HomeStars  >  Builders in Toronto  >  Perfect Renovations Group
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Perfect Renovations Group

Average customer rating:
7.4 10 (29 reviews)

Sort by

Sylvia in Scarborough
2 reviews Toronto, ON

My husband and I chose this firm because of the high ratings on HomeStars but we were dismayed at their lack of organization and the low quality of many of their tradespeople. Their business model doesn't work - one of their project managers sells you the job, then sends in the various tradespeople without giving them enough information to do the work. The trades came in not knowing what they were supposed to do, what fixtures they were supposed to put in, etc, and I became the liaison. These trades were always in a hurry to finish, because they were paid by the job, so plumbing was put in improperly and had to be replaced, painting was done slipshod and had to be redone. They do have good tradespeople, but they are stretched over too many jobs. The one thing I can commend them for was they knew when a job had to be redone and came back to do it. However, this all took time: because the tile was put in improperly in the ensuite, both the wall and the shower floor, it had to be ripped out and re-installed, a huge job. So to gut and re-do the ensuite bathroom plus a small basement powder room, a job that should have taken 6-8 weeks, took nearly 4 months. I can only wonder at the high ratings.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sylvia we do not know who you are? However it sounds like the company was accountable in fixing your issue that really rare that a company paid and redid all the work. We deserve a 10 and not a 1 if that was the case. Please contact me [email protected] Hi Sylvia my second request if you can identify yourself can give us a call. I would love to see how we could have made this experience better. But yes if we do something wrong we will fix it and make it right.

Grantmcfarlane8 in Toronto, Ontario
1 review Toronto, ON

We have had Les manage several jobs. They have all been successfully completed. Most projects have been completed without issue, and when we did want changes, they were willing to make us happy as part of the agreed deal.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Grant,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our customer service and quality workmanship. We hope to work with you on your next project.

The Home Improvement Group

Christina from Old Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON

We had an extensive basement renovation done. Overall, I am happy with the results and my family and I are enjoying our beautiful basement. I have to say that the workers that came to my house were respectful and hardworking. Bob did the bulk of the building and did a fantastic job. The stairs look amazing in part to the builder, but also the painter too. Cosimo did a terrific job with the porcelain tiles. We had some electrical issues with the heated floors, but Bruno was dedicated to fixing the problem and he did. We love our floors. The project manager, Robert, was always accessible and willing to resolve any issues that came up along the way (and issues are expected with a project this size).

I did find the company more expensive than others, however, considering how large the project was the company sent out workers every day 6x a week and the work was done in a timely fashion. I'm sure it would have taken much longer if we had gone with another company. I do recognize that we had very good crews work on my basement. As with any large company, different employees might bring about different results. One person did not do a satisfactory job, I complained, and Perfect had someone else redo the work. I'm now happy with the work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Christina,
We appreciate your kind review. I hope this assures our customer when you are fully paid we will come back and fix any concerns.

Private User
1 review Oakville, ON

Lack of leadership professionalism and organization
Owner has another full-time job-not fully invested
Quality of work was deplorable
Acknowledged poor quality but charged in full to correct mistakes
Compensation was offered but re-negged
Billed us in full before completion of the reno
Terrible, stressful experience
Better regulation required to oversee existing sub-standard
renovators and better screening to prevent entry of new applicants to this category

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm disappointed that you had to go to such lengths to discredit a company. Your bathroom looks awesome and we fully complied with our warranty. You still have $1800.00 in furniture that you need to return or pay for it. We made so many changes to your bathroom just because you did like what you decided upon for no charge. We don't deserve such a review when we also worked to try to make you happy.

