You Buy It - We Build It

Richmond Hill ON L4C 6X7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Furniture in Richmond Hill  >  You Buy It - We Build It
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for You Buy It - We Build It

Average customer rating:
5.3 10 (4 reviews)

Sort by

Jan in North Bay
Jan in North Bay
1 review North Bay, ON


I paid You Buy It We Build It to build a base and assembly a lifetime shed. I made the mistake of paying the full amount for this work upfront. Mr. Kurta (owner) requested a 60% down payment, but he gave a discount for paying the full amount. This business owner postponed on two previous occasions. We mutually agreed upon Oct 29. In an email he wrote, quote "Ordered the wood to arrive Friday or early
Saturday morning - depending on weather.
We're going to be there early Saturday morning and if it starts to rain or the wind picks up I've booked a hotel so we can finish Sunday". One way or another, it gets put up next weekend" unquote. He did
not show on the weekend of Oct 29. I received no communication from this individual that he could not come and do the work. After repeated attempts to contact this person on October 29, he would not respond. It would appear at this time, I am out over $1000. I have filed a complaint with the BBB. This has been a huge learning experience for me. UPDATE... I was contacted by Mr. Kurta via email indicating he has issued a refund and put it in the mail. I will update when the cheque is received


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Tina from Barrie
Tina from Barrie
8 reviews Barrie, ON


We purchased a prefab shed and had hired someone to come in and build a base for us in our backyard. I called Bruce at You Buy It - We Build it to get a quote to build the shed on the finished base and his communication was spot on! We discussed price, date for install and a time via email and I was requested to pay a small deposit.

As promised 2 people (a husband and wife team!) showed up on our agreed date and time, very punctual! They worked very well together and were extremely organized and polite. My husband was in the hospital during this time, so it was nice to know that the shed was being assembled properly and not have to worry it. Later that afternoon, I was politely asked to come outside and to my surprise, the shed was fully completed and up!! Not only that, they cleaned up their work site so well, that you would never have known they were even there - and the shed looked fantastic!

I was extremely happy and satisfied with the shed assembly and it was worth the money to have someone come in to do this for us, as well as the look on hubby's face when he came home from the hospital!

On a side note, about a week or so later it finally rained and I wanted to make sure the shed wasn't leaking. It was totally dry inside, but I did notice that the windows had a bit of water running down on the inside of them. This was in NO WAY the fault of the installers, but rather, the way the windows were built for the shed. I emailed Bruce to explain what was happening and he had the gentleman come out to re-caulk the 2 side windows for us. There was no hesitation on his part to offer this service and the windows are now completely sealed and 100% dry inside!

Thanks again Bruce for everything and I'm sorry for my tardy review, things have been pretty hectic around here since August! I really appreciated you accommodating us in your schedule to get the job done quickly. I would recommend You Buy It - We Build It to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. More importantly, I'm so glad that you are happy with your shed and the work we did. Hope your husband is feeling better and wishing you both a Happy New Year. Bruce and the team.

azshi in Mississauga
azshi in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON

Terrible Shed Installation in Backyard

STAY AWAY! You've been warned. This is the first time I am ever writing a review and it shows how terrible of a job this was by Bruce and You Buy It - We Build It.

Had Bruce come in to install shed. We agreed on the shed being in the right hand corner of the backyard. Brought in two individuals to install the shed the day after we planned to install. Advising me the day of the original installation that he couldn't come in. I missed two days of work therefore.

Bruce and I had spoken about installing it and we were on the same page. Seeming like a sensible straight forward job I didn't question any his past work. He assured me he had been doing this for long time. The workers that came in the next day; instead placed the Shed sideways (see pictures) not the way we wanted horizontally (the door facing the back of the house). A 5 year old could tell it was wrong. The shed was then off centred so it is literally in the middle of the backyard the door facing the neighbours. Bruce had no communication with us and neither did the workers ask us about the direction or placement. When I called back he seemed extremely disinterested in it and said that's 'how it was dug out and for the workers to remove it, it would take hours". So the workers left who were polite but once the shed was staked into the ground it was too "late". Not offering to rectify the problem and just caring about the money. Once he had the money he couldn't care less about the workmanship. Usually the customer is right but when Bruce takes your money he's the boss.

I was initially going to give him more work. I will NEVER work or with You Buy It - We Build It or Bruce. Recommendation is out of question. Anyone interested can come by to see the terrible placement in my backyard. It is an eye sore every day. Bruce why cannot you fix your mistake? No replies, Hung up.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The client sent this same message to the Better Business Bureau and we were asked to respond. We explained that we came in and placed a shed on a section of backyard that the client dug out themselves. It was a 10 x 8 rectangle and we placed the shed accordingly. The shed is a pre-fab and the door can only go on one length. It happened to be the long side, facing the side of the yard. We didn't determine the placement of the shed. The client did. We assembled accordingly. The client never responded to the BBB again and we received word from the organization that they had closed the inquiry.

AI from Markham
AI from Markham
5 reviews Markham, ON

Big Backyard Ashberry II Assembly

Bruce and his team assembled and setup our Big Backyard Ashberry II playset that was purchased from Toys R Us. We were very happy with the work and would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about You Buy It - We Build It

Furniture, Shed, Gazebo and Play Set Assembly. We are professional assemblers and We Love Flat Boxes! Whether you've purchased from Home Depot, Lowes, Canadian Tire, Rona, Costco, Toys R Us, IKEA, Leons, Walmart, the Brick or Sears - we can come to your home and assemble your new items. Fully ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.