Stone Deck Landscapes

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Ottawa  >  Stone Deck Landscapes
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Stone Deck Landscapes

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (33 reviews)

Sort by

Happy BC customer in Kelowna
Happy BC customer in Kelowna
1 review Kelowna, BC
10/10

Excellent product & customer service

We were looking at having some landscaping done in our back yard, so we turned to the internet for help. We found Stone Deck Landscapes with excellent reviews which was a key factor for us. We were very interested in their Silca System Grates or Paverdeck, offering excellent extended warranties and a maintenance free finished product. We called and spoke to the friendly staff and after spending much time with us both on the phone and over emails it was determined that what we were looking to do would not be as cost affective if we used either the Silca System or Paverdeck. They then referred us to another contractor for help with our project. It’s not often today that you find this kind of honesty and a company who puts customer service ahead of profit.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the kind words! As great as the Silca System and Paverdeck products are, we will never recommend them if they are not right for our customers.

10/10

After the fact Customer Support

After Greg from StoneDeck installed a paverdeck patio and stone pavers were installed over it, the city of Ottawa informed me that I required a professional engineer to certify that the installation met the necessary requirements associated with a steel beam structure and if necessary, support a site visit.
Greg had taken a number of photos to document the installation and communicated with paverdeck in an attempt to find a middle ground that would avoid the cost of a professional engineering certification. Ultimately the city of Ottawa persisted on a professional engineering certification. Greg provided the photos he had taken during installation along with other documentation to paverdeck engineering. In the end a professional engineering report was provided by paverdeck that was acceptable to the city and no additional site visit was required.
I am extremely impressed and appreciative of StoneDeck’s (Greg) after-installation customer support.
Doug

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Doug! We are glad we were able to help and that it all worked out in the end. Stone Deck Landscape stands behind all of it's products and we are confident you will enjoy your new Paverdeck for many years to come.

Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

New stone deck

We were looking for elevated deck options for our new home and wanted something maintenance free. We found Stone Deck Landscapes with offered several maintenance free stone deck solutions. The staff was very knowledgeable and professional directing us towards Paverdeck, a steel decking system with we would cover with stone. The price was very reasonable and with a life time warranty it made our decision simple. Product was delivered when promised and working with it was easy, if you can build a wood deck you can build a Paverdeck. Very happy with our new deck, would highly recommend Stone Deck Landscapes and their product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, we are happy the Paverdeck system met your expectations.
Enjoy your new maintenance free stone deck.

Barry in Greely
Barry in Greely
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

New patio and elevated stone deck

We had a 20 year old patio and an elevated cedar deck that was in constant need of repair.

We contacted Stone Deck Landscaping and came up with a plan to install a walkway from the front of the house that then connected to the new patio that is below the new elevated stone deck.

We then had to chose which system to use and ended up selecting the Silica system. The silica grates are placed on the prepared ground with the patio stones placed on top. The grates are then connected together and work like a floating floor.

The elevated deck has the silica grates screwed into the wood frame of the deck. The porcelain tiles are then glued into place.

The construction phase for the project lasted for about 3 weeks from start to finish which included some down time because of rain.

We now have a new maintenance free stone walkway and patio and an elevated stone deck with composite wood cladding, porcelain tile floor deck with an aluminum railing with fibreglass steps

My wife and I cannot thank Greg from Stone Deck Landscaping enough for giving us a beautiful patio which we will enjoy for many years to come.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and the hospitality you showed our Stone Deck Landscapes crew! We are very pleased you like your new Silca System patio and deck and we know you will appreciate the maintenance free feature of your new deck.

MyHome52
MyHome52
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Paverdeck

I contacted Paverdeck for information about having an elevated deck installed and I was passed onto Stone Deck Landscapes. Stone Deck Landscapes referred me to a Paverdeck Authorized Contractor. I would not recommend Stone Deck Landscapes in terms of them recommending contractors due to my personal experience with the Paverdeck Authorized Contractor.

