Indoor Air Quality Ottawa

Mold Detection & Removal
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Mold Detection & Removal in Ottawa  >  Indoor Air Quality Ottawa
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Indoor Air Quality Ottawa

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (49 reviews)

Sort by

Adam in Toronto
Adam in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement smell making us sick

There was a smell coming out of our basement and we didn't know from where it's coming from. We did everything possible we could to clear it (duct cleaning, housekeeping, relocating items, etc) but never worked. We also experienced respiratory issues which we think is related to the smell we're inhaling while at home. It was a stressful situation to go through. We called IAQ Ottawa and Shawn came in and determined where the smell was coming from and he gave us solutions on how to eliminate it according to our budget. It's a big relief to finally come home and not worry about our health especially we have small kids. Very thorough and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Adam. We're glad that your family is healthier and now enjoys being at home in Ottawa. We hope you have a great summer!

Sarah in MOUNT BRYDGES
Sarah in MOUNT BRYDGES
1 review Mount Brydges, ON
0/10

Beware - Very Bad Experience

This review is an expression of my own opinion, based on true facts, reasonable conclusions, and fair comments resulting from my experience. I believe it to be a matter of public interest for this information to appear on a review.

We had a very negative experience working with Shawn Rankin and Indoor Air Quality Ottawa (IAQ). I called upon IAQ in a state of distress as I was very concerned about air quality in my home. My asthmatic two year old daughter and I had just survived a very rough cold and flu season and I was concerned that we had VOCs in our indoor air, aggravating our airways.

Shawn showed up in my home and immediately gave me a bad vibe. Shawn’s delivery of information and communication style throughout the process, in my experience, felt alarmist, condescending, overwhelming, and confusing. Also, he made several accusations throughout, such as that our home inspector had missed code violations, that our realtor had colluded with the inspector and misled us, that our seller had concealed things from us, and that our home was very poorly built. He spoke very fast, in a rude tone, and used acronyms and terms that I didn’t understand. All in all, his visit was extremely stressful.

Next, Shawn and his team of recommended contractors showed up and cut 5 holes in our walls and caused over $500 of damage in the process of performing visual inspections for mold, without ever sampling the amount or typeof mold spores in our air.

He then provided a final report, which, in my opinion, was extremely long, poorly structured, contained a lot of irrelevant detail, was difficult to consume, was absent actual data on the scale of mold present in our home, and really did not provide a clear or reasonable path forward. It also contained an error that made parts of the report look like a cut and paste of another client’s report, or something that was reused and put together quickly and carelessly.

All said and done, we were charged $1130 for 5 hours of Shawn’s time and did not feel that the cost was even close to commensurate with the value of services provided.

The most concerning part of the experience, however, was the scale and cost of upgrades proposed in the scope of work developed by Shawn, again, absent any actual measurement of mold in our home. He drafted a scope of work costing $20k - $40k to completely gut and rebuild our basement, as well as to action several massively expensive additional upgrades. He also mentioned on site that he would need to be called in several times throughout the recommended work to perform additional tests for Hunta virus, asbestos in the drywall, etc, (all costing $200 an hour) and then come back again to perform clearance testing and sampling to the tune of another $500 plus in additional costs.

In the end, and through engaging others to help us, the root cause of our issue turned out to be plumbing related (fixed for $1k), with the mold clean up being quite isolated and minimal. Future mold prevention didn’t require anything more than simply opening the closet door and allowing our dehumidifier to dry out any condensation forming on the interior walls. We have been left wondering - did Shawn attempt to take advantage of us? Did he really try to help us or did he just see us as an easy target for himself and his network of contractors (2/3 of his recommended contractors disclosed to us that they were his cottage property neighbors) to make money? Did he purposely try to inflame and exacerbate our concerns for the safety and health of our family? Is that ethical? Is this something he does on a regular basis? Based on our experience, we wanted to ensure we shared our story to protect others out there.

Shawn did succeed in educating us a lot on air quality, but through a very stressful, confusing, and frankly, exhausting, roundabout way. He was clear about costs up front, and did deliver everything that he said he would provide. However, I truly wish I had never engaged with IAQ. I would have saved myself a lot of bad vibes, wasted energy, and wasted money (although it could have been worse if I would have trusted his recommendations). We didn’t action any work with anyone he recommended. We would not recommend IAQ to anyone and will not be working with him again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. In my 20+ years of experience, when first time home buyers are confronted with pre-existing, unknown deficiencies, and the true cost of proper repairs, buyer’s remorse may develop. Please don’t shoot the messenger.

