AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

Moving & Storage
9924 River Road Delta BC V4G 1B5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Moving & Storage
AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Giving Back Award winnerGiving Back Awardwinner

Reviews for AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (174 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Careful, Thoughtful, Timely

The team from AMJ Campbell Mississauga did an outstanding job. From estimate to confirmation and reminders, they were efficient, considerate and mindful. Much heavy Victorian furniture was moved with care and caution. In addition, through our CARP membership benefits, we were given boxes as well as a discount. This experience really could not have been better. They arrived on time, dealt promptly with a tricky loading situation due to nearby construction and managed a limiting elevator situation at the other end with speed and intelligence. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear about your experience with us. We wish you all the best!! - Charlotte

watergirl
watergirl
1 review Mississauga, ON
7/10

Great Crew but...

This was a partial move for home staging prior to listing condo for sale. I’ve used AMJ Campbell for moving several times. I would have given a rating of 10 but for one thing. My move was scheduled for a Monday. Friday afternoon my Move Management person, Sami called me and asked me if I was ready for my move TOMORROW. I almost fainted, my heart rate soared and I was speechless. Once I could speak again I told him that the move was Monday. Slowly he responded, “right Monday.” I was so upset, it took me over 1/2 an hour to calm down. The crew was delightful, personable and efficient.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, thank you for choosing AMJ again and taking the time to write us this honest review. Can you please email us at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com we would like to discuss this matter.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
1/10

Disappointed

We were disappointed with our last move from Ontario to Quebec. The movers were scheduled to arrive at 9am but had a mechanical issue with their truck. They finally arrived at 3pm to start loading. In all fairness, the driver was keeping us updated throughout the day. Upon arrival, the driver did not have the packing supplies for the TV, computer, and tall mirrors which we had requested and confirmed by email with the head office. The driver stated he was not aware of such a request and ended up improvising by using spared used boxes and blankets. The loading went well and the movers were careful with our belongings. However, to our surprise, they didn't have the 2 mattress covers for our queen size mattress and box spring despite the fact that it was written on our contract. They ended up wrapping the mattress inside the truck using one of their blankets. During transit, they had mechanical issues again and they had to transfer our belongings onto a rental truck. It is most likely during that transfer that the queen size mattress ended up with several blood stains. We also had a bookshelf damaged during transit. Clearly, there was a lack of communication between the driver and the head office since the driver was not aware of what was requested on our contract. The blood stains on the mattress could have been prevented with a proper mattress cover.

Was this review helpful?
Erin in Edmonton
Erin in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Delivery of item

This company was used as a white glove delivery of an item from West Elm (not by choice). They set the dresser up and proceeded to push it along hardwood floor scratching it. Would not pay to fix the floor.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
2/10

Local move

Very friendly and professional. Moving out of our previous home was ok. The issues were regarding the move in and afterward.
Movers were unorganized. There was no forethought planning in how the move would unpack. They dumped everything in the house (we could barely move around) and just kept bringing stuff in instead of placing it where we directed.
We have a king size 4 poster bed and I am the first to say, it's not an easy piece to pack/set up but only half the screws were placed and the wood was damaged in several places. The bed was not sturdy and made a lot of noise if we tried to use it (squeezing, clunking). The same
story goes for my husband's office furniture.
The pieces configure into a horseshoe shape with a cabinet on the back desk. There is an extender piece that joins the front desk to the back and it was not secured properly. It collapsed when my husband applied minimal pressure on it as he reached for a book on the back shelf. It completely tipped and caused him to fall from his chair onto the floor!
Please check out the photos.
Needless to say I called and discussed what we were finding and they sent one of the movers back to fix things. He secured the bed by putting in extra screws not at all where they should have been originally. So...this made the bed feel more secure but you couldn't move while you were on it without it making terrible noises AND it looked like hell! Same with the desk. Screws were stripped and wood was busted off around the screws, wood chips on the floor......on & on!
We called a couple more times to no avail so we decided to make a claim. The furniture wasn't 5 years old yet, and they DECLINED our claim!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com

Many thanks, Charlotte

mariapsyche in London
mariapsyche in London
0 reviews London, ON
0/10

International shipping, 2 month with no news on the goods (lost?)

