic and knowledgeable and scheduled a date quickly. Pool Tech was great, knew what he was doing and spent the time to find the problem and fix it. We are going to use HB Pools for regular open/ close and any other services going forward. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Dom004
Dom004
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
3/10

Not the best

HB Pools came to my house for a leak test in July 2021 as I was loosing approximately 1"/24hr in my inground pool. The 2 gentleman on site were very polite and very nice. and answered all my questions. Although they thought they had found the leak in my pool I'm not convinced I got the service I deserved. I did not get what I paid for. They told me I had a pressure leak in one of my lines and that I had a crack in my stairs. They patched the crack in the stairs (temp fix, no warranty) but there was another crack that they neglected to mention or find. The other crack in the stairs was the major issue in all of this. Once I fixed the other crack in the stairs myself with underwater caulking (also temp fix) the water was no longer dropping. HB Pools failed to mention that some pipes would need to be cut to complete the pressure tests. I believe a mention to the client is necessary before modifying any pool equipment. HB Pools proceeded to give me an estimate for the replacement of the two lines going to the skimmer and return. The estimate was lumpsum format without too many specific details. (I have a Hayward 1993 AquaGenie like system), therefore both return and skimmer lines are at the skimmer) The quote I was given for the work seemed a little high, since I was told it wouldn't be too expensive as there would be no concrete to cut, other than behind the skimmer. The estimate came in higher than expected and the details on the estimate included a new skimmer (which was not required for my fix at this time). I proceeded to contact HB Pools to discuss the estimate before moving ahead with the work. I contacted the receptionist and was told the their estimator would get back to me as soon as he could. I've still not received a call back for this discussion. I proceeded to replace the lines myself and purchased all the necessary parts for the job. I now saved $4000+ doing it myself and I am now leak free. I understand this type of work cannot be completed by everyone but always look at alternatives because the first company you speak with may not always be the best. I find it unfortunate that HB Pools did not follow through with better customer service. Unfortunately, I do not recommend HP Pools.

Was this review helpful?
Shawn in Kanata
Shawn in Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Salt cell calibration

HB pools is always on point. They respond to your request for service quickly, and always send qualified workers in a timely manner. They always take a video of the work to show you what’s been done.

Awesome service can’t say enough

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Shawn! Glad you appreciate the follow-up videos :)

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Sand filtering into pool

HB pools rebuilt and repaired my pool $14,000 3years ago.Was pleased.
Called this year because of sand in pool. They replaced sand and sand pipe....$500
Sand still filtering in.........would not return phone calls to help me sort the problem out.
Julie ,in office very patient and professional.
Will not use HB again

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the feedback! Did you try the nylon sock trick we mentioned in our voicemail ? Since the issue seems to persist after the recent sand change was completed we'll gladly schedule a team to assess the work completed. We do have record of our scheduling team leaving a message to reschedule technicians but have not gotten a response from you. We're available to help and will gladly review our work. If we made a mistake, we'll correct it.

John in Mississauga
John in Mississauga
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Pool pump issue

Today I had two HB Pools technicians come to my residence to diagnose and, if possible, repair my pool pump. The pump had been purchased 4 years ago and was no longer under warranty. They quickly diagnosed a faulty display and control board and replaced it. Not only did they replace it, they also set it up they way I wanted it and tested it to make sure their work solved the problem. At my request, Yannick the technician contacted the manufacturer's representative and explained my situation. As a result of Yannick's call, the manufacturer agreed to cover the cost of the control board, which was a very expensive part (over $300), even though the pump was out of warranty. I could not have asked for more. Just another example of the excellent work and customer service I have come to expect from HB Pools. Today, as always, I felt like a valued customer. Would recommend this company and Yannick without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
Suketu
Suketu
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Pool service

Friendly and professional. First time using this company and it will not be my last. Got a call before arrival and knock on the door when the job was done. Whole company from Luke and all have been great to deal with. It certainly made my decision worth repeating again! Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Kevin in Grande Cache
Kevin in Grande Cache
0 reviews Limoges, ON
10/10

HB Pools cares about their customers

HB Pools technicians went above and beyond to solve my pool pumps electrical problem. They took the time to walk me through the problem and also gave me a crash course on problem solving other potential issues and regular maintenance...all while fighting the worst mosquitos in the Ottawa Valley, thanks again HB!

Was this review helpful?
gretar.
gretar.
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Pool opening

Very efficient and pleasant technician. Very knowledgeable. He phoned ahead to let me know he was on his way.
He explained that we needed a new filter, which I shall purchase from HB
pools. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hb Pools

HB Pools has been working hard to build a positive reputation amongst our clients. Although we work primarily with the installation, opening, closing and maintenance of residential pools, we do provide services, such as pool openings and pool closings for corporate pools. We take a lot of pride in doing quality work, and our past customers are our best references–their referrals keep us busy all season long.

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.