Horrible experience, do not use. Do not do a thorough job. They missed huge issues with the foundation of my basement floor heaving as well as 5 of my doors being not able to close. They fixed the doors thankfully but I spent several hours having them come back out to inspect it on 3 occasions to have them tell me "tough luck we aren't liable for it". When I request at the very least they return the $500 I paid for there services as I was now footing a $10,000-$25,000 dollar fix due to their miss they simply ignored my email with no response.
NOT a company I would use. Will find every loophole to not be liable to fix their miss or work with you for a solution.
- Company Response
We are sorry to hear your inspection didn’t meet your expectations. We’ve been in business for over 22 years, and have served tens of thousands of clients, and we strive to create the best possible inspection experience for each customer we have. Our inspectors continually try to provide the most information possible at all our inspections however, we are limited to a non-invasive, visual inspection of the home on the day of the appointment. The heaving of the basement floor slab and the doors not closing were not apparent at the time of the original inspection, as per the original report photos. Unfortunately, our inspectors are not able to predict how exterior conditions, such as seasonal changes and expansive soils, may impact your home in the future. We opted to have your doors repaired at our expense as an act of good faith, customer service and to show that we are a reputable company that cares about our clients.
Thank you for allowing us back into your home numerous times to investigate your concerns and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused by our revisits. We would also like to apologize for not responding to your email requesting a refund of the service fee, it was not our intention to leave you hanging. We were contacting our Liability Insurer to be sure that we were protecting both our rights and yours as is standard procedure when legal action is threatened by a past customer. We understand at this time the Insurer as reached out to you. We hope that you find suitable recourse with the Alberta New Home Warranty Program that our office manager referred you to. We also appreciate your feedback and hope you can understand our position.
The HouseMaster Team