Northwest Furnace & Duct Cleaning Ltd

Duct Cleaning
110555 - 48 ST SE Calgary AB T2C 2B7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Duct Cleaning
Northwest Furnace & Duct Cleaning Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

44%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Northwest Furnace & Duct Cleaning Ltd

Average customer rating:
5 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Alaina  in Calgary
Alaina in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Dishonest

After repeated attempts to get NW Furnace to go back and finish a job (which we were assured numerous times they would) and learning that in fact my tenants have not been contacted, I think it’s safe to say that there are no plans to do this and I will now be posting reviews. What was supposed to be a straightforward job cleaning out dryer ducting turned out to be a several hour affair that I was contacted for three hours into the job. What was going to be up to a $200 bill turned into a $600 bill, and it turns out the issue was that the hose for the dryer was kinked, which should have been what was checked for first. We were not happy with this and paid $300 for the job, which I wish I hadn’t even done when I now have to find someone else to finish it, as NW Furnace failed to check their work after replacing the hose and the bi-fold doors do not shut properly, are damaging the units as a result and have caused great inconvenience to my tenants. I trusted you from 1000 km away above other companies, and that was unfortunately a mistake. Instead of wasting everyone’s time and delaying this for months, it would have been appreciated if you were honest and advised that you weren’t going to go back and do something that would take you probably ten minutes. You live in the neighboring community, so it’s not as though you’d be going far out of your way. While I would have hired you for yearly cleanings and AC service, I will now not be using your services ever again. I hope it was worth losing that business over. I will be posting reviews widely. You were given a chance to make things right and you decided not to.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We received a call from the homeowner about her dryer ventilation light coming on and she requested us to come out and clean/inspect the dryer venting.
 
We advised the home owner about the possibility of a kinked ventilation hose from the dryer to the wall ventilation prior to us even going out for the service and asked them to do their due diligence in assuring this was not the case. 
 
We received a call back requesting the service as the dryer manufacturer told the home owner they would not come out for any warranty issues in regards to the dryer if the venting was not checked first.  The home owner had then advised us that she lived out of town and needed to provide her tenants with a working washer and dryer as per her lease agreement with them.  Therefore she was requested the service.
 
The stacked dryer and washer unit was already pulled out of the closet and disconnected prior to us arriving on site.
 
We went out and throughout the process ended up having to crawl into the attic due to the fact the dryer ventilation exits out the roof. We had taken apart the piping and inspected it thoroughly and put it all back together which takes time, we advised the home owner prior to entering the attic of the additional charges and she proceeded to tell us to do whatever needed to be done in order to solve this issue for her tenants.
 
We advised the home owner of our findings that the venting in the attic was not blocked and our conclusion was that the dryer/washer was most likely pushed too far back into the closet causing kinking the flex tubing from the dryer to the wall ventilation in result causing the overheating issues to the dryer due to no air flow. Which we initially advised for them to check prior to us arriving! 
 
We then helped the tenant put the washer and dryer back into the closet and tested the dryer for an additional 30 minutes ensuring the dryer venting light did not come back on.
 
We had then sent the home owner the bill and even cut down some of the hourly rate she should have been charged and she became upset and started crying, and stated that she could not afford to pay the bill.
 
She had called several times requesting us to go back out and “adjust” the washer/dryer unit and we stated that we had not been paid for the service and until payment was made we would not go back out, she thought that the service was only worth 300 dollars not what she was billed and refused to pay for the full amount therefore we will not go back and help the tenant "adjust" the positioning of the stacked washer/dryer. 
 
She has now gone and posted negative comments about us all over the internet which is unjust and not a true representation of the entire situation.

Samuel in Calgary
Samuel in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Duct cleaning and furnace service

These guys do a bang up job and are very detailed...they ensure things are done correctly and get stuff out of there left behind from the other companies... as well, the owner Tony is very knowledgable with it comes to getting the furnaces running again and very good at explaining what the problems are, only fixes what's critical and explains any other issues noticed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Samuel,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to ensuring all of your home comfort needs are met now and in the future. Should you have any further questions about your service or in general about your home's hvac system please contact us at any time.

