Stone Deck Landscapes

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Ottawa  >  Stone Deck Landscapes
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Stone Deck Landscapes

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (38 reviews)

Sort by

danielgladu in Nepean
danielgladu in Nepean
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Amazing Stone Deck

Wanted to do a stone deck a couple of feet of the ground in our backyard which has limited access. We found the Paverdeck kit - a perfect solution for us, a do-it-yourself kit which comes in components. Got the kit from Stone Deck Landscapes, the guys there provided great customer service and instructions on how to build the thing. Excellent price and comes with a 30 year warranty and the guys from Stone Deck Landscapes even carried it into the yard for us.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, we know you will enjoy your Paverdeck for many years to come.

Happy Customer in
Happy Customer in
1 review , ON
10/10

Excellent customer service, amazing product!

We were looking for a maintenance free solution for our above ground pool deck that could be easily installed, and we found it with Silca System grates. Stone Deck Landscapes provided excellent, quick and efficient customer service and their technical guidance was much appreciated. The price is excellent, delivery was quick, and the result is amazing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review, we are glad you are happy with your new Silca System Deck and know you will have many summers of maintenance free enjoyment.

Evan in Steinbach
Evan in Steinbach
1 review Steinbach, MB
10/10

beautiful stone deck with Silca Grate

fantastic product and the guys were very helpful with all my technical questions. I would highly recommend buying Silca grate for your project. I will be a repeat customer. Thanks

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review. Silca System Grates are a fantastic product for creating a maintenance free stone deck and are extremely easy to work with.

Jeff Froats in Ottawa
Jeff Froats in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Paverdeck installation

Good morning, I first contacted Greg about a year ago with regards to finding out more information about the Paverdeck system and replacing my existing wood deck. Greg was very helpful and patient with us to work through our design and helped with our decision between traditional concrete piles and the helical screw piles, which we decided to use the screw piles and was a great decision, now I have ideas for other plans. Greg met us outside of normal working hours at his shop as we had drove from Kingston to Greely to pick up our building materials and then he was able to accommodate us with the installation build as our schedule was squeezed with our landscaper and interlock installer. thank you Greg

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review. We know you will love your new Paverdeck system providing a solid maintenance free base for your stone deck. We hope you will enjoy lounging on your new Paverdeck this summer.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Back Yard Solutions Consultation

We came across Stone Deck Landscapes while researching installation options for our back deck. We got in touch with the company and recieved initial guidance over the phone, that then resulted in a timely consultation at our property with Greg.
Throughout the discussion with Greg we were able to not only get clear input and professional guidance, but we also felt that we were speaking with someone who listened and heard our concerns. Greg walked us through the Silca and Paver Decks systems, and provided us with additional information that allowed us to inform ourselves further.
This is the approach that appealed to us, the ability to discuss and understand the options we have.
At this time we are still in the design and planing stages for the projects on our property, and expect to take advantage of the methodologies Stone Deck Landscaping is providing.
Thank you Greg again for the time, expertise, and advice on how to best approach the projects. Thank you above all for the direct and professional approach.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review, we here at Stone Deck Landscapes pride ourselves on our customer service. Whether you select Paverdeck or Silca System, we are certain you will be very satisfied with the product and the end result.

Happy BC customer in Kelowna
Happy BC customer in Kelowna
1 review Kelowna, BC
10/10

Excellent product & customer service

We were looking at having some landscaping done in our back yard, so we turned to the internet for help. We found Stone Deck Landscapes with excellent reviews which was a key factor for us. We were very interested in their Silca System Grates or Paverdeck, offering excellent extended warranties and a maintenance free finished product. We called and spoke to the friendly staff and after spending much time with us both on the phone and over emails it was determined that what we were looking to do would not be as cost affective if we used either the Silca System or Paverdeck. They then referred us to another contractor for help with our project. It’s not often today that you find this kind of honesty and a company who puts customer service ahead of profit.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the kind words! As great as the Silca System and Paverdeck products are, we will never recommend them if they are not right for our customers.

10/10

After the fact Customer Support

After Greg from StoneDeck installed a paverdeck patio and stone pavers were installed over it, the city of Ottawa informed me that I required a professional engineer to certify that the installation met the necessary requirements associated with a steel beam structure and if necessary, support a site visit.
Greg had taken a number of photos to document the installation and communicated with paverdeck in an attempt to find a middle ground that would avoid the cost of a professional engineering certification. Ultimately the city of Ottawa persisted on a professional engineering certification. Greg provided the photos he had taken during installation along with other documentation to paverdeck engineering. In the end a professional engineering report was provided by paverdeck that was acceptable to the city and no additional site visit was required.
I am extremely impressed and appreciative of StoneDeck’s (Greg) after-installation customer support.
Doug

