Ontario Home Improvements

Design/Build
7500 Hwy 27, Unit 15 Woodbridge ON L4H0J2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Design/Build
Ontario Home Improvements
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

61%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Ontario Home Improvements

Average customer rating:
7.5 10 (4 reviews)

Sort by

Mishka in Oshawa
Mishka in Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

New Home Renovation

In 2016, my husband and I hired OHI to complete a full home renovation. Let me start by saying we purchased a new development home in North East of Oshawa. While the house was being built, we started to look for contractors that would manage our project. We interviewed 4 very reputable companies. We heard about OHI on the radio and heard back from Tony (contact person at OHI) right away. OHI was the first company we met with. After meeting with them, we went on to meet 3 other companies. We asked each company the same questions and gave them the same job description.

After getting a quote from all 4 companies, we decided to narrow our choice down to 2. We revisited the two choices and finally picked OHI to complete the project. Many people have asked me why did we chose OHI. So the following are my reasons:
1) The most reasonable quote was given by OHI
2) They responded back to us in a timely fashion
3) They were open to working within our budget
4) We got to choose our products which by the way were phenomenal and were not over charged for it. If you are wondering the importance of this point, let me tell you that one of the Reno company quoted us a lot higher than OHI and were not able to provide us with the same quality products. They always had an imitation product that they would recommend to lower the quote. This was not the case with OHI. We got exactly what we wanted.
5) The connection we had with Tony. Now if you have ever hired anyone to get a job done you will know how important this point is. If you meet with Tony, you will know that he gives off the vibe of trustworthiness. He is knowledgeable, down to earth and straight forward.

Tony presented the contract to us and discussed it in detail. He even made changes and added points that we requested. The project started on time. Tony was very good at replying to my emails and texts. I never once felt worried about the work being done.
I got the following work done:
1) Full kitchen Reno, which included flooring, back splash, lighting, custom cabinetry, massive island, quartz counter, custom painting, installation of appliance. We gutted the entire builder kitchen except for pantry and built a custom kitchen. Tony had a designer come over and draw us 4 different designs. We then chose one after making a few changes to it.
2) Custom painting of entire house, including ceiling using top of the line Benjamin Moore paint.
3) Baseboard for entire house
4) Crown molding for entire main floor
5) Installation of hardwood flooring in entire house
6) Installation of Porcelain tiles in front foyer and powder room
7) Installation of pot lights and chandelier lights in entire house
8) Feature stone fire place wall with installation of gas fireplace
9) Built-in custom cabinetry on both side of fireplace wall
10) Installation of new vanity and faucets in powder room
11) Installation of quartz counter, sinks and faucets in master ensuite.
12) Staining and finishing of oak stairs ( left unfinished by builder)
13) Custom hardwood vent covers to match our hardwood colour
14) Trim for all the doors and windows in the house

Not only is the workmanship great but the customer service is outstanding. If anyone that does a full home renovation like ours tells you that they had no issues, you know that's not completely true. However, Tony had a solution for every issue that came up, and it was dealt with appropriately. They have a three year warranty on their work. I have called OHI for a couple of minor things months after the renovation was complete and Tony not only responded right away but he also took care of it asap.

The above list is what I can remember, we did add work to the original project during the course of the renovation. This was not a small job and definitely not a small price tag. However for the quality of products and workmanship, it was 100% worth it. I have recommended OHI to many family, friends, coworkers and neighbours. I am so happy with their services that I have recently contacted them to finish my basement and backyard. Thank you OHI and Tony for making my dreams come true.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Basement reno

Big thanks to OHI for helping us with our basement renovation after pipes burst in the winter. Turned out better than expected and I would certainly recommend to all. Cheers

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

A horrible experience showing complete disregard

I want everyone to be aware of my experience… My renovations were painfully slow and full of issues due to lack of care and organization.

While the renovation did grow after the walls were opened, the work was intermittent to say the best, painfully stretching out the renovation past a year. I was given completion dates month after month, until I finally decided to move in with the hopes of speeding up the renovation. Afterwards, I moved out of my house for 2 separate weeks in hopes they would get the work done, however neither week had workers all 5 days, showing little regard for the disruption to my life they were causing.

This type of disorganization and disregard was common throughout this painful renovation.

And this negative attitude shows in the final product. The amount of work done that remains unacceptable or had to be redone is mind boggling. Specifically, 2 bathrooms installed by OHI leaked for months and the Contractor could not figure out the reason. Any attempts to fix them were sloppy and temporary, lasting about a month. The contractor I hired to fix their work found the cause of the leaks within a day; along with significant damage caused by the poor installation.

Generally, the list of issues with the workmanship goes on and on from floor to ceiling with things left unfinished, poorly done and/or already falling apart. OHI subcontracted most to all of their trades, but did not adequately supervise and inspect leaving me with a second rate job at a first rate price. In fact, in many instances I was expected to meet or wait around for the trades who would show up whenever they felt like it.

The story ends with me terminating the contract, as every time they came in the “fix” or complete their work, they would cause more issues, or perform such shoddy repairs that I felt they would never be out of my home. Hire at your own peril.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Private User,

We’re very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. At Ontario Home Improvements, we pride ourselves on our customer service and our response times. We have an unconditional three-year warranty and would have been more than pleased to provide you the service you deserve. We try to work diligently and as quickly for our clients as possible understanding the stress involved with any major renovation. In the case of any renovation, what may have started out as an isolated renovation within certain areas of a home, sometimes changes in to major reconstruction of one or both the interior and exterior of the home. The causes of this are at times due to unexpected issues that arise after components of the house are exposed or observed, due to client’s ideas or designs evolving, or as a result of several other variables that may come into play. Any time this happens, OHI is fully transparent with our clients, identifying the process and outlining updated timeframes for the project. Needless to say, we truly apologize that if your project took longer than initially expected or planned.

This review is very disappointing to us and we plan to use it as a tool to make sure we go even further, taking that extra mile to ensure we give the very best to our clients. We also hope to use this review to get our many happy clients to review us to show just how much we care about each and every one of them.

Louie D from Vaughan
Louie D from Vaughan
1 review Woodbridge, ON

First Review

10/10

Basement Finish

OHI did a great job finishing our basement! On time and even came in below our anticipated budget for all that we asked for! Looks marvelous, would recommend to anyone

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ontario Home Improvements

With superior work ethics, we have all the right credentials that all customers deserve. Every job will be completed on time and on budget. Large or small, we understand that your investment is very significant and we will take the upmost pride in helping you achieve your goals. Whether it ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Design/Build pros in Woodbridge?