Private User
2 reviews Burlington, ON

I had such high hopes for this reno, everyone was very professional and seemed to know what they were doing. The reno started 3 days late which I'm told is the norm, it took 8 days (because the plumber cancelled twice), and overall I was not happy with it. Tiles were installed chipped or cracked in half, my faucet in my shower was installed crooked, the plumber had no clue what he was doing, (thank god my contractor didn't let him leave until he fixed it) he installed my tub without following the instructions so the front panel isn't properly sealed (still!), he installed the wrong piping for my vanity so the doors wouldn't close (they decided to cut my vanity to make them close), he also took it upon himself to take pieces of my faucet that didn't fit rather than tell me. The project started beginning of June and just finished last weekend (July long weekend) because they had to come back 4 times for repairs to fix their mistakes. The PM was really helpful and friendly don't get me wrong. I think the only person who did a great job and didnt have to come back was the electrician. I ended up paying a lot more in materials than originally quoted and all the materials I paid for were taken in the end (leftover drywall etc) and it was never explained to me why the cost was significantly higher. I would not recommend using this company.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi I'm not sure of your name or if you a customers or not since it's says Private user. I do care about your experience and I would like to speak to you.

Maria Mastoris from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON

I have never had to write a negative review, as a matter of fact, I have been extremely pleased with the work that has been completed in my home by other companies over the years. This project unfortunately started wrong from the original contractor (who was fired by us as he did not show up to the work site often) and ended that way. I unfortunately cannot write a positive review about our experience and justifiably so.

I am not out to bash the company because that is not my style. I would only like to make the next person aware that this is an extremely large company, and you are either going to be one of the lucky ones who will have a very talented crew come out (as was in my sister's case) or a crew who is not capable of completing a good job from the beginning (unfortunately this happened to us).

The work performed was not professional, incorrectly completed from the start and patched up over and over and over. The company has a policy that makes the person who initially completes the job accountable, but after the 3rd attempt I demanded someone else, you certainly cannot blame me for that. Kris, a very capable employee came out to connect the crown moulding once again, but it unfortunately separated as it is wood and it was never cut on an angle, just straight across. He actually completed the crown moulding in the kitchen which turned out fantastic! He is certainly worth his weight in gold!

The closet opening was not done according to measurements given, the baseboards were not joined correctly, the window trim was installed incorrectly, the crown in the dining room was installed upside down, only to mention a few. The fine detail was inferior at best. My husband was the painter of this project, and as the work had to be corrected over and over, he had to paint and still needs to paint the corrections. This not only was time consuming on his part but also expensive and nobody seemed to care about a finished product. Just about the money, that's all.

I know the company will say they deducted some money off the final bill and yes they did, after all that however, I would much rather have paid them the full bill and had a fine job done from the start, rather than a credit and an unbelievable amount of stress.

So here we are today, having to paint our walls and ceiling that were destroyed once again from all the patching and very unhappy about that. The company keeps saying they want their customers to be happy. I am not convinced. Nobody cared to come out and inspect the final product and when Robert came to pick up the final amount by cheque, (make sure to not give them a credit card as I did, that is a different story in itself) he kept talking about what a wonderful job they did on my sister's home and did not seem to care about the end result of our home. By the way, my sister's very expensive project was a referral from my husband and I (that is before we knew what we were getting into).

David, the salesman for the company is very much a yes man, does not follow through with what he says and makes false promises. Make sure everything is in your contract, I mean "everything".

You know in life people do not like the truth, the reason why is because the truth hurts. I have nothing to gain or lose by telling you the true story.

I hope this will help you make your final choice when you are renovating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Maria,
We are very disappointed as a company to read your review. We are a company that prides ourselves in the customer service and the quality of work in which we provide to our customers. Any concern that you brought forward to the company was dealt with immediately by our staff. We are not a company that doesn't show up as; unfortunately you had to experience with your original contractor. We are a company that stands behind the work we do. All materials were supplied by yourself and we installed the material that was provided. We never walked away Maria.We waited over 3 months for your kitchen to be completed by another contractor
while keeping in constant contact with you. The credits that were applied to your account were for materials not used and garbage removal. We sent Kris in and you mentioned he did a fantastic job as; we always make sure our customers are happy in the end. As; you can imagine our disappointment when we saw your review. We as a company wished if you had further concerns that you would have brought it to our attention when Robert came to do your final walk through.

