Ropel Stone Works

Masonry & Bricklaying
HomeStars  >  Masonry & Bricklaying in Mississauga  >  Ropel Stone Works
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
79%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
3
0
0

Reviews for Ropel Stone Works

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
4 reviews Brampton, ON
8/10

The stair on my front patio had broken away. Ropel was able to replace the stair. It was a difficult colour to match, since the stones were over 30 years old, but they found an excellent match.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

;)

blacketta in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Matt and his team went above and beyond with everything. We've used many contractors in the last couple of years and in terms of timing, cost and execution, Matt and his team exceeded all expectations. The finishing of the work is beautiful and we've received so many compliments already. Thanks again to Matt and team and keep up the great work. Can't wait to work with you again soon!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Caroline and Andrew for choosing Ropel Stone Works for your project !! It was a pleasure to work for such a lovely couple ! ;)

Eric from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

We tried to add natural stone to the front porch two years ago. The previous contractor quit during the job and wasted some of our materials. Ropel Stone offered a reasonable price and efficient service. The crew is hard working and friendly. The stone on the porch and stairs have good quality and elegant design. They also tried to save our materials whenever possible. All the neighbors like our new porch. Two years later, the structure stays very well with no issue at all. We will definitely recommend this company to our friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Awesome Eric!!
We are happy you chose Ropel Stone Works.

Pawel in Barrie
2 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Best customer service ever, my fireplace looks exactly as I planned. Ropel Stone Works team helped me with getting this job done. To be honest other companies should learn from Matt how to treat customer and get the job done. What can I say, professional and honest company. For sure I would recommend to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
nelagoncalves3 in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Pleased to say this is a case of under promiss and over delivery. Very happy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for having us work on your Project Nela. it was our pleasure!

Don Stea from Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

My wife and I couldn't be happier with the work that Ropel Stone Works have done on our home. We had our front veranda flag stoned and the front, back and chimney exterior walls faced with Selex veneer stone, along with a constructed garden wall of the same veneer and they lifted/ replaced and levelled our patio interlocking brick. From Mat, the owner and sales, right down to the installers Martin & Roman they are first class. Martin did our veranda and interlocking brick and levelled these to have a good water run off away from our home. Roman did all the fascia and did a wonderful job placing the veneer stones in a castle like formation making our home look exquisitely beautiful. Mat, Roman and Martin were always very accommodating and what surprised us is that the trim stones were better then expected as Mat used only the best materials. My wife and I would not hesitate to use Ropel Stone Works again in the future if the need be. We sincerely thank Mat and his crew for a job well done.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'd like to thanks Don and Lina for there happy and cheerful attitudes that were a great inspiration to us on a daily basis. It was a pleasure to work on your beautiful home!!!

BILL  LOCKHART from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

My before & after pictures show how excellent the job was done. Their expertise in explaining the options was very much appreciated. Small job I know, but big or small, they'll tackle them all. When my steps have had it, I'll be calling Ropel Stone Works for sure. Would highly recommend them to ANYONE.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

A small project but it put a big smile on Bills face when he and Mrs. Lockhart returned from their Florida vacation. Thanks for choosing us for your project!!!!

Robert Bruce from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Matt and his crew gave us a stunning new pool deck on time and as quoted. It has completely transformed the look of our pool and backyard. We couldn't be more happy with the results.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Anitka from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
0/10

Matt, the owner kept saying he's giving his word that his job will be top notch and quality. – his website offers a guarantee of all work, He was hired to re-skin( waterproof) and re stone the patio. Instead he and his crew used/ poor quality stone reusing most when we did not authorize. Close to the end they left things missing and broken, rushed the job and of course caused a horrible leak in our basement - 2 outside inspectors found them fully at fault.(the Mike Holmes company that says its uneven and shoddy!) When we brought to Matt’s attention he ran like a rat on a sinking ship.....text messages saying he will come and then nothing. We have all the paperwork...there are uneven stones, cement spilled on the grass, a dead tree, plants they destroyed and black gummy splatters on my wall. The downspouts look like a high school shop class tin project when before they were matching to the eaves and spouts. They failed to caulk between the stones (caps) to ensure a waterproof seal. It wasn’t the weather but a personal vacation that rushed him.
While he wants to make this personal he fails to address his poor workmanship and the issues at hand. Matt fails to mention how much he was (over) paid $90,000+ for the job. He fails to mention that he "guarantees" his work as his website states. He fails to mention the “roofer” that was waterproofing and spilled the tar like substance was HIS employee.
Understand that my generation a “tool” is something you fix something with – any comments of me using that term or bad language is completely false. Any comments of my “money pit” which we have loved for more than 10 years is false – any personal attacks on relationships is just a feeble attempt for matt to regain some credibility.
The stones were never to be reused --You can rant all you want but it has no bearing on your poor workmanship, you walking off the job and failing with your promises. Each and everything we have stated are facts and backed up by not one but two professional reports. The pictures are proof.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Once again . The stone that we reused was requested by Mr.L and I have pics that show how uneven it was before we had even removed it!!!! The black splatter that this lady is referring to is tar from the roofer that put a membrane on the patio. It's interesting now that she says MIKE HOLMES CREW inspected my work because when I had told her that I've worked with the Holmes organization she called Mike Holmes a TOOL and said she thinks he's full of BS!! I don't know what a tree has to do with anything because we didn't have anything to do with trees and yes we spilled some masonry cement on the grass but before we could finish up the climate became to unbearable and we did not show up for the last day of clean up. Like I mentioned $15,000 remaining balance !! And I have all pictures of before and after !! Email [email protected] for all work on this house.

And yes this is very personal when you slander me and my crew without merit!!!!

I'm not sure why Mrs. L thinks she is entitled to any sort of warranty when her balance was owing is $15,000 !!! Had Mrs. L not come out on a Dailey bases blaming me and my crew for the money pit of a home she purchased and her personal matrimonial issues we would have shown up for the last clean up day and the minor issues she is trying so hard to make a big deal would not be an issue. This post is a farce!!!

In addition : the pictures the Lady posted are of some unfinished work that as mentioned would have taken one working day to correct. Some of the pictures aren't of any work that we did but of the quality of work that was done to the home prior to my arrival!! When we arrived at the house for initial inspection there was already a crew ripping apart the basement because of a major leak and major mould and rotting that was caused because of poor building techniques by the builder !!! I don't understand why this lady is trying to slander our good name so badly ... She has a lot of time on her hands and nothing to do with all her time. Reading this reminds me of the daily stressful work conditions we had to endure!! I have picture of all work before and after and the mould and rotting stone we changed but for some reason home stars does not let me post from my side. I have no idea where she got the $90,000. Dollar figure but it is clear that this a the only thing she has to do!! Slander us !!! HOW DARE YOU!!?? And shame on you!!! And " tool" was used to slander Mr. Holmes!!! Regardless of what you think it meant in your " generation"

Martin Peskin from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

I needed my stone steps and patio repaired urgently for a function we were having on the weekend. Mat arrived the day before the function with a team of 4 masons and had the job done in a few hours. Their work was excellent and they were considerate and helpful (even offered to remove my old BBQ for me).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ropel Stone Works

We deal with all the basic masonry repairs that may occur in all homes. From replacing windowsills to replacing old damaged bricks, pointing and restoring your chimney or repairing flagstone and retaining wall as well as new stone patio construction, we do it all. In addition, for all you Pizza ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.