Shipping from Canada to Europe. Upon initial contact they said shipping should be completed in 5 weeks or so. This was no promise but I thought 2 months should be sufficient. Now after 2 months, having paid the full price, we have no news whether our household stuff were even loaded to container, let alone shipped. The contact person can't seem to reach the International Group of their company, so we suspect that we would never receive our stuff, and they can probably drag this on indefinitely so insurance won't have to pay for our loss.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com

Many thanks, Charlotte

CHARLOTTE TRUTER
General Manager, AMJ Campbell Inc.
Tel: 416 998 1319

Angela  in Mississauga
Angela in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Move across the country

I have used AMJ Campbell now for 15 years to move me across the country and back and all of my loves in between. I have never had an issue until the most recent move which across the country. Back in 2017, I moved my family across the country and all of our belongings went into an AMJ Campbell storage facility for 2 years while we waited construction of our new home. When my belongings (furniture, kitchen foods, etc) arrived at the AMJ storage facility, I received a phone call confirming that everything had arrived and was in storage and facilitated monthly storage fee payment. While the AMJ rep had me on the phone, she so cleverly sold me maximum insurance on my items in storage and promised that if any damage happened to my items, AMJ would replace the items at current market value. Fast forward 2 years and nearly $6,000 in after tax money on just insurance storage fees (that doesn’t include storage fees) my belongings come
out of storage and while thankfully most items were in great condition, there were a few broken items and furniture pieces that had missing parts and not able to be reassembled, since they had been disassembled upon my move out of my residence two years ago. On actual move on day, I also had some last minute surprises of needing to pay an additional $550 in un-crating charges. I paid for this crating and un-crating of all my marble slabs and delicate artwork and heavy mirrors upon my move out and was never told that I would have to pay for un-crating charges at my destination because my items were going into storage for some time, which they were aware of that from the beginning. So a few pieces were damaged, one of which was a set of lamps. These bedside glass lamps were packed poorly by AMJ packers and of course shattered. So I made my claim for these two lamps and when the replacement value came back, I questioned why it was so low and the claim rep advised me that I never put a claim through for the shades. Can someone please explain to me how a lamp is purposeful without the shade. She claims that because I didn’t list the lamp shade on my claim form, they aren’t responsible for replacing it!!! This is absurd. Furthermore, she only came up with that excuse bc when she went to the website of where I got the lamps from, 5 years ago, she saw that they sell the lamp base and lamp shade separately. That is clearly for no other reason than marketing tactics and making more money. Of course when you go and buy a lamp, you have to buy both pieces. That’s a given. Furthermore, because my lamp shades were packed in the same box as the lamp shade and therefore contained the same AMJ moving sticker, that automatically qualifies them as one item! I was not asked to be put into this position? I was unfortunately Put into this position as AMJ carelessly packed my expensive glass lamps. Another item on my claim was for a very large dented lamp shade. I was told that because AMJ didn’t package it properly in a box my insurance doesn’t cover it ! So essentially, it becomes my fault that AMJ didn’t do their job correctly on move out day while I was trying to sort out my family (3 little kids in tow) to move them across the country, I get penalized. I am left to believe the AMJ has been extremely dishonest and unfair in their delivery of their side of the deal after taking my $6,000 in after tax dollars on insurance fees. I was reassured that having this insurance in place would ease the process should anything go wrong. I even pre paid to have the un-packers unpack everything to ensure that if anything was broken, it would be covered! This has not been the case at all! I am an honest and good citizen. I paid my part in ensuring my items were covered and now AMJ is looking for every possible angle to essentially get out of pulling through on their end of the deal...replacing all of my claimed items reported within the 60 day grace period. I have a table that got cracked and it comes with a marble slab on top. I am awaiting for in house inspection of that item and am very worried for the outcome. I also had a rowing machine that was taken apart by the movers on move out day. On move in day, no one wanted to re-assemble it. I put it on the claim as there were missing parts as well and AMJ came back saying I didn’t sign any contract or pay any additional fee to have my items disassembled and reassembled. So why did they so freely take its part in the first place without my consent? Why did they take part all of my beds and many furniture pieces and put them together without any consent. In all of my moves with AMJ Campbell, I have never once been asked to purchase a disassembly and assembly package. All of my furniture has always been taken apart to easily put it in their Tetris organized trucks and then re- assembled upon delivery. As you can see, AMJ has been nothing but a nuisance and Quite frankly has taken my $6,000 after tax dollars and doing everything possible to get out of their end of the deal. You can bet my life, I will never in a million years be giving them another dollar of mine for any of my personal or corporate moves, going forward. I have done all the right things to protect myself, which included laying a ton of money. Their insurance representative doesn’t even care. She has no interest in assisting me and gIves me the same run around response each time we speak. She is useless and Doesn’t have any customer service manners.
I have been under immense stress over this and the whole reason I accepted the insurance coverage was to avoid this stress.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, Angela Thank you for the detailed review and for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize in advance if your experience has been less than what we intended, and can assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. We will begin a process to review and resolve your concern immediately and should you have any additional information that you would like to provide, please send directly to me at customercommunications@amjcampbell.com

