Birk's Landscaping Inc

Landscape Contractors & Designers
2897 Solina Road RR 3 Bowmanville ON L1C 3K4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Birk's Landscaping Inc

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (25 reviews)

Sort by

Linda from Durham Region
Linda from Durham Region
11 reviews Whitby, ON

First Review

2/10

Landscaping

The crew were friendly but the follow-up service is horrible. Were told our plants were guaranteed for a year as well as the work. Instead of replacing a japanese maple that sustained winter damage, they pruned it so it was no longer the 6ft tree we were promised. Two of the other plants died and they only replaced one. One of the stones shifted and it was like pulling teeth to get them to come back and fix it. Also, they used old dirt to fill the gardens and lawn back in and garbage is still coming up through the soil. It looks better in our front yard than before but I would never use them again. I think we were overcharged.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Linda, thank you for taking time to write this review and bringing these issues to our attention. At Birk’s Landscaping customer service is extremely important as referrals are a large part of our business. Due to the anonymity of this review, I am unable to actually have a look at the service sheet to find your exact concerns that we were trying to address. I am sorry that you had an issue with our service work, and hopefully I can shed some light on what happened in this situation. Yes, we do offer a one year warranty on our plants, and if they are deemed dead within this warranty period, they will be replaced. You mentioned in the review that the crews only trimmed off the dead branches from your Japanese Maple instead of replacing it. Our crew’s typical procedure is to examine the tree first to determine whether it is dead and needs replacing, or if the plant would recover with just some minor pruning. In this situation, it was clear that the plant would completely recover; therefor the crew trimmed the plant accordingly.

You also mentioned that the crew used “old dirt” to fill in the gardens. I want to assure you that our crews always use fresh soil, straight from one of our suppliers, for the gardens that we have done work in.

As I mentioned before we are sorry that you had such a bad experience. If there is anything we can do to help us regain your trust, please let us know by calling our office directly at 905-404-0602. I would be more than happy to discuss this matter further!

Ruel from Pickering
Ruel from Pickering
16 reviews Pickering, ON
3/10

Driveway, front entrance, walkway

Bad experience with is company. When I had the estimate we agreed on a timeframe to start. I leave a deposit then I get bumped nearly a month later. The person I dealt with was impossible to reach (they only leave you office extension). I had to threaten to pull out of the project then they finally agreed on working wi the original timeframe. They would not even share the blueprint the quote was based on so I was never able to confirm that I got what I wanted. Work was good not great but overall experience was a nightmare. I think they overbook on purpose to get work then push everyone away (they bumped someone so they could do mine). Will never consider using them again, I would try to do it by myself first (which would never happen either). To sum it up, they are not cheap, work is ok and communication and respect of time is terrible. Workers were nice.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ruel, thank you for taking time to write this review. Due to the anonymity of this review I am unable to actually have a look at your contract to better understand your concerns. I am sorry that you had an issue with our work and hopefully I can shed some light on what happened in this situation. You mentioned during the estimate process you had agreed on a time-frame to have the job started. During the estimate process the time frame is only a guess based on the jobs sold up to the point but does not take into account delays like weather, material back orders and customer add ons etc. For example situations that happened in a previous month can affect the timing of every job after that. I apologize if you experienced any delays, however I can assure you that your job was not pushed back. In regards to the landscaping design (blueprint), we would have been more than happy to mail you a copy upon request, as long as the contract was signed.Customer service is our priority. We do our best to maintain the suggested time frame of every job.

Again, we are sorry that your experience was not as expected. If there is anything we can do to help regain your confidence, please let us know by calling our office directly at 905-404-0602.

Sharon from Pickering
Sharon from Pickering
26 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

LANDSCAPING AND RETAINING WALL

Our first experience with Birks Landscaping was back in mid 1990’s. At that time we had 24”x24” patio pavers around the pool, the back patio and on the walkways in our side yard. They removed the slaps and installed interlocking in all these areas. They did an excellent job. So when we decided in 2009 to fill in our pool, once again contacted Birk’s. This time they filled in our pool and sod that area. Peter provided great suggestions on how we could reuse the interlocking stones that had been removed. He used some of them make a small patio in the back. Then using the balance of the interlock he landscaped the front of our house with an amazing patio and surrounded it with beautiful gardens. Once again we found Peter and his crew punctual and professional. Our neighbours couldn’t believe the transformation to the front of our house. This year, we once again had a major project that we knew would require a skilled landscaping team to complete. We had no hesitation in contacting Peter again. Our lot is about 8 feet below the neighbours behind us, so we require a retaining wall across the 65 feet at the back of our yard. The wall that was there was made of pressure treated wood that was falling apart. The difficult part about doing any work in our back yard is the limited access, which requires a lot of the work to be done by small Bobcats and manual labour. When I spoke with Peter, I asked him to figure out a way to build us a new retaining wall using armor rock. He came up with a plan that provided exactly what I asked for. We signed the contract on April 17/14 and the work started on May 8th and we now have a beautiful 2 level armor rock retaining wall with a garden in each level. The crew was a great bunch of guys who worked very hard to provide us with as little disruption as possible. When the wall was done they repaired all the area’s affected by the work. We want to thank Peter and his crew for a job well done.
If you are looking for a company that will provide expert workmanship, pride in the job and commitment to service contact Birk’s Landscaping. They will provide all that and more at a very completive price. We highly recommend for your next landscaping project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review and the repeat work Sharon!

Jason in Cliffside
Jason in Cliffside
2 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Interlock back patio

We searched for three quotes of various companies in our area they were all excellent and we narrowed it down to Peter and Birks Landscaping. Currently they are still working on the back yard but I really thought I would update this as we went. The crew arrived exactly when the said they would and started to work immediately, they are very professional and have been very careful around the areas they aren't wokring on. They have done and excellent job and work long hard days with very short breaks. We are about 3/4 of the way through the job and so far everything is excellent! The back yard looks amazing and every detail outlined on the quote has been addressed.

So far an amazing job I would highly reccomend Peter, Scott and the crew to anyone looking for yard work.
I will also add a quick kudos to Randy and the crew at Brooklin concrete who were very helpful when we were choosing the brick colour and pattern.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jason!

mercia
mercia
3 reviews Pickering, ON
8/10

landscape front and back yard

contracted birk's to do a complete landscape project both front and back yard. we were pleased overall with the results. peter is great to deal with very professional and has great ideas. the completion of the work was a little slow but the weather was also a big factor. we will definitely use them again on future projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mercia, we look forward to working with you on future projects!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Birk's Landscaping Inc

Birk’s Landscaping is a design/build landscaping company that has been doing business in the Durham Region since 1991. We are involved in all stages of the landscaping process from the very first idea until the last brick has been put in place and beyond. Half of our clientele are referrals from our satisfied customers. Birk’s specializes in: Pool landscaping, Patios, Walkways, Driveways, Front Entrances, Pergolas and Decks.

To see if Birk’s is a perfect fit for your landscaping dreams give us a call at 905-404-0602 or for more information feel free to visit our website www.birkslandscaping.net

CATEGORIES
Landscape Contractors & Designers
WEBSITE
http://www.birkslandscaping.net
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1991
PAYMENT METHOD
Most payment methods accepted.
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario and Canadian Nursery Landscape Association
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 year warranty for stone work 1 year for plants
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.