Karen in Calgary
Karen in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

dryer vent cleaning

I live in a condo and one of the home maintenance tasks is to clean the dryer vent. Needless to say, I thought this only meant from the dryer to the opening in the wall. Little did I know it also means from the wall to the outside venting. This procedure was explained to me by Tony. He cleaned the vent with forced air and I certainly was surprised to see how clean it was afterwards. It was peace of mind knowing the vent was super clean and I'll have this done more often on a regular basis by Northwest. I liked their professionalism and great rates. I'm definitely recommending them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review, we not only strive to provide excellent service but also education regarding the service we are performing.

Andrew Recker   in Calgary
Andrew Recker in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Bought my first home and the ducts have 27 holes for cleaning in 50ft of duct.

I took possession of my brand new reidbulit home on Friday January 29 2016. Upon looking at my furnace and duct work in the basement I am pretty appalled at the work done on my home. There are holes every 12" in my duct work resulting in 27 different holes foil taped over in my ducts. Also I looked in the cold air return duct and there is no hole cut out to hook up the duct vacuum. There is about an 1/8" drill hole in the cold air return where I'm guessing the vacuum was going to be hooked up but looks like the hole was drilled and forgot about. Also there are big white chunks of something in my powder room register. I was also told by the project manager that the duct vacuum was hooked through the bottom of my furnace. I don't really know why that would be done seeing you wouldn't want to pull everything through the furnace. I am a very UNSATISFIED customer And would not recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andrew,

We tried to reach out to you to explain our furnace and duct cleaning method to you however you have chosen not to take us up on our offer, so I will explain.

There is an 8 inch hole cut above the secondary heat exchanger to which the suction hose is attached this prevents the debris from falling onto the secondary heat exchanger , there is no need to cut another 8 inch hole into the return air duct work as we pull the blower motor out of the furnace and that is where the 8 inch suction hose is then placed to consume the debris from the return air duct work. It is unfortunate that you are not familiar with pulling out the blower motor when furnace and duct cleaning is performed, as this should always be done and is always required when cleaning a furnace properly. The reasoning for the holes in the duct work is to ensure all the construction debris is out of your HVAC system, in Alberta we do not only clean the duct work but we also clean the furnace itself. Should you have any further concerns please contact us at any time.

We are not aware of any complaint through ReidBuilt Homes, would you please give us a call 403-561-1410 or 403-619-6889 we will send someone out (owner) to meet with you and discuss this matter.

Dean from Calgary
Dean from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Furnace Cleaning

Amazing service and knowledgeable cleaners, took the time to explain what was wrong with my furnace and how I can prevent future break downs, I would totally recommend northwest furnace to anyone that wants the job done right!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Nicole Neate from Calgary
Nicole Neate from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

0/10

Furnace servicing and duct cleaning

Not impressed!! I called to schedule a servicing of our furnace as well as duct cleaning. The owner, Tony, came to service the furnace and fixed the immediate problem (it was leaking water) but noted another problem that he said needed fixing. He charged us the fee for fixing the leak and said he'd be in touch to schedule a technician to come in to fix the other problem and do the duct cleaning and wouldn't charge us a second service fee. After a week, I hadn't heard so I called to follow up and he sounded very flustered and said he would call me later to set something up. I never heard back despite leaving a few messages, so eventually had to find someone else to do the work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nicole, I just found your review on homestars. I am sorry that you felt the need to write it. As you stated we came out right away and that results in a zero rating? We did not want to get involved further with your home since you stated you were going to take the builder to court for the condition of the home and that is something that we did not want to get involved with or be a part of.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Northwest Furnace & Duct Cleaning Ltd

Quality Services We Provide Furnace Installation Furnace Repair Furnace and Duct Cleaning Air Conditioning Installation Air Conditioning Repair Humidifier Installation Advanced HVAC Filtration system Hot Water Tank Replacement Tankless Water Heaters Quality Products We Provide We provide a variety of HVAC products to ensure our customers know all of their ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Duct Cleaning pros in Calgary?