Pacesetter Homes

Builders
3203 93 St Edmonton AB T6N 0B2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Builders in Edmonton  >  Pacesetter Homes
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

63%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Pacesetter Homes

Average customer rating:
6.2 10 (224 reviews)

Sort by

MrRoots in Edmonton
MrRoots in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Great Experience

When my wife and I were looking for a house we toured many show homes and visited many builders. Location was a big factor in choosing our house, but the overall experience with Pacesetter at the show home was the deciding factor in going with them. In fact, it wasn’t even close. Once we signed the paper work and began the process of choosing the details of our house we were more than thrilled with the experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review! The fact you and your wife toured numerous show homes and builders before deciding on Pacesetter is the ultimate compliment (and such a testament to our amazing sales staff). Wishing your family many years of happiness in your new home and thank you for choosing to build with us!

Ryan in Edmonton
Ryan in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

New Home in Graydon Hill

From start to finish Pacesetter was awesome David and Victoria in sales were amazing to deal with. They were both very knowledgeable and made purchasing a new home extremely easy. Pacesetter's standards for finishing are of exceptional quality and upgrades were affordable and in both cases offered a wide variety of options. We are very satisfied with the construction of our home and the finishing work. Darin our site forman was also a pleasure to work with, going above and beyond to answer any questions and deal with any concerns that arose. Over-all I highly recommend Pacesetter as a builder!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is fantastic! Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience. I'm totally not surprised to hear that you had a great experience working with David and Victoria - they are rare gems when it comes to their knowledge and how they treat people (regardless of whether someone is a home buyer). Big congrats on your new home and thank you so much!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
8/10

New Build

We are Very happy with our experience building with Pacesetter so far. The home is on schedule for the possession date discussed and the walkthrough we've had was very informative. All the staff that we have dealt with have been helpful and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this! You must be so excited to move in (and it sounds like you're getting close to that point). Wishing you and yours many years of happiness in your new home (and thank you so, so much for choosing to build with us!).

Richard
Richard
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Pacesetter asks you to pay for their mistakes

I purchased this house (job #11048) from Pacesetter. The builder and I signed both the purchase agreement and addendum #1. This addendum #1 shows the details of the options and upgrades of this house. It includes an allowance towards the rear treatment which amount is $5000. The reason to have this allowance was the builder didn't know how much it would really cost for the rear treatment so they made a best estimation of $5000. So this allowance is an estimate amount but I had to pay in front towards the work to the rear treatment. The unused portion should be credited back to me when the builder have the real amount of the cost. Since my procession date is approaching, the builder was sending me the final statement of adjustment in which it includes no adjustment to this allowance. So I contacted the builder to see what is the real cost to the rear treatment. The builder sent me an addendum #2 in which it says there is a credit amount of $3733.8. However, the builder told me that the amount won't be credited unfortunately. Their explanation is "Addendum 1 shows the original allowance for the rear treatment, addendum 2 shows the subsequent credit for the rear treatment. This credit has been built into the price of the home I negotiated". This is so not true because when I initially signed the contract there wasn't this addendum #2, and no one from Pacesetter mentioned or showed this addendum #2 to me at that time, and no one ever mentioned there won't be a credit either. The most important, there is no where on my contract indicating that their won't be a credit. Thus, Pacesetter just should credit the $3733.8 back to me.

The sales manager I dealt with seemed very unreasonable. He admitted Pacesetter made a mistake but he wanted me to give up the credit by signing the addendum #2. Also he said if I don't sign, there won't be a credit either as the credit has been built into the contract price. When I asked him If addendum #2 was signed at the beginning, there won't be a credit to me. Is that correct? He answered YES, IT IS. Then I asked him if the addendum #2 was NOT signed, should there be a credit to me? He answered YES, but in my case NO the bottom line was there won't be a credit forthcoming as that was built into the contract price.

If the builder insisted on that credit has been built into my contract price, can you please show me the signed document that proves it. Otherwise, why can't you just do things right and credit me back the unused allowance.

The sales manager tried to show me the credit has been built into the contract price when they planned the house on their computer. I don't want to judge if the info on their computer can be trusted or not, but even if it is true, the only thing it tells is that the sales manager proved Pacesetter made a mistake when the contract was signed. But do Pacesetter's customers have obligation to bare a loss for Pacesetter's mistake?