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Doug! We are glad we were able to help and that it all worked out in the end. Stone Deck Landscape stands behind all of it's products and we are confident you will enjoy your new Paverdeck for many years to come.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

New stone deck

We were looking for elevated deck options for our new home and wanted something maintenance free. We found Stone Deck Landscapes with offered several maintenance free stone deck solutions. The staff was very knowledgeable and professional directing us towards Paverdeck, a steel decking system with we would cover with stone. The price was very reasonable and with a life time warranty it made our decision simple. Product was delivered when promised and working with it was easy, if you can build a wood deck you can build a Paverdeck. Very happy with our new deck, would highly recommend Stone Deck Landscapes and their product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, we are happy the Paverdeck system met your expectations.
Enjoy your new maintenance free stone deck.

Barry in Greely
Barry in Greely
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

New patio and elevated stone deck

We had a 20 year old patio and an elevated cedar deck that was in constant need of repair.

We contacted Stone Deck Landscaping and came up with a plan to install a walkway from the front of the house that then connected to the new patio that is below the new elevated stone deck.

We then had to chose which system to use and ended up selecting the Silica system. The silica grates are placed on the prepared ground with the patio stones placed on top. The grates are then connected together and work like a floating floor.

The elevated deck has the silica grates screwed into the wood frame of the deck. The porcelain tiles are then glued into place.

The construction phase for the project lasted for about 3 weeks from start to finish which included some down time because of rain.

We now have a new maintenance free stone walkway and patio and an elevated stone deck with composite wood cladding, porcelain tile floor deck with an aluminum railing with fibreglass steps

My wife and I cannot thank Greg from Stone Deck Landscaping enough for giving us a beautiful patio which we will enjoy for many years to come.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and the hospitality you showed our Stone Deck Landscapes crew! We are very pleased you like your new Silca System patio and deck and we know you will appreciate the maintenance free feature of your new deck.

MyHome52
MyHome52
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Paverdeck

I contacted Paverdeck for information about having an elevated deck installed and I was passed onto Stone Deck Landscapes. Stone Deck Landscapes referred me to a Paverdeck Authorized Contractor. I would not recommend Stone Deck Landscapes in terms of them recommending contractors due to my personal experience with the Paverdeck Authorized Contractor.

Issues with deck: Deck size incorrect, a peice of steel panel not cut flush to concrete sill and the the paver cannot cantilever on this part of the deck, water membrane not installed properly and water leaking under deck, broken pavers where they drilled the posts in, and safety issues. I was supposed to be given a field report for the helical piles that I needed to give the city inspector. The report shows info about how deep the piles are in the ground, torque, how much weight each piles supports, etc (enginerred drawings show for 3500 pounds each post). This was suppose to be given to me a day after the piles were installed. I was asking for them for two weeks and i was given excuses and the contractor and engineer refused to provide them to me. Even after I emailed the city inspector and copied the engineer and contractor about the field report, still nothing. I believe they were not installed according to the engineer drawings which is why they were never provided. The railing posts were suppose to be installed with 4 bolts going through the pavers and steel, then an extra piece of steel was suppose to be mounted under with washers and nuts. The contractor installed some posts with 2 bolts, others with 3, some not even penetrating the steel and no extra steel, washers or nuts. I sent the contractor an email questioning him about the installation of the railings and he told me the engineer approved everything structurally. The engineered drawings show that they should have been installed according to the steel manufacturers specifications, which they were not.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. Parusis

I want to be clear on the situation surrounding your review to ensure full disclosure.

You contacted Stone Deck Landscapes looking for information on the Paverdeck product and a possible contractor. We referred you to our list of Experienced Contractors on our website. You contacted two of them for consultation selecting one of them to do the work and in September you emailed us praising the work of the contractor you selected.

Subsequently, you identified some issues with your deck. The contractor was very clear that they were more than willing to address the deficiencies. However, you proceeded to make unreasonable demands of them insisting the entire deck be taken apart and replaced with all new materials. When your contractor declined your unreasonable request, you then proceeded to contact Stone Deck Landscapes as well as the Paverdeck manufacturer directly, looking for assistance.

Both Stone Deck Landscapes and Paverdeck verified that the contractor was willing to deal with the deficiencies identified, but both companies confirmed it was unnecessary and unreasonable to take the entire deck structure apart and replace it with all new materials.

Unsatisfied with this, you then gave the contractor an ultimatum of either replacing the deck with all new materials or remove the structure and return your money. The contractor chose the latter option, the structure was removed, and all your money has been refunded.

Stone Deck Landscapes, Paverdeck, and the contractor you selected have a proven track record of quality work and customer satisfaction. It is unfortunate you insisted on making unreasonable requests, as I am confident you would have been enjoying your beautiful new stone deck at this time.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Ottawa?