Many thanks, Charlotte

Rafael
Rafael
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Moving process

The crew was great! James, Gordy and Nathaniel were very friendly and professional
They wwre very careful handling our stuff, they were punctual so we were very satisfied with the service

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rafael!
Thank you for the wonderful review. We're pleased to hear about your experience with us and hope to see you soon. - Charlotte

Gloria in Delta
Gloria in Delta
1 review Delta, BC
10/10

Fantastic service!

Darren, Derek and Logan were our movers. Fantastic young men. Fast, efficient, careful and friendly. Absolutely no damage. They were excellent at placing and moving the furniture if we changed our mind.
I would hire them again without thinking twice.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review on our crew, we believe all of our crews work in the same professional way. We will make sure the guys know how much their work was appreciated.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Caledon, ON
10/10

Residential move from Ontario to BC

From the Relocation Consultant, to the packer, to the team who packed up our home and transported it to BC, the experience was wholly positive. They were all very professional, friendly, courteous and considerate of our belongings. Everything was wrapped carefully and arrived in good shape - absolutely no breakages!! The transportation took a little longer than I had hoped as we were the first load on the truck and had to wait for some other pick-ups before they made their way out west. I would very definitely recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi There,

A 10 star review, that is so great to see! Thanks so much for all of your kind words. We would love to pass along your note to our crew to acknowledge their job well done. If you are interested, kindly send your move registration number along with your name to: Krystal Duz - kduz@amjcampbell.com.

Thank you again and we hope all is going well in your new home in BC!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage have been moving people into their new homes since 1934. With 80 years of experience, your next best move should be with Canada's largest mover. AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage. Visit http://www.amjbc.ca/

Services:Local and Long Distance Residential Moving, International Moving, Packing, Unpacking & Put Away Services, Short and Long Term Storage, Express Vault Moves, Office and Industrial Moving, Corporate Relocations, Supplier of Packing Materials

CATEGORIES
Moving & Storage
SERVICES
Local and Long Distance Residential Moving, International Moving, Packing, Unpacking & Put Away Services, Short and Long Term Storage, Express Vault Moves, Office and Industrial Moving, Corporate Relocations, Supplier of Packing Materials
SPECIALITIES
Canada's largest coast to coast moving company providing exceptional, personalized service. AMJ Campbell is the largest Canadian agent for Atlas Van Lines.
WEBSITE
http://www.amjbc.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1934
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau Accredited Business since 1982
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.