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Richard,
I do apologize that there has been such confusion surrounding the original rear treatment allowance that was built into your contract. I would like to clarify that you have absolutely not been charged extra for any of the work pertaining to this allowance. I hope I can help explain more clearly so that you can get a better picture of our process.

When we wrote the original contract, we built a $5,000 allowance into the overall cost of the house for the anticipated cost of the rear treatment. Since no actual work had been completed on the rear treatment at this point, an accurate cost could not be calculated. We built in the allowance to ensure that mortgage approval could be obtained with an estimation of the overall cost of the home.

By the time addendum #2 was created, we now had the true cost of the rear allowance. In this addendum, you will see that you were charged the appropriate totals, as well as being credited back the original $5,000 allowance. This is stated in line number 11: “clear allowance for rear treatment initially stated in addendum #1, -$5,000). You will see that the original charge has been directly reversed in this second addendum.

Once again, I would like to apologize if this was not communicated to you effectively upon the signing of the contract. I hope that my explanation has helped clarify.

justbereal in New Westminster
justbereal in New Westminster
1 review Edmonton, AB
2/10

They dont care about their customer after you took the ownership

They kept promised me that the driveway will be done but never did after a month even though the weather is good enough to do the work.
they really don't care and there is no way you can complain about that!!!

It's so inconvenient and they seem preferred to finish other of their houses because they are currently on sale. So be careful guys!!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi justbereal,

I am very sorry for the delays you have experienced regarding the pouring of your driveway. I have spoken with my Construction Manager and he let me know that these delays were, unfortunately, related to a bobcat (a neighbour’s) that was in the way of the driveway the last time they were in the area.

He did mention that the crews will be doing another round in your area very shortly, and that the Site Supervisor, Romano, would be in touch with you right away to arrange!

I hope that helps. Thank you.

94chevy in Sherwood Park
94chevy in Sherwood Park
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
2/10

Poor Home Builder

When I took possession of the house, there was over 40 deficiencies. It should be noted that I expressed concerns at the time of possession that with so many deficiencies at possession, our concerns and issues would not be addressed and that we would be ignored because Pacesetter got their money and has little incentive to fix things. Unfortunately, this concern is a reality now as I was told that the non-seasonal deficiencies would be cleared up within a month and there are still items remaining and no confirmation or information on when or if things will be fixed (almost three years later). When I discovered that the wrong basement windows were installed (double pane windows instead of triple pane windows), I was told that Pacesetter's estimating did not include these in the addendum (change to the contract) even though the line item said "Upgrade entire home to triple pane windows".

From a moral, ethical and legal standpoint I don't understand how a company can go against what is written in the contract (and the contract was made by Pacesetter).

Please think about using a different homebuilder, I have so many complaints about the way I have been treated since starting to build a home with them and know so many other people that have complaints.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi 94chevy,

I'm very interested in getting more background information on the concerns you've mentioned above. Being that you purchased your home 3 years ago, I know that there have not only been many building codes amended in that time, but also changes to the organization structure of our warranty department since you would have been in close contact. If you feel there is anything we can do to assist you at this point, please feel free to email your job number or current address as well as the details of your complaint to pacesettersales@qualico.com. We certainly do not want you to feel unsupported at this stage.

Kyle in Fort Saskatchewan
Kyle in Fort Saskatchewan
1 review Fort Saskatchewan, AB
10/10

Pacesetter row home

We were a first time home buyer. And stumbled apon this house. Jessica was our rep and she was very helpful the whole experience. Answered all my questions very quickly and even after hours. We had multiple walk throughs. Would recommend this company

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kyle,

We are overjoyed to have had you stumble across what turned out to be your brand new home! It's comforting to know that Jessica was able to ensure you felt supported through your first home buying journey, and we are happy to continue to provide support to you as you settle in. Here's to many happy memories to come.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Professionalism at its LOWEST. They will take your money and Hide!

