Empire Deck & Fence

Decks
Ottawa ON K2H 8K7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Decks
Empire Deck & Fence
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 2 timesBest of 2019winner 2 times

Reviews for Empire Deck & Fence

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (62 reviews)

Sort by

Robert in Ottawa
Robert in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Complete three side fence job

They did the fence in two separate jobs. The work was well done and the cost was fair. And their subs who did the actual work were superb workers with excellent customer skills. The first part of the job needed three of the poles to be re-dug and straightened and I suspect this is because they are using thin walled rectangular pipe inside the PCV instead of the stronger and thicker pipe used for commercial applications. The pipe had literally buckled. However, in fairness , they did repair the fence under warranty

BUT, the overall job management was a total disaster, with multiple missed commitments, lengthy wait times, incorrect colour fence delivered, and an overall terrible experience from start to finish. Their internal company management is non existent; I'm surprised they aren't out of business. If it wasn't for the excellent work done by their subs, the job would have failed miserably.

I would strongly suggest you find another company to do your work or be prepared to wait lengthy, indefinate wait times for completion of service. I own my own business and if I treated customers the way I was treated, I would be out of business in a month.

Bottom line, with their turnover of "management" staff, they are not a solid, reliable company you can count on. Please do yourself a favour and look elsewhere for a fencing company

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there,

we're glad you were happy with the work that was performed, but apparently the management of the job wasn't to your standards and frankly neither ours. We'll reach out to you before the new season starts to make sure we can make things right.

In the mean time feel free to reach out to Info@EmpireDeckAndFence.com and we'll work towards making things right.

Thanks,
Empire Team

terry in Ottawa
terry in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Backyard Fence

We contracted Empire in April. They were very good about making the sale, responsive and fast (Riley). We were told the fence would be done by the end of May. And then they went radio silent. We could not get their construction manager to meet with us (Bruce, Ryan). Repeated attempts to call and email went unanswered. It was the week before Canada Day before the construction manager deigned to show up. And then it was a promise that the work would start within days. Nothing. And crickets. Again repeated calls, another promise and now excuses ("hard job in Nepean" "three of the crew quit" blah blah).

And now after three months of delays, they have decided not to do the job, saying it will be "too hard"... well, you did not think it hard when you made the estimate. Nor did your first or second construction manager after we finally walked through it with them. They put in contractual caveats about cost increases for potentially hard holes. So it seems they were covered. The excuses just sound feeble at this point.

Basically, a frustrating terrible experience. On the plus side, they did return the deposit without hassle. But not the interest for carrying it on our CC for the past 2 months. The Keg gift card was a nice attempt to assuage our anger. But really, I wanted a fence not a steak dinner.

I am sure there are other companies that can manage a fence project better and at least provide basic communications. Avoid. Or get real performance guarantees in the contract with penalties for non-communication, false starts, or no-start.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Pauline in Ottawa
Pauline in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fence for Annie

We asked 3 firms to provide estimates using the same product and we selected Empire because they were the best value. We are very happy with the crew who performed our install and we love our new fence. Annie loves her new yard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Providing substantial client value is a huge focus of our and we're glad you love you new fence. Thanks for your kind words!

BAFry in Orleans
BAFry in Orleans
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Great Result, even with a few hiccups

We just wanted a nice simple backyard. Empire really delivered! The work was quality and the workers were friendly and professional. They even made a few suggestions that went above and beyond what was expected.

There were a few issues with the project after the workers left. The big one was the stain the pressure treated wood left on the patio (from being stored there). Everyone is puzzled by this, but the aftercare by the Empire team has been just incredible. These guys want complete client satisfaction and it shows. They're still working on resolving this issue, but I have no doubt whatsoever that it will be fixed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
M. Smith in Ottawa
M. Smith in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
9/10

Fence

Our experience overall was excellent with the Empire Deck and Fence company. We have a very large yard with a pool, and when part of our fence blew down in a strong wind it was a great relief to find a company to replace it quickly.
The workmen were extremely professional and friendly, explaining where there were problem areas and giving a timeline for completion.
Since we were going away on a trip, it was really great that they kept to their schedule and had a large chunk of the fence done before we left. That allowed me to relax on our trip.
Bruce was friendly and helpful throughout the process, and our project manager Noland was excellent.
Noland was very accomadating with our questions and made the process extremely easy and straightforward.
The end result is that we love our new fence. The finished product is more than we expected, it's a beautiful addition to our yard now. We look forward to having more privacy now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your kind words. We really enjoyed working with you and Bruce!

mtremblay in Ottawa
mtremblay in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
6/10

Deck and patio installation

I was very disappointed with the quality of the work for the price I paid. Recently the owner and project manager of Empire Deck and Fence came to visit me in an effort to try and resolve a number of outstanding issues. The plan was for them to come back in the spring and make spring and do additional repairs to the original job. I look forward to the future repairs and a satisfactory completion of the contract. I'll further edit this post in the spring once the work is done.

