Walcher Brothers Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Edmonton AB T6C 3E8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Landscape Contractors & Designers
Walcher Brothers Landscaping
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Walcher Brothers Landscaping

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

Jacqueline in Edmonton
Jacqueline in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Beware

Lots of issues with the way this company operates. We hired them to landscape our front and backyard and ran into lots of communication related issues that made the experience quite stressful. We had a similar experience to the others who have posted recently.

Additionally, I should mention that they hired an external carpenter to build privacy screens etc. We were recently contacted by him to let us know he had still not been paid by Walcher Brothers for the great work he did our yard (the job finished 6 months ago). According to him...their initial cheque to him bounced. WB told him it was because we had failed to pay them, then they just flat our stopped responding to him. This is obviously untrue and totally defamatory as we paid all of our invoices on time. Sadly, I was not surprised to hear this after our interactions with this business.

I could not in good faith recommend their services. Be aware they mentioned that they were planning on changing the name of their business, so keep an eye out for Susanna Walcher and Co.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for reaching out to us. I know its not a comfortable feeling to have to write reviews like this. We enjoyed working with you early this season, I do know we ran into a few communication issues due to changes in trees and shrubs being purchased and installed. We did try to respond and work with you through that process, but I feel that you were not interested in coming to the table to talk to us anymore after that. We are not perfect, but we do our best to communicate. As for the invoice you mention, it has been paid, since this incident with a sub-contractor we have decided not to use anyone that is not in house. This exact job is the reason we made the switch. I do appreciate the feed back, even if it is negative. Thank you!

Kyle Rossiter in Edmonton
Kyle Rossiter in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Welcher Brothers would be a more appropriate name

Susanna was very hard to reach as she does not give out her cell phone number. Once we paid for the work we discovered that we did not pass our landscaping inspection, as they did not fully read the requirements for the area, or perhaps didn't read them at all. We also had a dying tree. We were told that the repairs/replacement weren't in the original "scope of work". After two weeks of semi regular emails they started ignoring me completely and after three weeks of unanswered emails and voicemails I received a call from a "friend" trying to mediate. I explained my simple request, we had spent $36,000 after all and expected to pass our neighbourhood's requirements, sadly, after 4 days, nothing has even been proposed by them. Always more excuses with them and I am now forced to repair it myself, at my expense, if I wish to get my landscaping deposit back in 2018. They also damaged my neighbour's fence while accessing my yard. It required a single board to be replaced, they would not respond to his emails and when he spoke with Susanna, she said "no we won't be fixing it". Avoid them at all costs. Terrible customer service and average workmanship by their employees (our turf is very lumpy with many visible seams) at best.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kyle, one of the reasons that I do not give my personal cell phone number out to people, is that sometimes they dont understand boundaries. One of the most important things for me, is that there is respect for everyone involved in the project. This includes respect for you, myself, labourers etc. We did our utmost to communicate with you, but it came to a point where I couldnt send anyone to site because you are a bully. We went above and beyond and used a business coach to try to mediate some of the outstanding issues, but it didnt work out. We repaired all the issues listed in your complaint. Thank you!

Eric W. from Edmonton
Eric W. from Edmonton
4 reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

Disappearing act!

I scheduled an initial consultation with Suzanna and we met at our rental property and I described what I wanted done and the problems we have with grading issues and how our garage flooded sometimes when it rains. She gave me some good suggestions and an idea of what they might do. She asked me to email her the RPR and she would get back within two weeks with a quote and some ideas and options to consider. After more than two weeks, I emailed Suzanna and left voice mail messages and nobody got back to me. Nearly two months later still nothing. They simply disappeared! I'm not going to spend another minute chasing after a company for my business. Thanks for wasting my time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Eric,

Thanks for giving us this important criticism, we always value this and we are able to learn from it. We did not do a good job in following up with you, I am sorry. We had two major changes this year, first we moved offices, and we also had a transition in staff, and during that time we lost track of you, our customer. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will make sure this doesnt happen again. Thank you.

Susanna

Louise from Edmonton
Louise from Edmonton
3 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Small city backyard landscaping and hardscaping project

Last fall I met with Susanna at my home to discuss my desire to do something with our small city backyard. I instantly liked Susanna and felt comfortable hiring Walcher Brothers to design and create my backyard. She came up with a design that was even better than what I was thinking about. Through no fault of theirs, I had to cancel the project. There were no problems with cancelling the project and receiving my deposit back. Once I'm prepared to go ahead with the plans, I will not hesitate contacting Walcher Brothers again.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Louise! Im excited for when you get your new house! Looking forward to working with you then :)

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Quality work

Working with Susanna and Walcher brothers has been a real pleasure. Their work has been professional and artistic, very high quality work. The transformation was beautiful.
Looking forward to working with them again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you!

