Durham Covers

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Port Hope ON L1A 2X8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Durham Covers

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (37 reviews)

Sort by

Willowdale
Willowdale
0 reviews Port Hope, ON
1/10

Pool Safety Cover

Pool cover is just three seasons old and now has 7 small tears in it. Paul from Durham covers was extremely difficult to get ahold of regarding the ”20 Year Warranty” and when we got ahold of him were told there was nothing that could be done and to deal directly with the manufacturer. The manufacturer subsequently told us that they do not cover rips and it would be 400 dollars to repair. Very disappointed with the quality and service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Not entirely true. We talked many times over the past year. I forwarded your pictures to the factory and the factory said it was not covered under warranty(holes are not craftsmanship). I told you they would charge $150 to replace the panel but the factory said the holes were not big enough to worry about to fix. I even offered to take the cover to the factory for you. Why don't you give the factory a 1 star review instead of me. I provided you with service before and after the sale but unfortunately, the warranty is not through me.

Laura
Laura
1 review London, ON
10/10

Hot Tub Cover and Lift

Fast, Friendly, Efficient.....what more can you ask for! I couldn’t believe how fast Paul got our new Hot Tub Cover!
Even delivered to my door.....fantastic service
Our last new cover never fit right....and didn’t last very long...this cover is nice and thick...fits perfect.
Thanks Paul.....I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our business and the kind comments. We will be here in 5 to 7 years to serve you again when you need another hot tub cover.

Shasta
Shasta
1 review Port Hope, ON
10/10

Loving the New spa cover

Paul has once again been there for us for our hot tub cover needs. We used Paul about 5 years ago for our new hot tub as our factory original cover only lasted 1 year!! we sold our home and the cover Paul sold us was still like new!! So we of course called again!!! We just were delivered our perfect fitting cover to our odd sized tub and couldn’t be happier. Despite the challenging times with manufacturing and production at factories due to covid Paul assured us we would have our cover before Christmas and we did!! Worth the wait!!! Thanks again Paul! Unfortunately for you you won’t hear from us until our next hot tub lol!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate you taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. Cheers, Paul

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Port Hope, ON
0/10

Hot tub cover

I have owned a beachcomber tub for 11 years. the factory cover lasted a little over 6 years. When I needed replacement I gave the business to this company after reviewing feedback on homestars. I paid $475 plus tax as I recall. I was told it was 3 years guaranteed and should last me 5 plus. Great service, installed with me at the time, was quite happy. After a little over 3 years, the cover stitching began to fail, the unit became water logged. Multiple months and pictures and communications later, this company passed me to the manufacturer whom finally agreed on a prorated warranty. I paid another $370 all incl as a prorated cost as I was just past 3 years - so I saved $100 or so, seemed like a poor concession but was happy to fix my problem and it was still cheaper than moving to another company. I was told this new unit was improved given a double poly wrap of the interior parts. That unit was dropped on my lawn against a tree in April 2019. In January 2020, 9 months later, the unit corners lifted and it developed a sag, primarily on one side. I again communicated and 5 months later, primarily due to covid, I received a replacement styro foam half (again, on my lawn against a tree) and installed it. Three months further, the other side started sagging with lifted corners. I again communicated and was offered my $370 as a refund, but they wanted the defective cover back in exchange for the refund to 're-sell' to another buyer - surprising - of course production timelines are high due to the covid popularity of hot tubs, so a replacement would take a couple months per my hot tub manufacturer, and it would be more than the $370 of course. I explained that I would simply like to receive a new cover and use the warranty the replacement came with. I was told (ultimately after a couple months more of back and forth), that the factory, pcp fabricating in Barrie, would commit to a December 20 replacement date, and that this installer I'm reviewing would be picking up my old cover and refunding me my $370...all is well...except that I was informed I would need to spend the full cost on a new cover, so no real warranty, more of a 'take your business elsewhere'. When I asked simply for the warranty option to replace my cover, and to have them keep the refund they offered, that was not an option and I got a 1-800 line for the factory. Effectively, there is no warranty that is easily exercised. I've been down this road for 4 years, 2 covers, and $900 in cost, and finally decided to review this company. I bought based from positive home star reviews, be wary, its all good until it isn't, and when that happens, for the most part you have to fight tooth and nail to get anything done. go elsewhere, save the hassle.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The warranty is through the factory(only two in Canada) and I thought they were more than fair to honor two warranties which you were originally out of warranty by 4 months. They cannot honor a third warranty on a warranty for a free cover and since they cannot make you happy , they are refunding your money. Therefore, you received 5 years worth of a cover(which is the average) and only paid once after the refund. I am not sure what you are complaining about. And to appease you further, we are allowing you to get a new cover(2 months eta) before we pickup the old cover; instead of taking right away. Since this review is to hurt my business and take food out of my families mouth, I am still going to show compassion and allow you to get the new cover before picking up the old one and refunding, even though by all rights I should take it back now and leave you without a cover. I have learned during Covid to be kind instead of vindictive. Good luck in the future.

