Newlid Roofing

Roofing
London ON N6C3B8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Roofing in London  >  Newlid Roofing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

68%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Newlid Roofing

Average customer rating:
8 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

Denise in Hamilton
Denise in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

London Wind Storm

During our recent wind storm, our home unfortunately suffered from some minor damage. With my husband being out of town I had to immediatly take care of this situation due to the potential rain on its way. I found Newlid Roofing and have to say I was so impressed with their responsive, quick, professional and exceptional service. They took the time to understand my needs, conserned and addressed them in a professional manner!! They made me feel very comfortable. I even Recommended them to the neighbors!! If you are in need of roofing assistance I recommend Newlid Roofing 100%. They care about their customers, care about the job they do, care about you!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Denise for these kind words. I'm so glad we could help you.

Fraser in London
Fraser in London
1 review London, ON
10/10

Fantastic Job

Had Gordon and Michelle at our place to do a complete roof job. It looks fantastic. They are very professional and do a fantastic job cleaning as they go. They went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Everything was completed as per our contract. They even added custom rain troughs I asked for at no extra cost. Also, Gord would've installed extra vents if I wanted.

During our job we had a wicked wind storm. Gordon and Michelle took care of many of our neighbours, and worked long hours to help all of those in need.

In the quote phase, Gordon (Newlid owner) was given a rave review by two other roofing companies in the city.

I highly recommend them over any other company out there, larger or smaller. Thanks again on a job well done.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your kind words Fraser and for your patience and understanding when the windstorm hit in the midst of your roof replacement. Your willingness to let us delay completion of your roof for a few days to help your neighbours was incredibly admirable.

Brandi in London
Brandi in London
1 review London, ON
10/10

Amazing Service, Great Price, and awesome employees!

My home is only 8 years old and in the last two major windstorms in London I had significant damage, shingles lost and all. I had literally just spent 10K getting it fixed along with water damage from the first wind storm (we did not see the damage as it was so high it was out of our sight line and after multiple storms had water damage in the home) so when I lost more shingles and had damage I was so lost and upset. I was telling a friend about it and she suggested I contact Newlid Roofing, saying they repaired her roof and she was very happy with them. She said to contact them via messenger on Facebook so I gave it a try. I contact Newlid at 7:30 the day after the major windstorm and they replied 32 minutes later I filled them in on my damage and they assured me they would be out the next day to take a look and see if they could get us fixed up. I received a message the next morning that they would be out at some point that day but were prioritizing the damage worst to least as a storm was due. They said they would likely be there around 5 pm and shortly after 1 pm I got a message asking if I was home as they were on their way. They came, they fixed it quickly and did a fantastic job. I was able to pay by e-transfer so that was super convenient for me as I was home with my 3 kids and babysitting two other. The staff at Newlid was so nice, professional and kind. They answered all my questions and even explained things to my curious 5 kids!

I have and will continue to recommend Newlid to all my friends who are looking for a roofer. I belong to many mom groups and referral groups and any time some one asks for a roofer reference, Newlid is always my on and only recommendation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We really appreciate your review and all your recommendations and referrals Brandi. I'm glad we could avoid another costly situation for you.

Douglas Simpson in London
Douglas Simpson in London
1 review London, ON
10/10

Excellent Workmanship. On time, and on budget.

Gordon and Michelle were prompt; ready to work; and worked pretty steadily every day they were on site replacing my roof. Those are really key things to me: be on time; do the job; and don't waste my time.

They were very diligent in cleaning up at the end of the day and if I found half a dozen small glue-strip shield in my yard, it might be accurate. The roof was done before the winter weather set in, and the timing was perfect for all of us.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to make this review Doug. It was a pleasure to work with you and I'm glad we could get that roof done before the winter for you so that you could sleep soundly knowing your home is protected.

Sheldon in London
Sheldon in London
6 reviews London, ON

First Review

0/10

Dishonest, unprofessional, disorganized, poor communication and workmanship

NOTE: ALL 10/10 REVIEWERS BELOW JOINED THIS SITE ON SAME DAY!!

Issues with job (with pictures to support my claims):

- UNPROFESSIONAL:
After payment of half upfront, I found it odd that Gord showed up in a UHaul rental on the first day on the job.
- DECEITFUL:
We had agreed on specific amounts of ice and water shield on one part of the house (since it had a few skylights) only to come home and discover the whole side shingled with synthetic paper. When asked about it, Gord said "Oh, we can redo the whole side again and dispose off the installed new shingles"
- EXPENSIVE:
The rental bin sat on property for more than a week longer than needed as Gord was unreachable for multiple days at a time. In the end since Gord was unreachable, the bin company kept harassing me for payment although Gord made the agreement with them.
- DISHONEST:
As the project continued, I advanced Gord more funds to keep going, but later discovered that the prepayments weren't used for all the materials as only half the shingles and other materials were delivered to the roof.
- WATER DAMAGE:
We had WATER DAMAGE to the house because of the roof being left exposed on multiple occasions and Gord being unreachable. I had to run out and buy a large enough tarp that would cover the whole house when it started raining as Gord's 10x10 tarp didn't provide much coverage. I ended up making several trips to the roof as I had to keep taping all the holes that Gord made in the new tarp when he nailed it to the roof. I also had to run around putting buckets and whatever else we could find (like an old tub in the stairwell) all over the place in the house to minimize the damage. Pics show this nightmare.
- CARELESS:
Noticed that areas were even missing the minimum 3' of ice and water shield that we had agreed upon. I found this out when I went looking. This is shown in pic where you can see that synthentic was used.
- INCOMPLETE:
After a month of this circus and again being unable to reach Gord, I went ahead hired another roofing company to re-do the work as it wasn't done right.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sheldon, I'm very sorry to read this review and your negative experience with NEWLID Roofing. I'd value a conversation if you're willing to discuss it with me. We take great pride in our workmanship and customer service; we have received only favourable feedback in the time I've been with the company and would hate to have this review affect our reputation. Feel free to reach out to me directly at 226-378-9731 to discuss.

Sincerely,

Michelle Kaplan
General Manager
NEWLID Roofing

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.