Gray's in Edmonton
Gray's in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
8/10

Landscaping

We met/heard about Walcher Brothers through the Edmonton Home Renovation Show. We signed up for our free consultation and had our initial meeting within a week.

Susanna was very informative… she listened to what we were looking for but also gave some excellent suggestions! She came back with a drawing and quote very quickly. The drawing/design was a “base plan” so we were able to make modifications and additions throughout the entire project!

Alex takes great pride in his work, and it shows! He was always willing to make any slight changes we asked and was very helpful answering any questions we had during the project.

The only negative, would be a few communication issues we had. In fairness, this was mainly due to them being short staffed due to illness/injury.

In the end, we are so pleased with the finished product! We can’t wait until next summer when we can enjoy/celebrate with our friends and family in our backyard Oasis.

I would recommend this company to anyone looking to complete any type of landscaping project.

Thank you again Susanna and Alex!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this! We really appreciate all feedback. I really enjoyed working with you this year! Looking forward to seeing you guys in the spring :)

Tessa from Edmonton
Tessa from Edmonton
5 reviews Edmonton, AB
2/10

Frustrating

I did my homework, got 2 quotes and used Homestars to help choose this company. I got a beautiful plan for our yard re-do and was impressed with what I saw. I know that the weather last summer was bad, but our estimated start date was pushed over 5 weeks back and the work stretched out from August until October, due to snow, and was finally finished in May this year. When work was underway, there was VERY poor communication between the guys who were working on the site and whoever was running the show. I don't believe the work crew had the plans as I had to draw out the retaining wall shapes and twice requested the shape of the large bed be fixed. My hubby and I changed it after the crew left. It seemed they were short staffed and using people who had little experience. The retaining wall was built right over a very visible irrigation sprinkler, the sod was poorly laid and uneven, our weeping tile was partially pulled out and we ended up trenching and replacing it ourselves (was told we didn't need it but our lower yard started draining onto our pathway right away) Had to show one guy that the sod roller needed to be filled with water in order to properly fix the sod down - our irrigation systems were damaged. HOWEVER Alec did fix it for no extra costs and put in a good drip system. We only had to dig out 3 sprinkler heads that had been covered over with sod by his crew- ha. The crew rarely ever cleaned up after themselves and one afternoon we spent at least one hour shovelling off and spraying the sidewalk behind our home as it was covered in a lot of sod and dirt and VERY MESSY - neighbours walking by were complaining. Visited 2 times by by-law officers due to complaints.
I know Susanna and Alex were apologetic and when Alex was there things went MUCH smoother. However, I can not recommend this company because most times Alex wasn't supervising and it was really frustrating to go through the whole process. We called it quits with our plan before it was complete. They charged us about $6800 instead of the $10 grand of our original plan. My spouse and I completed the garden beds ourselves.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tessa, Thank you for letting us know. We appreciate this kind of feed-back. We struggled with labour shortages and weather last year, and try as we may we couldnt make that up to you. I am sorry that we let you down. Please know that this year, we dont leave people on site by themselves. So Jobs like yours help us make improvements. Thank you for letting us repair the irrigation, and I do hope that by reducing the bill we were able to make a bit of difference. Have a great summer!

Cindy W from Edmonton
Cindy W from Edmonton
8 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Complete back yard restoration/replacement

FABULOUS work. My back yard was devastated last year after a sewer line collapse that resulted in my patio having to be dug out. Susanna helped me design a completely new space, provided her expertise and advice, installed gorgeous paving stones, modified my fencing, regraded and replaced the soil/sod for the entire space - it's really beautiful, and with the cedar mulch she recommended, it smells terrific too. We had some scheduling issues last summer (if you recall, the rains were torrential and constant), but they were always in touch and watching the weather for a window to be able to work in. We now have an outdoor space that is comfortable, shady in some places and sunny in others, peaceful and pretty - I can't wait to actually enjoy it this year!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks Cindy! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.. New trees incoming!

A in Edmonton
A in Edmonton
1 review Fort Saskatchewan, AB
10/10

Spring cleanup front yard

They came in to clean up my front yard for me. Great quick work. While there they dug out a section of my front lawn to create a garden. Said garden is now filled with wonderful flowers and I love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you! The flowers look amazing :)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Edmonton?