Elite Tree Care

Tree Service
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Tree Service
Elite Tree Care
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Elite Tree Care

Average customer rating:
9.9 10 (57 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Tree removal

We used Riley and his team at Elite Tree Care twice; once to prune some branches of a really tall Norway Spruce tree in our front yard, and another to remove an overgrown 40' white cedar tree. We were incredibly impressed each time by Riley's professionalism, and how clean his team left the job site. He was also willing to work with our infant's nap schedule, using hand pruning tools during her nap to be silent! Cannot recommend this company highly enough and look forward to working with them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so very much for your review! Nap time is important, we were happy to accommodate. Looking forward to working for you again!

ericsavory in Toronto
ericsavory in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Large Oak Removal

Elite Tree Care did an outstanding job dealing with the removal of a large oak on my property. Riley came up with a strategy to execute the removal in a cost-efficient way, and his confidence, professionalism and friendliness throughout the entire process made what could have been a very stressful experience worry-free. Elite always responded promptly to any enquiries. During the removal they worked efficiently and left my property cleaner than it was before! They are honest, passionate and knowledgeable about their work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review Eric! You were a pleasure to work for.

John in Toronto
John in Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Tree Planting: Good Initial Service; Terrible follow-up service

In early spring 2017, Riley sourced and planted two 100mm trees in my backyard - a silver maple and a bur oak. The oak tree was planted slightly off vertical, and to his credit, Riley returned within a few days to stake the tree exactly vertical.

By late May 2017, the oak tree was not looking very healthy. There were small caterpillars on the leaves and they appeared to be chewing through the leaves (gypsy moth?). Riley said he would come by and spray the trees “asap”. Three weeks passed and he hadn't been by. I emailed him but did not receive a response. Two more weeks passed and I emailed him again. Riley apologized for the delay and indicated that he was “spread quite thin”. I'm not sure if he ever came by to spray the tree, but in May 2018, my oak tree was looking really bad. I reached out to Riley and asked him what my options were. He said he was happy to replace the tree and said he would do his best to do it by the end of the following week [WEEK 1]. This was music to my ears, as I was eager to get the new tree in the ground.

WEEK 1 (May 29) – I reached out to Riley and asked if he was on track to replace the tree by the end of the week. He said he wasn't, but added "All next week [WEEK 2] is planting and we will be able to incorporate your work".

WEEK 2 (June 6) – I reached out to Riley to confirm he would be coming by. Riley apologized and said delays in his other jobs had pushed him off-schedule, so he wouldn't be able to get to my job that week. He said he would give me a heads-up two days before he planned to arrive.

WEEK 4 (June 21) – After not hearing anything from Riley in two weeks, I reached out to him by email and asked him why it was taking so long to get my tree replaced. He attempted to call me a couple of times, but at that point, I was not interested in listening to more excuses about why he hadn’t replanted the tree. I just wanted to know when the tree would be replaced. I asked that we continue to correspond by email.

WEEK 6 (July 4) – Two more weeks went by and again I reached out to Riley to ask him when the tree was going to be replaced. Riley responded that he had “tried his best to fit my tree replacement in with the rest of his spring planting but he was not successful”. He offered to supply a new tree and for me to hire another company to plant it. Alternatively, he said, and I quote, “If you would like to schedule an exact day, please pick any date after September 17”. Even though I was extremely frustrated with the timeline he was now proposing to replace my tree, I was not interested in having to hire (and pay for) another tree service company to plant the tree. I selected the date of September 18th. He then responded “Confirming your re-plant for September 18, should nothing become available sooner.”

WEEK 16 (September 11 &13) – I initiated an email exchange with Riley about the species of tree he was going to plant. In that exchange, Riley said “We are now looking at September 20 at the soonest due to this week’s setbacks.”

I couldn’t believe this! After all this delay, he was continuing to push me off, and he was still using non-committal language like “at the soonest ….” Feeling utterly exasperated by all the delays and excuses, and with no definitive date by which he would commit 100% to have the tree planted, I asked Riley straight up if he intended to ever replace and replant my tree, as it was apparent to me that my job was at the bottom of his priority list.

Riley responded by saying that he no longer wanted to deal with me. He refunded me the cost of the tree, presumably thinking that such a gesture ‘made me whole’. However, he now left me with having to research and and obtain quotes from other tree service companies to get a tree planted.

Fortunately, I was able to have a different tree service company source and plant a new tree for me (they did it on a one week turnaround!!).