To set the record straight, you declined mold sampling, therefore mold testing was not performed. We inspected your house in May followed by a meeting with the HVAC contractor, ducting, and remediation contractors at your insistent request. There were numerous signs of moisture incursions in your basement – mold staining, musty odour, 14-40% lumber moisture, silverfish bugs under carpets, recently patched new drywall, and an active foundation leak all noted in our technical report. In your own words, you requested a lifetime solution “tent vs cabin” rebuild options and we provided both a budget-friendly and a high-end, mold-resistant solution, together with a DIY and professional clean-up alternatives. Our report quoted industry standards and federal guidelines to comply with occupant health and safety during the remediation process.

You had four contractors in to price the job, requested extra no-charge site visits, several price reductions, numerous job spec alterations, and then the total rejection of all contractors altogether. You also threatened my staff with negative online reviews when you were contacted for payment, and yet you continued to consult with IAQ Ottawa 5 times for free with lengthy technical inquiries up to the day you posted a negative review. If you don’t have faith in our expertise, why did you continue to consult after receipt of our report? You indicated your plumber fixed the problem! How does a plumber repair a leak in the foundation, or install a forced-air furnace? The dehumidifer you mentioned will help, but it is not the "lifetime solution" you insisted on for your report.

You received a professional inspection from IAQ Ottawa, a comprehensive technical report including energy-saving mechanical, heating and ventilation redesign, with free VOC testing twice ($200). At any rate, you seem to have figured out what you need to improve your air quality, and we wish you good luck to your future endeavours.

ehgrumpy1
ehgrumpy1
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Basement

Shawn did a complete indoor and outdoor inspection on my house, very thorough, very professional. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you sir! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you you would like to consult further.

Private User
Private User
1 review , ON
10/10

Air quality issue

We spoke to Shawn and he was incredibly helpful with our air quality issue. He provided us piece of mind and I would recommend this company to anyone. Thank you again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You're welcome! Glad to be of help.

stu in
stu in
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Testing indoor air quality

I have an allergic condition which requires me to supplement my breathing with oxygen. In an attempt to alleviate this condition, I am having extensive renovations to the basement of my house. After requesting an appointment with Indoor Air Quality Ottawa using their online form, I received both a telephone call and an email confirming the date and time. Shawn, the Inspector, arrived on the dot, and we had a general discussion about the renovations completed to date. He had brought his measuring instruments, but after our discussion he commented that he thought that I was doing everything reasonable and that measurements would not gain much at this time. (I hope that I have stated this correctly). At this point, he said that he would waive his fee, which is normally $400 for the first two hours. He spoke authoritatively and certainly seemed to know the subject matter. Overall, a very positive experience and I would highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the very nice review; it was not expected but very much appreciated. Ultra-fine particle cleaning once all renovations are complete is recommended. Hope you are feeling better soon.

Private User
Private User
1 review , ON
10/10

mold detection

very polite on the phone arrived on time for the appointment .Found the problem in the wall with a thermal camera right away. the first company I had inspect could not find the foundation leak .they wanted me to open walls or dig outside. I recommend Mr Rankin for your inspection

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your nice and informative review. Building science is one of our strengths. A thermal imaging device is not a “point and shoot” camera. The Canadian government has created the need for Infrared thermographer certifications in its National Master Specification (NMS Building Enclosures). This level of thermographer training certification cannot be obtained by taking an online, short-term webinar. Canadian NMS certifications require a minimum of 32 hours in-class training (ASNT L1) followed by exams, assignments, and re-certification every 5 years. Our thermographer has completed the Level 1 Certified Building Investigations qualifications and complies with the National Master Specification (NMS Building Enclosures, Level 1).

jerry.rip
jerry.rip
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Basement odor correction

Testing for source and type of sudden foul odor emanating from certain area of the basement.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jerry for trusting us to investigate the source of the unidentified odour and to provide you with solutions and remediation recommendations to make your home healthier.

phill in
phill in
1 review , ON
10/10

Mould detection

We were getting bad smell coming from a room in our basement and could not identify where this smell was originating. After contacting IAQ we had Mr. Rankin visit us, after a thorough inspection and questioning he was able to determine we had moisture in a wall and mould was developing. Mr. Rankin was very helpfull by pinpointing the problem but also on tips on what steps to take to get this issue resolved.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Phill. We are glad to help resolve your air quality concerns and restore your healthy environment.

