Tim The Handyman

Handyman Services
Ottawa ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Tim The Handyman

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (22 reviews)

Sort by

Kim&FrankM in Ottawa
Kim&FrankM in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Kitchen Appliance handles

Our kitchen has a flat panel fridge and dishwasher. We did not have handles installed initially (for the look), but eventually realized our choice was impractical. We bought handles and looked for a professional to do the job. We asked several different contractors who seemed disinterested. We found Tim at the end of our search and we're thankful for it! Tim was polite and took some time to research our equipment, checked with us on preferences, stuck to the quoted price. Prompt & precise. Small things matter! Our kitchen is finally complete!

Was this review helpful?
Claude in Kanata
Claude in Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fence and deck repair

From first contact to job completion, everything about this experience was first rate. Tim is very personable and takes the time to explain what needs to be done as well as offer suggestion for future upkeep that will help avoid problems. One of his best qualities is the ability to think 'outside of the box' to come up with innovative solutions (as opposed to the Grandiose visions most would advise) that save you money and leave you happy. I am already planning my next project and will happily offer Tim the job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Claude - it was awesome meeting you.

Brian in Ottawa
Brian in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
3/10

TimTheHandyman cost

I hired Tim to complete some small repairs in our house - some drywall, some plumbing. While on site, Tim explained that what I had wanted done with the bathtub would require a plumber - which he wasn't. So instead, he offered to complete some other work I had pointed out while we were touring the condo (i.e. repairing the front closet sliding door). I agreed, but in hindsight I shouldn't have. The work was well done (especially the drywall), but the cost was excessive given that the plumbing, which was part of the original estimate, wasn't done.

Tim was here for 4 hours, including initial tour and clean-up, and the total cost was $795 ($703 plus tax) - i.e. around $150/hour + materials. Work completed included 3 small drywall patches, two small sections of trim, purchasing and placing a fastener between two pipes under the kitchen sink, and re-screwing a press-board sliding door in the entrance-way closet, so cost of materials I think was less than $100 (I supplied the paint).

In summary: If you decide to use Tim, don't renegotiate the work to be done on the fly, without also renegotiating the price. That was I think my mistake. Be very clear and detailed about what you want done when requesting the original estimate and stick to that, don't agree to change it once Tim is already onsite.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Brian,
we are very sorry that you don't feel that you received a good price for the work that was done. That being said, you did agree to the exact work that was completed, and as you have stated above, that work was completed properly.

In the quote that you requested originally, we had given you a price and explained that that price was based on "no new materials being needed." You agreed to this in the emails, and that is why we came out to do the work. But when we arrived it became apparent that new materials would in fact be needed for the plumbing issues. We chose to ignore this part of the contract and actually go out and get you materials for the one sink issue which was an easy fix, but for your other ones you decided to trade that work for other items that needed completing in your house.

It is difficult for us to know what we should have done, when you agreed to this as we talked it through at your house. We also thank you for your payment, as you acknowledged that the work was done when we were finished that day.

We appreciate you acknowledging that the work was done well. We certainly aren't the cheapest people in the city, and nor do we aim to be, as we have developed several methods of completing complicated work in a shorter period of time that saves our customers headaches and complications of having contractors there for long periods of time.

Robyn in Toronto
Robyn in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Home Renovations

Amazing! We would hire Tim again for any other work in our home. There were a number of renovations to be done - some a little tricky - and Tim did an impeccable job. He is thoughtful and has a keen eye for detail, which is so important in this line of work. I greatly appreciated his work ethic and he stayed true to all agreed deadlines.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Glad to hear it Robyn, hope all is we'll!

Jo-Anne Oakley  in Ottawa
Jo-Anne Oakley in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Kitchen cabinet installation

We purchased an Ikea kitchen which included cabinets, sink, faucet and laminate countertop. But we were unable to hang the cabinets onto the wall (which turned out to be a firewall), due to lack of proper tools and know-how. The plumbing needed to be replaced and the wiring for the hood range needed re-routing. Tim was quick to respond to my email and set up a time to do the required work within days. He did a fantastic job in record time and was very professional and knowledgeable. Our kitchen is finally wonderful.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jo-Anne, it was great meeting you and your family.

Scruffy45k in Ottawa
Scruffy45k in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Painting

Had rotting wood, and exterior painting.
Tim was very personable. He explained everything before hand.
He kept the outside clean. And I love the finished product.
Would have him back anytime I need help.
Thanks Tim

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much :)

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

Communication could be better

We hired him out of desperation to complete a bathroom renovation, we fail to communicate effectively the work that was needed (leave the bathroom fully functional) if you hire him, I would be very clear and repeat several times what you expect at the end. He initially quote $900 and after he added all the additionals that he did, the final amount was $2,300 - abusive.

Review has 2 previous versions
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello and thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you feel that the level of communication was not sufficient.

We do recall this job, and after reviewing your account, we can see that emails were sent for the first stage of work (listing everything off that was to be completed and their cost).

Then a second list of things was emailed after speaking with your husband the morning of the work. In none of these emails did it list out the completion of the shower.

We usually consider the listing out of items over email to be a sufficient way of ensuring everyone is on the same page, but we appreciate your feedback and will re-evaluate our process to ensure it's more clear next time. Thank you for your compliments on the work that we did complete.

GMS OTTAWA in Toronto
GMS OTTAWA in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Services for Client

Tim is defiantly one of the best handyman services in the city. We’ve called Tim the Handyman a few times to help with some of our projects and he has always been a true pleasure to work with. He is professional and we appreciate his attention to detail. Our clients have been absolutely delighted with the quality of his work. We highly recommend Tim to anyone looking for fast, efficient and courteous service, and we look forward to working with him more in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Michelle from Ottawa
Michelle from Ottawa
3 reviews Ottawa, ON

First Review

10/10

Front Door Repairs

My front door needed some repairs, he answered my emails promptly, showed up the same day and I paid exactly what he quoted. He also offered some advise regarding future door replacement and answered any questions I had.
I will definitely call Tim for any future jobs!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Glad we could be of service Michelle!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Tim The Handyman

We started out small with just a few customers. But we have built a business on taking pride in the work we do for other people's homes. Now we operate all over the Ottawa area. Why can we quote over the phone? When a contractor drives to your house to ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Handyman Services pros in Ottawa?