Kitchen Revival

Cabinetry & Millwork
2-10 Wyndham Street North Guelph ON N1H 4E3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

64%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Kitchen Revival

Average customer rating:
7.5 10 (11 reviews)

Sort by

Karly in Toronto
Karly in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Rushed job resulted in disappointing results

Our kitchen turned out fine. Looks better than pre-renos though the job was rushed and results subpar. Many nail pops rendering the kitchen dangerous for my infant. Phil was scattered and forgot about design agreements making many mistakes. Overall the kitchen looks better than before but did not meet my expectations.

UPDATE: our kitchen Reno's concluded in December. In under 2 months 2 drawers have broken. Changed review to 0 stars. Would not recommend. We have contacted Phil to repair and he has ignored our texts. Don't waste your time or money!! Found a great wood shop in Guelph who was able to fix Kitchen Revivals poor craftsmanship and mistakes at a fair price and their work is far superior.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi KC,

I'm sorry you're not happy with the work. We did our best with the cabinets we were working with. We refaced your cabinets with new shaker doors and it looks fantastic. If I remember correctly, the concern surrounding the nails were from two nails inside one of the drawers that was not fully driven in from my nail gun. I have since purchased a new nail gun so this doesn't happen again. Of course I did remedy your concern when you told me about it. I'm sorry if I seemed scattered...it was very busy leading up to the Christmas holidays and things were a bit hectic with delays from suppliers.

I'm sorry for the negative experience with KR. I wish you all the best

CC
CC
1 review Elora, ON
1/10

Kitchen Reno

Going to brutally honest. The work that was done in the shop was well done. Unfortunately, the work that was done in house was not. Tape Preparation was done horribly which resulted in our hardwood floors and dishwasher being spray painted. As well our silgranite sink was used to mix paint and clean up was neglected all together.

The spray painting in house was also rushed leaving globby sections and pieces half complete like the kick plate and open faced cupboard. All of which was repainted by hand.

In the end the poor work was blamed on the pandemic and the inability to get quality workers. No discounts were offered and I still have not received the glass for the cupboard door that was broken.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi CC,

I'm sorry for your bad experience with KR. We go to great lengths to protect the surrounding area in your house when working in the kitchen. We set up an airtight spray booth in all of the kitchens we work on and use the appropriate adhesives depending on the surface we are applying it to. We use yellow frog tape that is specifically designed to be used on delicate surfaces. As discussed prior to work beginning, we did go over this and I advised you that sometimes wall paint peels even with the delicate surface tape. We were able to touch it up with the wall paint you had left over.

As for the floor, unfortunately mistakes happen from time to time and I felt/feel badly. As discussed at the time, the dark colour paint used for the island was very thin and resulted in the paint at the base of the island to get past the tapes edge. We use green frog tape on the floor of every kitchen where protection is most important. The green frog tape is specifically engineered to adhere to the surface it is applied to with maximum adhesion when it comes into contact with moisture. Which is why we wet the edge of the tape before spraying. I was unfortunately not given the opportunity to clean the floor with an appropriate cleaner and you brushed it off when we spoke about it in the kitchen. I didn't even know how upset you were until your wife told me on the phone later that night.

As for the sink, it was not communicated to me that you were keeping your old sink with your new countertop. Usually when getting a new quartz countertop a new sink is generally purchased also. We had just removed the rest of the countertop and left only the sink portion remaining for the purpose of cleaning our equipment as I had assumed a new sink was in order. I'm sorry for that miscommunication. When I know a new sink is not an option we ask to use the laundry sink if there is one. However sometimes using the kitchen sink can't be avoided as we need to clean the equipment in an appropriate time frame so the hardener added to the industrial coatings we use doesn't harden in our equipment.

It took us two days to spray the cabinets in your kitchen. It was definitely not rushed. What you are referring to is called runs or drips. These sometimes happen and we wait for the paint to fully dry then sand it away and respray. We never leave visible drips or runs. The runs you are referring to were in an open base cabinet and at the back of the cabinet. Unfortunately, we missed that because it is not common practice for us get on our hands and knees to look at the back of base cabinets under the shelf which is the only way to see that area you are referring to. A flash light or head lamp would also be required to see what you are unhappy with. I did sand it out and brushed another coat on at your request. Brushing touch ups on sprayed surfaces such as kick plates or hard to see areas is standard practice in the refinishing industry. We add a reducer to the paint that eliminates any brush marks by extending the dry time giving the paint time to lay down smoothly. Any touchups needed on high visible areas such as doors, cabinet ends, and gables are touched up with the sprayer on site.