Private User
Private User
1 review , ON
10/10

Air quality inspection

Shawn took the time to explain concept of how to get a better air quality in the house and how we can improve our house. It was more than an inspection. Very professional, personable and answered our follow up questions. I would highly recommend his
services. The administration at the office is also marvellous, courteous and offer outstanding quality service. Very happy with my experience with them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Mike in Brighton
Mike in Brighton
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Mold in our basement and IAQ helped us out.

My wife and I have nothing but great things to say about Shawn and his company. Our summer turnned out to be a mold horror show in our basement! For anyone that finds themselves in this situation, you will know how stressfull it is.

We contacted shawn for initial advice on what to do and even without agreeing to go with his company, he suggested how we could isolate our basement from the rest of the house to keep our family safe.

When Shawn arrived to do his assesment, he was ontime and knew exactly what to look for. He explained why we were having the problem and assured us that we would be able to remediate the problem. After taking the air samples he provided us with a written report and actions required by the remediation company to remove all thr mold and contaminated materials. In his report, he also detailed what repairs/modifications would need to be made to our house in order to ensure that the mold would not return.

Shawn is a knowledgeable individual in the air quality buisness and has always been willing to provide us with advice and guidance. My wife and I would definitely recommend him to anyone.

Thanks for the great service IAQ-Shawn!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mike, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Good luck with the basement renovation. Let me know how the kitchen plug moisture leak works out. As discussed, once you have it open, I will come by no charge for a quick assessment. Happy holidays!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Indoor Air Quality Ottawa

Talk to a professionally trained, certified, experienced air quality consultant today. 613-821-0035

At Indoor Air Quality Ottawa, our strength is identifying the source of problems so you can thrive in a healthy environment.

Identifying an odour is secondary to determining why it occurred in the first place. Our strength lies in finding the source – mould, sewer gas, combustion spillage, chemical off-gassing – then ensuring it won’t come back again by specifying remediation solutions that fix the root cause of the problem.

IAQ Ottawa will identify your air quality concerns and deliver professional, cost-effective, permanent solutions. Our professionally trained consultants have provided solutions to all types of air quality conditions since 2003.

“3000+ residential inspections. 350+ commercial inspections”

For more information, please visit www.iaqo.ca or email us at [email protected]

CATEGORIES
Mold Detection & Removal, Asbestos & Lead Removal, and Home Inspection
PRODUCTS
Residential, Commercial and Industrial Air Quality Inspection and Testing / Workshops & customized courses on air quality / Woodworking Workshop Safety Program
SERVICES
We test for: Mould (Air, Bulk, Surface) / Asbestos / Bacteria / Temperature / Relative Humidity and Moisture Mapping / Ventilation Rates Total Building (VRP) / Duct Air Flow And Velocity Rates / Lead / Respirable Suspended Particulates / Gravimetric Nuisance Dust Levels / Formaldehyde / Oil Mists / Nitrogen Dioxide / Low Level Explosive Gas / Methane / Designated Substance Surveys / Phase I & II Environmental / Site Assessments / Building Durability Summaries / Carbon Monoxide / Carbon Dioxide / Sulfur Dioxide / Chloride / Ammonia / Volatile Organic Compounds (off-gassing) / Oxygen / Radon / Hydrogen sulfide (sewer gas) / Hydrocarbon Soil Sampling / Ozone / Data Logger Machine Rental | Our standards and protocols: NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health) / IICRC (The Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification) / ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers) / HRAI (The Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada) / CMHC (Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation) / NEHA-NRPP (National Environmental Health Association - National Radon Proficiency Program) / Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) / IAQ Resources Canada / EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) / Health Canada / Ontario Safety Association for Community and Healthcare (OSACH) / Federal Regulations
SPECIALITIES
Air Quality Inspections, Defect Recognition, Mold/Asbestos/Radon testing, Smoke Testing
WEBSITE
http://www.iaqo.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2003
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Check, Credit Card, Interac e-Transfer
LICENSES
CIEC (Council-Certified Indoor Environmental Consultant)
MEMBERSHIPS
IAQA, HRAI, NACHI
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.