Primetime Services

General Contractors
122 Hillman Marsh way Ottawa ON K1T 0B1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Primetime Services

Average customer rating:
5 10 (2 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON

Small Kitchen Reno

Had a small kitchen reno done and was not happy with the quality of work of the finished result. Nail holes and other spots not sanded before being painted, a piece of baseboard chipped when cut but still installed, gobs of caulking left on a corner baseboard joint, taped corner bead not applied tight enough making an area that bulged as well as the mudding not feathered smoothly before painting and gaps and uneven heights left in the sub-floor that can be seen and felt under new laminate flooring.
When I attempted to get things resolved communication broke down. Twice we agreed to dates for him to come and fix the issues and twice he cancelled. Once was an hour before and once was a no show. When asked about the no show I was told he went out of town for the long weekend and that family came first. He was only fitting me in on weekends and after three weekends without anything being fixed, I wanted my kitchen/dining room back so pressed for a date. All I got was hostility and anger so I stopped communication and filed with the Better Business Bureau.
For 6 weeks, he argued his work was fine and made up 'alternative facts' to cover for it. I asked for a 20% refund three times and he denied it and continued to make up 'alternative facts'. I decided to end the case as it was getting me nowhere and hired someone new to fix the issues. Then out of the blue I get a notice from the BBB and he has offered to fix the issues but is not available for another 6 weeks. I had already moved on and waiting 3 months to fix his work was not acceptable anyway.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry you have had this experience , please contact me personally at your earliest to discuss how to deal with this issue thanks

NC - Ottawa
NC - Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON

First Review


Built a shed attached to garage

I got in touch with Don and Sandy from Primetime Services when after nine months another contractor I hired created a complete disaster when trying to build a proper lean-to shed attached to my garage. A few other contractors were not even willing to come out to quote the job after I explained the trouble I was having. The previous contractor was unable to get the proper permit required and what he had already built was falling apart and led to trouble with the city in trying to get a permit after he had already started and he wasn’t able to get proper drawings for the shed or for the grading.
When I contacted Don at Primetime Services he came out that same day with an Engineer, took a look at what was built so far, and told me the shed had to be re-built from the beginning as it was unsafe and literally falling apart.
I explained what I wanted built and within a couple of weeks I had the proper drawings for the shed, grading and the permit approval from the city.
Don started dismantling the shed the other contractor started, saving most of the material already used to cut down on costs. All along the way Don was very easy to communicate with, as I had many questions which he answered, offered advice, and explained the next steps in the build and what the building inspector would need to inspect before continuing (all inspections passed on each visit)..
Don completed the shed as we originally wanted, it is a solid structure and we are very happy how everything turned out and it looks great. He also taught me a few things in how to build things right. If I had contacted Primetime from the beginning I would have saved myself some aggravation, time and money.
Don and Sandy were easy to work with and when talking with them it was like talking with friends. I wish all contractors were this honest and hard working. We will definitely be contacting Primetime Services for our next project, I offer my full recommendation.
I did not offer a cost as the price would seem incorrect as to what I paid/lost to the other contractor

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a complete pleasure to help you out Nando & Lucie,&would do it again in a heartbeat. It was sad what the other contractor had done to you ,& I am not only glad you chose me to get it done right ,as well we became good friends,&I am always here for you enjoy your day and God Speed -Don Finlayson

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Primetime Services

GENERAL CONTRACTING & RENOVATIONS, Kitchens, Bathrooms, Decks, Man Caves, Design Builds, Fire/ Wind/ Water Restoration, Foundations , Rec-Rooms -Estimates always Free ~ Covering all of Canada - our job is to save you money
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Ottawa?