Retro Mom Services

House & Apartment Cleaning
3835 Toronto Street Port Coquitlam BC V3B 7J6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

30%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Retro Mom Services

Average customer rating:
3.3 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

K. in Port Coquitlam
K. in Port Coquitlam
1 review Port Coquitlam, BC
0/10

Stay Away

I had a similar negative experience with this company. Sorry for the long post but I have been dealing with this company for 3 months trying to get my money back. I booked a "last minute special" 4-hour clean for $100. Once the appointment was scheduled I was asked for a $50 deposit, which I provided through e-transfer the same day. The cleaning was scheduled for 10:00am on December 30, 2017; however, at 4:48pm on December 29, 2017 I was sent a message stating that although she would attend the next day, she could not start until closer to 12:45pm. The new time would not work for my schedule and I requested a refund if another Saturday appointment was not available. After a few days of messaging, we agreed to re-book on January 13, 2018 at 9am. On January 13, 2018 at 8:08am Retro Mom Services sent me a message stating that she would not be able to attend for the cleaning. She ended her message with "I will send you the $50 refund today." By January 16, 2018 I had not received the $50 refund so I sent Retro Mom Services a message asking for the money to be refunded. After a few more days of sending messages asking for the refund and receiving a variety of reasons why it had not occurred but would happen "right away," I received a message on January 23, 2018 stating that the money was being held in a "specialty account that takes a while to transfer out" and that it would be sent to me as soon as it was released. By January 30, 2018 I still had not received the refund so I made a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Retro Mom Services replied to my BBB complaint with numerous inaccuracies including that I had been told when I booked the appointment that there were "no refunds" and that she had never provided a date by which I would receive the refund; however, she would provide the refund by the first week of February 2018. She seemed to forget that all of our interactions were in writing so I was able to provide screen shots of every message - none of which mentioned her apparent "no refund" policy and three of which identified that she intended to return the refund "that day." In addition, she claimed that she had "never" withdrawn funds from her account before and was not aware of the process. After I sent the screen shots of our conversations, Retro Mom Services suggested that I could still use the $50 deposit or gift it or sell it to someone else. By this point I had no intention of allowing this company into my home or suggesting that someone else use her services, so I declined her offer and again asked for the refund that she promised.

As of today (March 22, 2018) Retro Mom Services still has not provided my $50 refund although she promised to do so many times. I would understand her reluctance to return my refund if I had been the one to change and cancel the appointments without notice but she was the one who did that. The BBB has closed the complaint but has informed me that the details will be made available on their website. I encourage anyone considering using this company to read the full complaint including the screen shots of all of our interactions. I wish I had seen these negative reviews before I booked with her but I only read the ones on her Facebook page - my mistake.

As you can see, the company responded to my review. Their response is again inaccurate. As I noted in my BBB complaint and provided written evidence for the same, the company never informed me of a "no refund" policy. In addition, given that it was the company (and not me) who was unable to attend the scheduled appointments, providing a refund makes sense and would be good customer service. They also repeatedly offered a refund but never followed through. This seems to be a pattern for this company given the number of negative reviews on this site alone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You were advised there were no refunds on the deposit, after attempting many rescheduled dates. You are still able to compete your booking if you choose

A_L
A_L
1 review Surrey, BC
0/10

Will take your money and provide no service

If there was an option for 0 stars - this "business" would be the one to get it.

Tania posted a couple of last minute cancellations on her Facebook page and after following her for a year or so I figured it was time to treat myself to a deep clean of my house!

I contacted her for one of the appointments at what time she suggested a different date (not advertised on her
page) and asked if the date worked for me.. I let her know it did. She required a 50% deposit for the $100 service to reserve my spot, which I willingly provided without question as I didn't think she would trick me out of my money.. I should have googled some reviews about her prior to that mistake.

A day after she accepted my e-transfer for $50 she messaged me to say she accidentally double booked and could we please change the date. Nothing else she had worked for me so I politely asked for a refund. She replied a little while later saying "the other client had graciously moved their date" so she was able to honor what she promised me... Well lo and behold, the date arrives when Tania is supposed to come and 5 minutes after her promised arrival time I get a Facebook message from her page from someone claiming to be a nurse at the hospital says Tania has some condition and is currently heavily sedated but before going under, asked that the nurse message me to say she can't make it... Needless to say, I was skeptical of the story but didn't want to assume she was fibbing, I replied that I hope she felt better soon and if she could please refund my deposit when she is able so I can hire someone else to clean my house. That same evening Tania was posting pictures of her fresh home cooked dinner no Facebook so I figured that she was back home and feeling better and so I messaged her again inquiring about an update for my refund. This time someone claiming to be her sister replies and calls me uncompassionate and unbelievable for asking for a refund while Tania was sedated in the hospital. Uhhhh what? I tried to reply to say I saw the activity and that was the reason for my message but instead Tania's "sister" said she had spoken with her mother and I would get my refund the next day and for me to never contact them again.. she then proceeded to block me on Facebook.... My question at the time, how are you going to refund me the money the next day without any of my info and with Tania "heavily sedated and out of it'?

UPDATE: Here we are almost a week since my house was supposed to be cleaned, with more activity on the "business" Facebook page and no reply to any of my messages/texts inquiring as to where my deposit is.

DON'T BOOK WITH THIS CLEANING SERVICE - you may think you're initially saving $30-$50 but in the end she will trick you out of your hard earned money and think nothing of it and try to call you unbelievable when really what is unbelievable are her morals and ethics (which she obviously has none of) also unbelievable is how this so-called business has been around for years. But I guess when you're taking from others what isn't rightfully yours and making money, you'll find a way to keep going.