Basically, My husband and I have been trying to build with Pacesetter for the past 9 months. Our lot still has a for sale sign on it and to date, it still shows the lot is available on the community map. Best of all, we have already put down our deposit 3 months ago to get started. We have been told our house would be ready by August. Then September/October. Now, they are telling us March 2019. When it comes to communication, the area manager does not respond to us, the Supervisors do not answer our calls or respond to texts or VMs and we have called Head Office to talk to someone in charge and they tell us they will ensure the supervisor calls us because they don’t know the story and make you feel like your time and money is not valuable. During these 9 months we have repetitively asked "what are the next steps to building this house?" well no direction was given and lots of miscommunication between the area manager and supervisor. We asked how long after our deposit is given to them will they start building or even digging a hole in the ground? We were told it would take 3 months to get permits to start digging! 3 months later nothing is happening. Next, we were told we need to go into Design Centre to finalize our blue prints or else they cannot start building. Well, we were not told to go to the Design Center or that the Design Centre affects our blue prints, after our deposit was given. The kicker? Once we DID go to Design Centre we were told we owe an additional 20K on top of the house price. Everything we chose at the Design Centre was discussed 9 months ago and we were given an allowance. We tried to go over the paperwork with the supervisor and it was not organized one bit. I even asked, “Has anyone reviewed this prior to us looking at this?”……. And now, we are sitting at almost 3 weeks not being able to communicate with ANYONE from pacesetter. It’s very frustrating when you give someone A LOT of money, and they are supposed to work for YOU, yet you feel you’re working for THEM. Another kicker? You are constantly told you are “High Priority” and that they “understand your frustration.” Do they really though? At this point I feel the media would love our story to share with the public. In our case, we have no choice but to get a lawyer, because what else are you supposed to do when you cant get a hold of anyone to help you? I do NOT recommend this home company. It seems they like the game Hide and Seek......and trust me, your the one seeking.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Private User,
To begin, I want to let you know that I have taken the feedback you have provided and have consulted my Management team on the issues you’ve noted above. I’d like to start by helping to clarify why some of the discrepancies mentioned have taken place.

Being that you initially purchased your home through ReidBuilt Homes, we have faced some delays in beginning the project due to the transition of your lot into receivership, and therefore its availability. Although we have done our best to keep these delays to a minimum, we do apologize that the timeline to completion has been extended as far as it has.

In regards to the additional cost owing on the build, this is due to the difference in specifications between ReidBuilt Homes and Pacesetter Homes, as well as upgraded options selected at DesignQ. While your original cost was estimated using ReidBuilt specifications, I do hope you can understand that Pacesetter Homes has its own original set of specifications that each home is built it to as a standard. This is how we ensure quality in the final product.

You’ve mentioned experiencing poor communication in the past three weeks since your Area Manager has been out of the country. This is completely unacceptable on our part and I have to apologize that we were not able to provide better support for you since she has been gone. As a result, I have asked that our Vice President get in touch with you today to discuss some of your frustrations. You can expect to hear from him by the end of the day. I do hope that you are able to reach an understanding after that phone call.

Scott in Edmonton
Scott in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
9/10

New House Pacesetter

Amazing Job Pacesetter, especially Sunny Kang, they gave us great updates on the houses progression, also Bill the foreman was a huge help and took alot of time to show us the house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Scott,

Sunny is one of our most recently promoted Area Managers and we are so happy to be receiving such positive feedback from his clients! We have enjoyed watching him move his way up through the ranks and truly admire his dedication to his craft as well as the care he takes with each and every home owner. We appreciate you sharing!

The Dringenberg’s in Edmonton
The Dringenberg’s in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Amazing service!!

Justin Batiuk was absolutely amazing to deal with. He was very down to earth and easy going. We never felt pressured and he always went above and beyond our expectations. Justin was very transparent- we never felt there was an alterior motive. He was very knowledgeable and when there was something he did not know he always got back to us with the information we needed right away. He was also super accommodating - he did what he could to work around our schedule. Would highly recommend Justin with pacesetters!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Another shining example of how Justin's care and compassion can truly make a world of difference when it comes to the home buying journey. We couldn't be more proud of the effort he puts in on a daily basis to expand his knowledge base and make his clients feel comfortable and accommodated. Thank you so much for sharing your experience!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Pacesetter Homes

Pacesetter Homes

CATEGORIES
Builders
WEBSITE
https://yourpacesetter.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1998
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
136
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2-5-10 Alberta New Home Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.