The pandemic has made it difficult for many businesses. Mine is no different. From getting supplies on time to finding skilled employees has been a challenge for many. My crew has sprayed over 30 kitchens since I trained them. Everyone makes mistakes because we are all human. I have full confidence in their abilities to give a quality finish and I always look over their work to ensure nothing is left unfinished. A discount was not asked for nor offered because as an acquaintance of mine I didn't charge for a lot of extras that were required for this job. We need extra paint, the skirting for the island was not quoted, and I didn't charge my usual fee for countertop removal. In the end your kitchen looks beautiful with no visible imperfections.

I'm sorry you had such a negative experience with KR and I wish you all the best.

Ruth W.
Ruth W.
1 review Fergus, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

From start to finish Phil was a pleasure to deal with. Very professional and personable. I love my kitchen renovated with the dark colours rather than the golden oak. Phil was always on time and accommodating with my requests. I have an hectic schedule but Phil was always there when I was available. I would not hesitate in recommending Kitchen Revival to all my friends. Once again. GREAT job Phil and also to your staff.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,300.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ruth, thanks so much for the kind words. I'm happy you like your kitchen with the new dark colour, it looks great! It was a pleasure working with you

graham&sharon
graham&sharon
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

We checked two references and after seeing their kitchens, were more than impressed with the superior quality of work by Kitchen Revival.

We had no hesitancy asking them to do our kitchen and couldn’t be happier with the results. It’s s like having a new kitchen ! We wanted to paint rather than replace the kitchen doors but were concerned about the oak grain showing through white. We didn’t need to worry, the effect is beautiful ! ! !
We highly recommend Phil and Delby and Kitchen Revival .

Graham and Sharon

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure working with you both. I'm very glad you are so happy with your new kitchen.

Debbie
Debbie
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen cabinet refinishing

Phil and Scott did a great job. Their attention to detail was excellent and they left nothing unfinished. The work was done within the time frame Phil gave us when he provided the quote. Their process was not very intrusive, we were able to keep everything in our cabinets and drawers, they worked around it all. The cabinets and doors look fantastic! They look like they came brand new from the factory. We didn’t want to spend tens of thousands of dollars on removing the old kitchen and having a new one designed. We like the layout of our kitchen so this seemed like an obvious choice. At a fraction of the cost of a new kitchen. Very pleased and would recommend Kitchen Revival to anyone that might be thinking of painting their cabinets.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, thanks so much for the review. It's always nice to hear when clients are happy with our work. It was a pleasure working with you. Let me know when you're ready to do your bathroom vanities.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

My note to Delby:

Hi Delby:

I'm not sure if you are still in the kitchen renovation business, but I just wanted you to know that I love, love, love my new kitchen, so thank you.

A happy customer from Elora

Approximate cost of services:
$3,300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for letting us know you are still enjoying your kitchen and are happy with our service. We always strive to make all of our clients as happy as you are.

John from Guelph
John from Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen Revival

Delby was very easy to work with and extremely helpful with taking me through styles and materials and what would look best. Delby was very profession and made things simple and understandable.
Transformation was amazing, very happy with the work, and the finish kitchen. On time and on budget. Delby would turn up on time and always leave the kitchen clean and tidy. I would recommend Kitchen Revival to anybody who wants to jazz up there old kitchen as Delby can give it a make over you wont believe. The workmanship superb, installation perfect. 2 weeks later we are very happy and we would recommend them anytime.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so glad to hear that you are pleased with our service. Thank you for the kind words and recommendation.

Jessie from Guelph
Jessie from Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Transformation was amazing. I went from ugly dated oak to a fresh cloud white. The added new hardware, valance and crown made my kitchen look like a million bucks! THank you Delby

Approximate cost of services:
$3,800.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jessie, I'm happy to hear you are pleased with the final product. We believe crown moulding and valance is important to be added to every kitchen we revive. It brings the kitchen up to date and ties everything together nicely.

Helena from Guelph
Helena from Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

I found Kitchen Revival's ad in Our Homes Magazine.
I met Delby and he gave a timely quote and completed on time for respraying my kitchen. It looks brand new and I saved thousands of dollars!! Delby also provided me with 8 references from jobs up to 5 years prior. I followed up with many happy clients so I felt good about my decision. I would happily recommend this economical route!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,600.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for kind words

Katrina from Guelph
Katrina from Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

I was truly pleased with my transformation of my kitchen by respraying my existing cupboards and replacing my dated hardware. But my biggest surprise was when Delby was able to rebuild my 1960's built-in hallway linen closet that was fallen apart in multiple pieces due to previous tenants destroying it. He ordered new doors and even made pot drawers on sliders that were 3 feet deep! I cannot tell everyone enough how exciting it is to have this functional and beautiful again!! Amazing and very affordable.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your new kitchen

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Kitchen Revival

Kitchen Revival gives new life to your existing cabinetry with a high quality, factory grade finish. Our process leaves no runs, drips or brush strokes. We revive your kitchen or bathroom in an environmentally friendly manner at a fraction of the cost of replacing expensive custom cabinets. We repair, seal ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Cabinetry & Millwork pros in Guelph?