After repeated attempts to get NW Furnace to go back and finish a job (which we were assured numerous times they would) and learning that in fact my tenants have not been contacted, I think it’s safe to say that there are no plans to do this and I will now be posting reviews. What was supposed to be a straightforward job cleaning out dryer ducting turned out to be a several hour affair that I was contacted for three hours into the job. What was going to be up to a $200 bill turned into a $600 bill, and it turns out the issue was that the hose for the dryer was kinked, which should have been what was checked for first. We were not happy with this and paid $300 for the job, which I wish I hadn’t even done when I now have to find someone else to finish it, as NW Furnace failed to check their work after replacing the hose and the bi-fold doors do not shut properly, are damaging the units as a result and have caused great inconvenience to my tenants. I trusted you from 1000 km away above other companies, and that was unfortunately a mistake. Instead of wasting everyone’s time and delaying this for months, it would have been appreciated if you were honest and advised that you weren’t going to go back and do something that would take you probably ten minutes. You live in the neighboring community, so it’s not as though you’d be going far out of your way. While I would have hired you for yearly cleanings and AC service, I will now not be using your services ever again. I hope it was worth losing that business over. I will be posting reviews widely. You were given a chance to make things right and you decided not to.
- Company Response
We received a call from the homeowner about her dryer ventilation light coming on and she requested us to come out and clean/inspect the dryer venting.
We advised the home owner about the possibility of a kinked ventilation hose from the dryer to the wall ventilation prior to us even going out for the service and asked them to do their due diligence in assuring this was not the case.
We received a call back requesting the service as the dryer manufacturer told the home owner they would not come out for any warranty issues in regards to the dryer if the venting was not checked first. The home owner had then advised us that she lived out of town and needed to provide her tenants with a working washer and dryer as per her lease agreement with them. Therefore she was requested the service.
The stacked dryer and washer unit was already pulled out of the closet and disconnected prior to us arriving on site.
We went out and throughout the process ended up having to crawl into the attic due to the fact the dryer ventilation exits out the roof. We had taken apart the piping and inspected it thoroughly and put it all back together which takes time, we advised the home owner prior to entering the attic of the additional charges and she proceeded to tell us to do whatever needed to be done in order to solve this issue for her tenants.
We advised the home owner of our findings that the venting in the attic was not blocked and our conclusion was that the dryer/washer was most likely pushed too far back into the closet causing kinking the flex tubing from the dryer to the wall ventilation in result causing the overheating issues to the dryer due to no air flow. Which we initially advised for them to check prior to us arriving!
We then helped the tenant put the washer and dryer back into the closet and tested the dryer for an additional 30 minutes ensuring the dryer venting light did not come back on.
We had then sent the home owner the bill and even cut down some of the hourly rate she should have been charged and she became upset and started crying, and stated that she could not afford to pay the bill.
She had called several times requesting us to go back out and “adjust” the washer/dryer unit and we stated that we had not been paid for the service and until payment was made we would not go back out, she thought that the service was only worth 300 dollars not what she was billed and refused to pay for the full amount therefore we will not go back and help the tenant "adjust" the positioning of the stacked washer/dryer.
She has now gone and posted negative comments about us all over the internet which is unjust and not a true representation of the entire situation.