Ontario Home Improvements

7500 Hwy 27, Unit 15 Woodbridge ON L4H0J2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Design/Build in Woodbridge  >  Ontario Home Improvements  >  A horrible experience showing complete disregard
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

A horrible experience showing complete disregard

I want everyone to be aware of my experience… My renovations were painfully slow and full of issues due to lack of care and organization.

While the renovation did grow after the walls were opened, the work was intermittent to say the best, painfully stretching out the renovation past a year. I was given completion dates month after month, until I finally decided to move in with the hopes of speeding up the renovation. Afterwards, I moved out of my house for 2 separate weeks in hopes they would get the work done, however neither week had workers all 5 days, showing little regard for the disruption to my life they were causing.

This type of disorganization and disregard was common throughout this painful renovation.

And this negative attitude shows in the final product. The amount of work done that remains unacceptable or had to be redone is mind boggling. Specifically, 2 bathrooms installed by OHI leaked for months and the Contractor could not figure out the reason. Any attempts to fix them were sloppy and temporary, lasting about a month. The contractor I hired to fix their work found the cause of the leaks within a day; along with significant damage caused by the poor installation.

Generally, the list of issues with the workmanship goes on and on from floor to ceiling with things left unfinished, poorly done and/or already falling apart. OHI subcontracted most to all of their trades, but did not adequately supervise and inspect leaving me with a second rate job at a first rate price. In fact, in many instances I was expected to meet or wait around for the trades who would show up whenever they felt like it.

The story ends with me terminating the contract, as every time they came in the “fix” or complete their work, they would cause more issues, or perform such shoddy repairs that I felt they would never be out of my home. Hire at your own peril.

Approximate cost of services:
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Private User,

We’re very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. At Ontario Home Improvements, we pride ourselves on our customer service and our response times. We have an unconditional three-year warranty and would have been more than pleased to provide you the service you deserve. We try to work diligently and as quickly for our clients as possible understanding the stress involved with any major renovation. In the case of any renovation, what may have started out as an isolated renovation within certain areas of a home, sometimes changes in to major reconstruction of one or both the interior and exterior of the home. The causes of this are at times due to unexpected issues that arise after components of the house are exposed or observed, due to client’s ideas or designs evolving, or as a result of several other variables that may come into play. Any time this happens, OHI is fully transparent with our clients, identifying the process and outlining updated timeframes for the project. Needless to say, we truly apologize that if your project took longer than initially expected or planned.

This review is very disappointing to us and we plan to use it as a tool to make sure we go even further, taking that extra mile to ensure we give the very best to our clients. We also hope to use this review to get our many happy clients to review us to show just how much we care about each and every one of them.