Issues with deck: Deck size incorrect, a peice of steel panel not cut flush to concrete sill and the the paver cannot cantilever on this part of the deck, water membrane not installed properly and water leaking under deck, broken pavers where they drilled the posts in, and safety issues. I was supposed to be given a field report for the helical piles that I needed to give the city inspector. The report shows info about how deep the piles are in the ground, torque, how much weight each piles supports, etc (enginerred drawings show for 3500 pounds each post). This was suppose to be given to me a day after the piles were installed. I was asking for them for two weeks and i was given excuses and the contractor and engineer refused to provide them to me. Even after I emailed the city inspector and copied the engineer and contractor about the field report, still nothing. I believe they were not installed according to the engineer drawings which is why they were never provided. The railing posts were suppose to be installed with 4 bolts going through the pavers and steel, then an extra piece of steel was suppose to be mounted under with washers and nuts. The contractor installed some posts with 2 bolts, others with 3, some not even penetrating the steel and no extra steel, washers or nuts. I sent the contractor an email questioning him about the installation of the railings and he told me the engineer approved everything structurally. The engineered drawings show that they should have been installed according to the steel manufacturers specifications, which they were not.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. Parusis

I want to be clear on the situation surrounding your review to ensure full disclosure.

You contacted Stone Deck Landscapes looking for information on the Paverdeck product and a possible contractor. We referred you to our list of Experienced Contractors on our website. You contacted two of them for consultation selecting one of them to do the work and in September you emailed us praising the work of the contractor you selected.

Subsequently, you identified some issues with your deck. The contractor was very clear that they were more than willing to address the deficiencies. However, you proceeded to make unreasonable demands of them insisting the entire deck be taken apart and replaced with all new materials. When your contractor declined your unreasonable request, you then proceeded to contact Stone Deck Landscapes as well as the Paverdeck manufacturer directly, looking for assistance.

Both Stone Deck Landscapes and Paverdeck verified that the contractor was willing to deal with the deficiencies identified, but both companies confirmed it was unnecessary and unreasonable to take the entire deck structure apart and replace it with all new materials.

Unsatisfied with this, you then gave the contractor an ultimatum of either replacing the deck with all new materials or remove the structure and return your money. The contractor chose the latter option, the structure was removed, and all your money has been refunded.

Stone Deck Landscapes, Paverdeck, and the contractor you selected have a proven track record of quality work and customer satisfaction. It is unfortunate you insisted on making unreasonable requests, as I am confident you would have been enjoying your beautiful new stone deck at this time.

Alin in Gloucester
Alin in Gloucester
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Large balcony / rooftop terrace

Very professional service. They demonstrate their understanding of the products, and provide the right advice to get things done properly. Definitely not cheap, but the value for the money is very good. The work took a little longer then expected, but the results are very good. We are looking the get them to do some more work for other mini projects around the house. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Alin, Thank you for your review and your kind hospitality while we were on site. We know you will enjoy your new Bison Pedestal supported Porcelain tile deck extending the living space of your beautiful home.

10/10

Circular Paverdeck supply and install

Greg and his team delivered and installed the materials in a timely and very professional manner. He was also helpful with support answers prior to and after the install. After a long day he and his team did a great cleanup and even removed some junk materials from someone else's work.
I couldn't recommend more highly.
Doug

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Doug thank you very much for your review and your hospitality towards our crew. It was a pleasure working for you and we enjoyed creating your round Paverdeck.

Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Stone work, stone decks, stone patio general contracting

We have been very impressed by competitive price for such high-end custom work. The service was responsive, and the quality perfect. If you are trying to impress, if long-term durability and quality is your target...these are the folks to contact. They have good suggestions, a keen eye for detail, and seek to has long-term Customers and fans.

I strongly recommend this supplier, and general contractor.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the kind review! Stone Deck Landscapes always strives to have the most competitive pricing and the very best customer service possible.

H&V in Toronto
H&V in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

2nd Floor Deck

Greg and his crew were very timely, courteous, and they did a fantastic job adding porcelain tile to our 2nd floor deck!! We are very pleased with the final result!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review of Stone Deck Landscapes! We know you will enjoy new Bison Pedestal deck....if it ever stops raining.

Rick P from Calgary in Ottawa
Rick P from Calgary in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Elevated Deck

We were asked to provide a review for Stone Deck Landscapes and are happy to oblige. We have been renovating our home over the last year with the project ending with our deck. We wanted something that we wound not need to worry about refinishing and that would last the constant changing weather here in Calgary. We found Paverdeck (a Canadian company) and it was exactly what we were looking for. Initially we were a bit frustrated because the local dealers had no product in stock and seemed to want to change our design to suit their needs. This was until we found Stone Deck Landscapes. Their customer service was fantastic spending a lot of time working with us to get us the exact design we wanted. They had stock and their pricing was the cheapest by far. Reach out to them if you are looking for great service and product. We love our Paverdeck, thanks Stone Deck!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Rick, Thank you for your review - we were happy to work with you and know you will love your Paverdeck. With Paverdeck's life time warranty and being maintenance free, you can can spend time enjoying your new deck as opposed to maintaining it!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.