We hire Doug in Aug/2017 to do some rock work around our garden. The work was to start mid-October. After contacting him Oct. 6, he said he had extended his vacation and then he had the flu. We left voice messages on Oct. 23 & 30th and never received a reply. We sent vm's on Apr 2 & 6th. At some point he called back and said he was really busy. We sent emails on Apr. 2nd & 26th requesting our $2,000 deposit back. He will not return our phone calls or respond to our emails. We then spoke to a neighbour where he had done some work and were told that the service was terrible and they wouldn't recommend him (too bad we hadn't talked to them first). It is now June 26th and we still have not heard from him nor received our deposit. We are retired and on a fixed income and I feel he has taken advantage of us.
- Approximate cost of services:
- Company Response
This review has had a severe impact upon my business. The simple fact is, the customer did in fact secure my services and I arranged a large bucket, a low loader and a truck, all with drivers after letting the customer know 3 days earlier. That very same night, the customer called to defer the job until early this year, stating that they didn't want any dirt on their driveway, stating also they wanted their deposit back. It was late, I was shocked and tired. After careful thought, despite the deposit having been lost, I decided to shoulder the loss and not speak of my side of things and sent them a txt message stating that they should let me know as soon as they are ready in the new year and I would be ready to go within a short time. In the new year the customer rang to cancel the job and at this time I decided I would not accept the cost of deferring the job. The cost of preparing a large bucket, low loader to take it to the site, the truck to take the large rocks and top soil to recycling and all with drivers had taken the deposit.
Since this review, I have contacted the customer and offered them the deposit back despite the loss, they have declined my offer. I am of course very sorry they are unhappy but, I have tried to rectify this situation and satisfy this customers concerns to no avail sadly.