JJ
JJ
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
2/10

Hot Tub Cover

Not really a great experience - at all. No formal order acknowlegment after the order was placed and the e-transfer was made, even after repeated requests. Finally received an informal text after 6-1/2 weeks and repeated pressing - just BS.

During original conversation with Paul prior to ordering back in June, he stated the lead time time was 2 - 3 weeks. Upon placing the order in September, the lead time was 3 - 4 weeks. I called after 3 weeks requesting an update, the lead time then became 4 - 5 weeks, then 6 weeks. Cover finally arrived after 7 weeks and 2 days.

When Paul finally dropped the cover off, he left it leaning against my garage and just sent a text after he left stating he dropped it off, knowing full well I was home. He could not even call or knock on the door. Did not even leave an invoice. I called (and texted) him 15 minutes after he left asking about said invoice. His attitude was very cavalier about it, like it didn't even occur to him he should've left/provided one. He said he would email it to me (later??). Have my doubts as of typing this review.

Paul was a little hard to reach at times and definitely did not leave me with any sense of reassurance, really just felt like I was being s-c-a=m=m=e=d the whole time. I think he needs to improve his business model and skills, maybe set up some sort of escrow system. Asking for 100% payment up front is unfair, leaves the client with way too much disadvantage. Paul does not need 100% payment up front, maybe 50% at best, to place the order, and even more so because he does not operate a bricks and mortar operation. The balance can be paid on delivery.

I'm going to reserve recommendation of Paul / Durham Covers to potential buyers. I'd be happy to share the text conversations to back up my comments. My phone number is 416-625-3975. Feel free to call or text. My name is JJ.

Update: I held off submitting this review for one day to see if Paul would follow through with his promise to email me an invoice. He did follow through on that promise and sent it later last night.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

When you placed your order on sept 15, the factory, which there are only two in Canada, said 3 to 4 weeks delivery. The factory ran into production delays due to covid. You were constantly calling me to find out a definite date and I constantly told you, I did not know the date because it is not my factory and this is the busiest time of year to make covers. I delivered the cover as soon as they made it. That is the best I could do. In terms of not ringing your doorbell, I am sorry but I visit about 14 to 20 addresses in a day, mostly seniors and my covid policy is to limit contact to protect people from Barrie to Port Hope. Amazon leaves packages at your house. I, at least contacted you once I did. You should be a little kinder during this pandemic because in case you have not noticed, everything is delayed and it was totally out of my control. The other factory is a 3 month delivery time, 6 weeks is not too bad.

John Crookshank from Oshawa
John Crookshank from Oshawa
4 reviews Newcastle, ON
10/10

Great service

Very pleased with the entire experience. Paul was most helpful with any questions I had about measuring and selecting from the various available options. In spite of pandemic delays plaguing the industry, the cover was delivered in a timely fashion. It looks great and fits perfectly. And it’s made in Canada.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks John, I look forward to helping you again in 5 to 7 years. I appreciate you taking the time to review us. Cheers Paul

Joey in London
Joey in London
0 reviews London, ON
10/10

Thanks Paul the cover fit perfectly u can rilly feel suction knowing its sealed well I'm definitely gonna be saving money on hydro this winter fast friendly service just like the ad says the best cover for the best price

Thanks Paul the cover fit perfectly and so light!! u can rilly feel suction knowing its sealed well I'm definitely gonna be saving money on hydro this winter fast friendly service just like the ad says the best cover for the best price

Was this review helpful?
Sarah in Hartington
Sarah in Hartington
0 reviews Hartington, ON
10/10

Hot tub Cover

We heard about Durham Covers online and we weren't disappointed. Great service and a great product! Our hot tub cover fits great and is nice and light! I would highly recommend Durham Covers to everyone!

Was this review helpful?
Steve from Markham
Steve from Markham
3 reviews Markham, ON
10/10

A pleasure doing business.

Our hot tub cover was falling apart, and it weighed a ton. Went looking for a replacement, and found Durham Covers/Paul. Paul cut through a lot of the measuring and other nonsense. Asked a few questions and within two weeks had a perfectly matched cover in a great color waiting at our door.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Steve, see you in 5 to 7 years when you need a new cover. Please tell your friends and family. Cheers, Paul

Chuck, Bradford Ontario in Port Hope
Chuck, Bradford Ontario in Port Hope
1 review Port Hope, ON
10/10

Durham Covers

Paul, from Durham Covers walked me through the measuring for my hot tub cover, received my new cover as promised on time without a hitch,
I am thanking Paul again and would highly recommend purchasing from Durham Covers ... Definately 5 STARS...

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks again Chuck for the kind compliments and I look forward to helping you in another 5 to 7 years

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Durham Covers

We sell high quality professionally fitted Hot Tub Covers, Lifters and Pool Safety Covers. If you do not know your make or model we will come out to your home to personally measure your Hot Tub or Pool ensuring a 100% Guarantee of a proper fitting cover. We pride ourselves ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs pros in Port Hope?