UPDATE 2018-02-10
As you can see below the company reached out to me to provide a refund. Which I still haven’t received. All that offer did was result in more wasted time of going back and forth about having my review from here and BBB removed. Even after I said I would edit both reviews she proceeded to tell me I have too much time on my hands and issues to cause such a stink over $50. Money is money, honey. And it didn’t really take me more than maybe 5 minutes to type up these reviews to share with the public. The effect on your business though by saving others for falling for this, and since it’s mostly word of mouth these days that promote a business or not, will definitely last much longer. That to me, is quite worth my 5 minutes. I hope the $50 was worth it for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First, Anoop, I had a medical emergency that you were notified of. Good on me that I had someone contact you. I am a one person business and can only do so much in the face of an emergency. You were very demanding and rude in your messages that I only read later. I have only received 2 msgs from you.
You were not told you would be refunded the next day (this past Tuesday so it has not been a week), but were told you would receive it as soon as we were able.
You blocked me so I have no info on you.
Kindly email me through my website your email, you will receive your refund

Private User
Private User
1 review Port Coquitlam, BC
0/10

Shady Retromom

Do not prepay for any Retromom services because she will cancel on you repeatedly and at the last minute. Stories from family illness, car trouble, weather. You name it. Over and over again. After booking 4 times and her cancelling everytime I couldnt be bothered anymore. She removed the option to leave reviews on her FB page because she didnt like all the negative reviews. Shady unreliable business that will take your money and you will get nothing in return

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I wish we could respond to an actual review, there is no one to address, I believe this "review" is sketchy.

Private User
Private User
1 review Port Coquitlam, BC
0/10

Maid Service Groupon - Unreliable

Purchased Groupon for this service and easily made an appointment. That morning I received a text that her vehicle had broken down and she needed to reschedule; sure, no problem, things happen. Second appointment was cancelled the morning of via text as she "overdid it on the weekend"; not ideal and annoying but okay, rescheduled for the next day. THAT got cancelled the same night as she was still "in pain"... downright aggravated. Number four was cancelled via text the morning of because her child care provider was sick; ok, this happens. My fifth appointment she literally no-showed with no communication at all. Contacted her and she had completely forgot! Asked for refund and she directed me to Groupon, Groupon directed us to her as it was a local deal and apparently only refundable within three days. This is absolutely ridiculous and a complete waste of time and money. Unfortunately can't even rate her on her cleaning ability.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Due to overwhelming response we were not able to accompany everyone's date requests and had a difficult time with Groupon allowing people to receive their money back. Was out of our hands. We did not receive payment from Groupon until the job was done.

Private User
Private User
1 review Coquitlam, BC
0/10

Avoid Retro Moms Service

Tania is very unreliable and unprofessional. She cancelled last minute on multiple occasions with a variety of reasons. Bought this from Groupon and she marked it redeemed even though I did not receive any services! Could not get a refund only a credit.

Please read the reviews before booking with Retro Moms Services. Buyer beware.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunately Groupon was a massive success and we did not have enough staff in place to handle the sheer volume.
I am not sure about it being marked "redeemed" as we have never done that unless service was provided. Many of the Groupons have expired without being used though.

Maryam in Burnaby
Maryam in Burnaby
1 review Burnaby, BC
0/10

Horrible!

Tania is very unprofessional and famous for making up excuses! I do not recommend this service unless you want mediocre cleaning and bad customer handling.

She always cancels appointments without a warning before hand and gives you a hard time when you want to reschedule!

Edit: And now she is saying that the times weren't available. We scheduled several appointments, she cancelled the first one for unknown reasons, the second one because her car broke down, the third because she was sick. Somehow she always has an excuse (other reviews are saying the same thing). This woman is a complete failure.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I don't believe you had actually booked an appointment because the days I offered were not acceptable to you.

carla in Port Coquitlam
carla in Port Coquitlam
1 review Simcoe County, ON
10/10

Tania does great work!

My company and I have been working with Tania for over a year now. She consistently bends over backwards to be incredibly flexible and accommodating. She does more than is expected of her and will go out of her way to help you out. She is efficient and thorough, and if something isn't right she will fix it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Carla!
I am such a fan of your company and really enjoy contracting to you and the rest of the team! Your review means a lot!

Jeff in Port Coquitlam
Jeff in Port Coquitlam
1 review Richmond, BC
10/10

Home Cleaning

Tania provided home cleaning services for me for about 4 years. Her work is excellent. I recently sold my home and moved and she did the post move-out clean. The new owners specifically mentioned that the house was exceptionally clean. Thanks for all your work to keep my house organized and clean. I would recommend Tania for anyone who like a clean house but would rather make time for other activities.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jeff!
Thank you so much for your review!
It has been an honour to work for you and I sincerely hope once your new home is ready that you will have me back!

Jennifer from Burnaby
Jennifer from Burnaby
3 reviews Burnaby, BC

First Review

10/10

Cleaning Moving Services

Tania is THE BEST!!!! Her services are amazing AND are totally ecofriendly...she cooks too! We had her in to clean our new house after a total interior paint job, that was also three weeks after our second baby was born. She is the nicest and most professional, and does a heck of a job! I was very impressed and love spreading the word about her services. She does it all....

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Retro Mom Services

We cook, we clean. . . Just like Mom used to! Masters of household management, we clean, cook, organize, do laundry and many other household chores! We use natural supplies and are the only donestic service cleaning with vapor steam! Call us to arrange a quote!
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.