If you have any questions or concerns we are always here to assist you.
Best regards,
Customer Service Manager

Sharyn Borovoy from Uxbridge
2 reviews Uxbridge, ON

We hired Perfect Renovations Group to re-finish our kitchen cabinets a couple of weeks ago. We were changing the colour from a very light cream to black which we were nervous about. After contacting Perfect Renovations Group, they got back to me right away with a start date within the week. Chris called us ahead of time to confirm a start time of 8:00am (although he wanted to started at 7:30am – he starts early!). He was there on time. He took all the cabinet doors and drawer faces off and painted all the outsides of the cabinets right then and there. He said he would be back in a week with all the doors refinished. As promised, he was at our house a week later with cabinet doors in hand. He proceeded to do touch ups and finish off the outsides of the cabinets, installed all the doors and drawer faces. They look amazing!!!!! Perfect Renovations were very easy to work with, did an excellent job and were very professional throughout the process. We look forward to getting Perfect Renovations Group to a lot more work for us. Thank you sooooooooooooooo much!!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the kind words.

Deborah Longshaw from Toronto
7 reviews Toronto, ON

I hired this company to do a simple job like painting, install a new bathroom floor. I paid for all materials for both jobs. They ended up ruining the bathroom floor material I originally paid for, tried to rip up carpet on the stairs that was not included and ruined the first 3 steps of original 1920 hardwood. Their Field Operations Rep quit and left me hanging on when the work would be completed. They then tried to charge me for more material and labour to replace the bathroom floor they ruined. Some guy showed up and he was going to try and cover up the ruined floor until I stopped him. Even after I escalated the ruined floor and their rep came out, he still tried to cover up the damaged floor by having a guy put a piece of the laminate floor in place where the damage was. They dragged the claw tub in place and the floor was also ruined where the legs had dug in by dragging it. Their go to guy ended up repainting the bathroom cause it was a horrible job. They made a mess throughout the house and did not clean up each time they left. They broke the shower head for the claw tub and then tried to outsource one a little too late. They delayed selling of the home by 3 months which should have taken them a little over a month to complete the work. They then wanted to put a lien on the home after it was already sold. Then they wanted to take me to court for an invoice balance that is totally wrong. Then they tried to charge me an addl $3450. They threw away original plumbing for 1920 and including the floor vent without checking and then tried to bill me for extras. So at the end of the day for a simple painting and replace bathroom floor they expected payment of $8,232.00. Many emails later and escalated calls back and forth for 3 months I finally had to sell the home and could not wait for them to replace the shower rod they broke to the 1920 clawtub. Do not hire them. They only care about increasing the cost from what they quoted originally

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Deborah,
Your review is way out of line and incorrect and for one reason only you just don't want to pay your bill which is now 6 months overdue. You have been abusive from the start and my staff and my wife and at times you belittled my staff and employees. I had many complaints from them but we try to always be as customer service oriented as we can. I agree we had a mistake and it happened in the bathroom we fixed it and did not charge you for anything for that and we apologized. We service 750 customers per year and have a big team and can't be perfect but try our best to fix any customer issue without argument.
Two of the staff at you home have been on Multiple Episodes of HGTV so they can be that bad.
We ordered you a new Rod ( Special Order) and called and called you to install it but you never returned our or my calls it's still in our office today.
Painting a 100 year old home with Plaster is not a simple job, and we did it great and did way more work that we should have to make it look right for your sale, and did not come back for more money as my staff new we worked together and I thought we were friends. In the end of the day you still owe the company money and we never put a lien your house and could have held up your sale and it's a normal policy in construction that we as contractors have a right to do so if people don't pay there bills and we never did as we trusted you would pay your bill and I guessed we are wrong. After many repeated attempts to even have a conversation you never call me back. If I have still some errors on the invoice then call me and let me know and I'll fix it but I have reviewed it with my team and we see not issues. However now to post something is stretches the truth is not fair and and abuse of public reviews on this site as you need to honor up and try to have a discussion with me and solve you outstanding invoice with me and the company please. I do hope that you can be considerate to give me a call. Debroah I have not done any further collection activity with you as I hope as former friends and co-workers we can have a simple conversation about your invoice.

Susan James in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

I am painting my house and I need someone to do the upper hall I do not do well with heights. I had Perfect Painter's paint my upper hall...they did a GREAT Job!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Susan,

Thank you for for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience with Perfect Painters. Providing exceptional customer service is extremely important to us. Looking forward to working with you in the future. Kindest regards,
Alexia ~ Inside Sales/Customer Service Rep

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.