Dijkema Electric

Electricians
Ottawa ON K0A2T0
HomeStars  >  Electricians in Ottawa  >  Dijkema Electric
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
69%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
0
0
0

Reviews for Dijkema Electric

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Chris from Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

I has a ceiling fan stop working and needed replacement. The problem was that the ceiling fan is 18ft high. I called a few electricians and many wouldn't do the job. Dijkema came out were on time and on budget, even when unexpected issues came up and a trio to the hardware store was needed.

Was this review helpful?
Jorge Guti in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

I have now used Dijkema Electric (recommended to me from a friend) to basically redo the entire electrical in my house (built in the 1960s ). They removed old/useless wiring, properly reconnected poorly installed fixtures, corrected all the wiring for outlets and plugs and installed all new electrical in the basement (about 2000 sq ft). Over the course of one year, I have scheduled work to be done by Dijkema Electric on multiple occasions and they have been punctual every single time they have come to the house. They have even accommodated me on several occasions where I have asked them to come in on a short notice because of unforeseen issues with other trades. At every occasion, Dijkema Electric did more than expected to accommodate to my requests. They have been extremely professional throughout the entire process. Their work is precise, accurate and clean. They have always made a point to ensure they understand the requirements correctly and have done a walk through before and after the work at every time. I will continue to use Dijkema Electric for all my electrical needs and strongly recommend this company to anyone looking for a professional, punctual, reliable, friendly, knowledgeable and quality electrical contractor.

Was this review helpful?
G.D from Limoges
1 review Limoges, ON
10/10

Dijkema Electric installed an extra outlet on the main floor so I could safely plugin a fishtank. Without this I would have had to use extension cables going over the stairs, or across the hallway. Joel and crew were professional, cleaned up after themselves and were done quickly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, we appreciate your feedback! You were a pleasure to deal with, thanks for the work.

Lucas in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

The company started a contract and then demanded to be paid in full half way through the job. Terrible service and the owner has a very bad attitude. They made mistakes in placements of switches and outlets and then claimed they perform a walkthrough with the client and ensure they get it right but they never did one in this case and then insisted on charging for their mistakes. Afterwards demanding to be paid in full for the entire contract when they were only half way finish the job. Now they have refused to return because i won't pay in advance and i have to hire another company to clean up their mess.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Facts responding to claims:
-75 days late on initial payment after 60% work done
-currently over 70 days late on amount owing of work agree upon and completed
-After showing a record of not paying, and still owing, D.E. asked to have payment in full (for final work)or else the contractor could simply get another electrician in and finish the 40%
-Did not demand money, the contracting company was hard to get any information from.
-Asked for plans (where sent wrong twice)
-With many emails about direction one set of Switches were not to contracting companies liking, cut our cost in half when we had to come back to adjust box, to keep everyone happy
-Person is looking to degrade a company and will have to look at legal actions if it doesn't stop.

Sheri Zelle from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Having owned and renovated 4 houses in 10 years we have had opprtunity to work with a number of electricians. What an amazing find Dijkema Electric was for us! Joel and Brandon are by far the best electricians we have ever worked with. From the start with time and cost estimate through to doing all of the work professionally, respectfully and with a true quality result.

The invoice was what I expected, no surprises and very detailed for all time and materials. They delivered what they committed to, always arrived on time, and injected a little levity, singing while they work :) A truly differentiated approach.

I would strongly recommend Joel to anyone looking for a very talented, ethical team that has mastered managing expectations.

The work for this project was removing all previous electrical in a 50+ yr old basement apartment suite, running new electrical for office, new bathroom and 25 potlights along with new wiring for dishwasher and an outside GFI outlet.

Was this review helpful?
Larry Ross from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON

First Review

9/10

Had Dijkema Electric in to add a bathroom fan, some lights, move a GFI plug, rewire a light switch. Mr Dijkema was started with a detailed quote, and discussed options for what I wanted. He was very clear and concise, and confirmed on the day of the work the what and where that he was here for. The work was done quickly and efficiently, and left the work area clean.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dijkema Electric

www. delectric. ca Dijkema Electric serves Ottawa region with quality, efficient, and economical electrical. Residential and Commercial. We are always able to give the client one of the best value for their dollar.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.