It is spring and they came back and fixed up the essential repairs as they had promised last fall. I appreciate this and certainly feel a bit better that they honored their warranty. Thanks for that.

Review has 2 previous versions
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mark,

When we met to settle your remaining amount owed and provided you with a discount, it was made clear that we could have done a better job for you and wanted to compensate you accordingly. Your satisfaction with our agreement makes your review confusing, to say the least. You have painted a very inaccurate picture of our firm.

To the reader, we work hard to make our customers happy. We do so by hiring the best and paying them very well. This is evident when browsing through our portfolio and reading our positive reviews. We are grateful to Homestars for creating a credible platform for our clients to express their gratitude for our service and work quality.

We are also honoured to be winners of the Homestars 2018 award and look forward to working with you if provided the opportunity.

Thank you,

Empire Team

anthonyldiloreto
anthonyldiloreto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck.

Full wood deck project with 2 levels and stairs. Was able to work around and adapt to all issues during construction in a professional manner! Great customer service as well!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Anthony! It was a pleasure working with you.

Bill &.
Bill &.
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Outdoor cedar deck and patio area

Empire staff were highly professional and inspired confidence right from the outset when they came to visit the site and discuss our requirements. They very meticulously noted every detail we asked for and ensured they were reflected in the pricing proposal. They strictly adhered to their timeline and the milestones set out for the project progress, including many quality assurance visits by their senior personnel. The final outcome was better than expected and they have exceeded our expectations.
We can sum it up by: Empire delivered on their promise, with excellent quality.
Bill & Grace

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Empire cannot thank you enough for your kind words. Thank you, Bill & Grace!

l. J.
l. J.
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Front porch and side fence

Empire was great. They really took their time during the design stage, letting me tweak the products until I got just what I wanted. Then the actual construction team was on time, friendly hard workers that also listened to me when I had any concerns and addressed them right away. I love my front porch and new walkway.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you love it and appreciate the teamwork to get all details covered!

M&F
M&F
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

Fence and retaining wall

We requested quotations from three companies for our fence and retaining wall replacement. Empire came back with the lowest estimate, even using materials superior to those offered by the other companies. There were some delays (about two weeks) in starting the work, owing to difficulties in securing a crew, and ultimately a subcontractor's assessment of the site led to some revisions to the project and a slight increase in costs; these changes were not major, and the overall cost still came in well below the other companies' estimates, but we feel that they should have been anticipated at the estimate stage. In the end, however, we were very pleased with the quality of the work and Empire's communications with us were prompt and professional throughout.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great quality of work and service is what we always strive to provide.
Thank you for your review!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Empire Deck & Fence

Our goal is to keep our nation's capital beautiful!

With the help of our amazing clients, Empire provides gorgeous exterior makeovers to wonderful homes across the city.

Thank you to everyone who has been part of our goal.

CATEGORIES
Decks, Fences & Gates, Interlocking Stone, Landscape Architects, and Landscape Contractors & Designers
SERVICES
- Decks (Composite, PVC, Cedar, Pressure-treated) - Fences - Landscaping - Interlocking - Hardscape - Stonework - Woodwork - Pergolas - Railings - Gazebos - Glass railings - Lighting
BRANDS
Composite Decks: TREX, Fiberon, Timbertech PVC Deck: Azek Interlock: Techo-Bloc, Permacon Banas... Fence: Tuffence, Bufftech
SPECIALITIES
- Architectural Design - Composite & PVC decks - Cedar & pressure-treated decks - Glass railings - Fences - Interlocking - Landscaping
WEBSITE
http://www.EmpireDeckAndFence.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2010
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
7
RETURN POLICY
Ontario Law: https://www.ontario.ca/page/your-rights-when-signing-or-cancelling-contract
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Credit Card, Cash, E-transfer
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Construction, Civil and Chemical Engineering, Architectural Technologist, Commerce
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$3,000
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
5-year on workmanship for decks and fences. 2-year for interlock. Manufacturer's warranty applies for all materials.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.