On a whole, my experience with Riley was that he was very good at the ‘front-end’ of the transaction (i.e. the initial planting of the trees), but that his dedication and commitment to his clients (once he already has their money), was lacking.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello John, We can understand and appreciate your frustration regarding the delay in planting your tree. We attempted to communicate valid and legitimate reasons for the delays which you did not accept and considered to be excuses. This Spring/Summer was one of the worst in terms of storms and wind damage which made scheduling very challenging. The majority of the Spring was spent cleaning up fallen trees and mitigating other hazards caused by the numerous wind events. We not only offered to supply you with a new specimen for planting but also offered a full refund. We think it is only fair that you acknowledge that your tree declined as a result of insect damage which is clearly not covered under our warranty. We stated this in email (copy and pasting the warranty portion of your quotation) and over the phone while still committing to plant a tree for you as a goodwill gesture to ensure your satisfaction with our services. We also did our best to manage your expectations by providing updates as to the changes in our schedule as it is heavily weather dependent and delays are common due to rain and other factors. When we realized that we were not able to meet your expectations, we provided you with a full refund for your tree. Again, this was a goodwill gesture meant to ensure you were satisfied.

We take our customers satisfaction very seriously and strive to provide the highest level of service possible. We thank you for your comprehensive review as it will helps us in future client relations.

Elite Tree Care Team

Richard Tsang in Toronto
Richard Tsang in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Trim tree branches 25 ft high

I have two big tree branches draping over the roof on the front and back of the house. These guys came and trim them. The clean up was meticulous. They even removed some fallen branch from my backyard without being asked! Very professional and good service. I will use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your business and taking the time to review our services! We look forward to an opportunity to care for your trees again in the future.

Trumpetvine in East York
Trumpetvine in East York
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Tree removal

4 trees gone in one morning! What an improvement. They responded quickly and cleaned up afterwards. I would highly reccomend this company. I have asked them back again to do some pruning on my remaining trees.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for your review! We look forward to the opportunity to work for you again.

Nick_in_TO in Old Toronto
Nick_in_TO in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Manitoba maple pruning

We move house a couple of years ago and the large Manitoba maple in our new backyard was in need of pruning, owing to many dead branches that threatened to fall on our kids as they played in the backyard and some structurally unsound branches over a parking space.

We contacted 3 companies for quotes and where the other two said either it wasn't possible to get all the dead branches or high-balled the quote as they didn't want to deal with our "weed" tree, Elite provided a very competitive quote.

The Elite crew amazingly got ALL the deadwood out (done by raising themselves to the tree canopy with ropes and pulleys), reduced branch weight where appropriate, and left everything clean and tidy afterwards (they even placed chipped branches as mulch nicely where I had indicated - I was just expecting them to leave a pile of the stuff).

Great work - thank you!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We care for all trees the same, even the "weed" trees!! It was a pleasure to work for you. Thank you kindly for your review.

Patricia  M. in Toronto
Patricia M. in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Tree Trimming

I needed 2 large maple trees pruned on my property and the company was quickly able to provide a quote, answer any of my questions and provided details around liability insurance and credentials I was looking for. They were quickly able to arrange time to do the work, arrived on time, met all expectations and were able to clean the areas on my property and on the neighbours. I was happy with the work that was done, the professionalism and hard work of all their workers, and the ease of the whole process. I would recommend this company to anyone that needs this type of work completed, and would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very appreciative for the work you gave us and the kind, informative review of our services. You were a pleasure to work for and we look forward to caring for your trees again!

D. H. in Toronto in Old Toronto
D. H. in Toronto in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Tree Removal

There was a large border tree between two properties that was failing. The space was tight. Riley secured approval with the City authorities for removal. He and his crew were very professional, courteous and careful not to damage any fencing or building structure(s). He charged exactly what he quoted even though it took two separate days to remove the tree. I would not hesitate to use Riley again for arborist work and would definitely recommend Elite Tree Care. I have passed his company name on to friends. He’s a nice guy to boot.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our services and look forward to working for you again!

Rob in Upper Forest Hill
Rob in Upper Forest Hill
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Tree services

This is an extremely professional company - well organized, coordinated and responsive. The team works well together and is methodical, knowledgeable, and safety conscious. They pruned and cut limbs from large oak and maple trees and cedar hedges. They were efficient and left a clean work site. I would certainly recommend this company highly and will use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review, Rob. It was a pleasure to work for you.

Charles
Charles
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Competitive quote and quick service to remove large maple tree

Kris was quite to provide us with an estimate and scheduled and completed the job within 1 week. We were very satisfied with the service. I would highly recommend Kris and his firm to anyone looking for tree care / removal services

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review of our services! We look forward to caring for your trees again in the future.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Elite Tree Care

Elite Tree Care is a full service company offering Tree Pruning, Removal, Stump Grinding, Fertilization, Arborist Reports, Consulting, and Cabling/Bracing

CATEGORIES
Tree Service
WEBSITE
http://elitetreecare.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2012
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
4
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, E-Transfer
LICENSES
ISA Certified Arborist, Certified Utility Arborist, Certified Tree Risk Assessor
MEMBERSHIPS
ISA Professional
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$250.00
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
All work is guaranteed
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.