The Exterminators

Pest & Animal Control
50 Carroll St Toronto ON M4M 3G3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

82%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Exterminators

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (38 reviews)

Sort by

Beth in Toronto
Beth in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

mice

As part of my renovation company I manage rental properties and The Exterminators are a great choice. The tenants were put at ease and I haven't heard anything since! Fast and efficient.

Was this review helpful?
tobeyblack in M3H4P5
tobeyblack in M3H4P5
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Mouse problem

Dylan was fantastic and came right away to put out some poison. He also made excellent suggestions to help keep the problem from coming back. Will definitely use him again!

Was this review helpful?
Carolyn in Toronto
Carolyn in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Squirrels in my attic

From the first phone call to having Richard show up, nothing but professional! Extremely knowledgeable and very thorough. Richard inspected, and then detailed everything he noticed and made suggestions. There was no pressure or up selling he just wanted to be sure I was fully informed. Richard installed a one way door so the squirrels living in my attic could get out. I would highly recommend The Exterminators or Wildlife Shield for any and all pest control problems. They are professional, knowledgeable, friendly , great quality for very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Peace of mind

The level of service was amazing. Timely, efficient and knowledgeable. The team were experts in understanding how to safeguard our property from rats. I learned a lot, and their tips on what to do (and look for) in addition to the bait stations gave peace of mind. This company knows what it is doing. I’d highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Rodent problem from attached neighbour's house affecting us

This job was handled efficiently with a solid commitment to solving our rodent problem caused by the house connected with ours. Simon sent Richard out. He soothed my frazzled nerves reassuring us that we would eliminate the vermin. He has a great deal of expertise and knowledge that he employed. My neighbours were co-operative and we now have very little activity, though after 6 months our neighbours are still leaving the lid open on their garbage and have piles of wood, a junkyard in their backyard.We paid to have both homes serviced as we had to do this or move. I would recommend this company to anyone with a rodent problem.

Was this review helpful?
Chris in Kanata
Chris in Kanata
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Mice Removal

I called the Exterminators after I had tried the usual store purchased traps which didn't get the job done . The person who took my call was great, guided me through the process and was able to schedule me with a time that was perfect for me.
The technician arrived right when they said they would. (that is rare in toronto for any service) they began by identifying the entry points for the house and closed them up. Once inside the technician went about setting up stations in spots I wouldn't have thought to.
It's been a good few months now and I have had the mouse problem since.

Great service end to end, professional, personable and at what I think was a good price.
Highly recommended from me.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Excellent Service & Perseverance Until Problem Resolved

The Exterminators did an outstanding job in resolving a serious rat infestation issue that we had been battling for years. Other companies simply gave up on us, whereas the Exterminators implemented a treatment plan which included locating the entry point, and comprehensively sealing my home to eliminate access. The access point was in an extremely awkward location, and other suppliers were not prepared to work in this crawl space...the Exterminators did not let us down. Integrity and follow through = 100% endorsement.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time and writing this review. Any successful extermination requires consistency and in some cases perseverance. We are glad that the rats are no longer an issue.

Pearl from Richmond Hill
Pearl from Richmond Hill
3 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
5/10

Friendly staff, but disappointing service

July 2019 update (8 months after visit):
It's been 8 months, and we are still experiencing mice. We had mice return as early as December (inspection in November), but the inspector said it takes some time for mice to be gone for good so we left it as is. Heard them again around March, but we were too busy to do anything about it. Heard them again last week and decided we should do something about it. Just checked and found out we are out of our 6-month warranty period, but we will call the company to see if they will do anything to help us.

I read the company's reply to my review, and while most of what was said is accurate, the part about the garage door weather stripping being damaged is completely wrong; it is not damaged whatsoever, and the mice are not coming in through there.

Also, because the company had said they wouldn't put the weep hole covers to the weep holes on the second floor, we ended up doing it ourselves. Even so, we are still experiencing rodents, and therefore, believe they are coming in through the roof. It is not uncommon for deer mice to climb up to the roof.

Long story short, we are still experiencing rodents, although they are now dying in the walls and attic, and not making their way into the kitchen anymore.

It would be best if the mice could not enter at all. We want to find a company that can actually find the point of entry and fix the problem once and for all. If the Exterminators are up for the job, that would be great.

Original Review:
I have mice in the house. After calling many companies and reading many company reviews, we chose The Exterminators because they had good reviews, and they said they would definitely visit the attic (which we knew was a problem area). So I booked my appointment with The Exterminators, and was looking forward to their professional and expert advice.

Chris arrived on time, and was polite and friendly the entire time. He came into the kitchen, looked under the sink, behind the stove, and then took a look around the basement. He then determined that the mice came in through the garage door. At this time, he hadn't looked at the exterior of the house, any other rooms, or any other floors. I was greatly disappointed, as I felt he already came to a conclusion without fully assessing my property. In particular, he hadn't (and didn't want to) inspect the attic, but we were told on the phone that the person would definitely inspect the attic.

After he gave his verdict (and seemed ready to leave), I had to practically force him to do a full walk-around the outside of the house, and then go upstairs to the attic. Even there, he only peeked his head in (did not enter). I was quite disappointed, as I was looking for feedback as to how dire my situation is, and without a comprehensive inspection, how can he give me reliable advice?

I also told him that we had deer mice, which he denied we had. I showed him a picture of a mouse we caught with our mouse trap, then he went to speak with his boss before he concluded that we did in fact have deer mice. Again, I was disappointed by the fact that I (the non-expert) was telling the expert what we had. The goal of hiring an expert was for the expert to confirm these facts to me.

He recommended weep hole covers, but said he would only do ones on the lower half of the house. I said the upper level ones were quite large and, if I had them done, I'd want them included as well. He did a quote for me on the covers, but again, only included the lower level ones. He said he would not do the upper level ones. Again, disappointed. Deer mice are climbers, so is there a point to only cover half the weep holes around the house?

All in all, Chris was friendly and seemed like a good person, but not the professional that I was seeking. Although traps were put around the house, I feel the money I paid was not worth the service I received.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Pearline,

thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback.

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the service that our technician provided in the process of resolving the mouse infestation in your home.

I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the concerns you have put forward.

It is our standard practise to inspect the interior and exterior of every household when we are dealing with mice or rats. We inspect the exterior to identify potential entry points and we inspect the interior to best place our bait stations in areas of activity within the structure.

The sequence in which the interior and the exterior inspections gets completed is in the discretion of the technician performing the service.

In your case, after inspecting the main and basement levels the technician made his way to the garage. It was evident that the garage door weather stripping was compromised. It is very common for mice and rats to gain access into a structure by first infiltrating the garage. A compromised weather stripping can allow rodents to do so. That is what the servicing technician pointed out to you.

During the exterior inspection the weep vents were pointed out as a potential entry point. It our professional take that mice do not tend to enter structures from weep vents located on upper levels of structures. All rodents can climb but it is much easier and safer, especially for smaller rodents, to infiltrate structures from openings that are as close to the ground as the rodents are. This way, they minimize energy expended and decrease the probability of being eaten by predators.

That being said, closing off upper level weep vents is something we can definitely perform for you if you so wish to but would advise against it, as it is ineffective and an unnecessary monetary cost.

It is standard practise to inspect attics for rodent activity if such activity is suspected to be in the said space. Such inspections are performed routinely. There is no need to walk around in the entirety of the attic and risk compressing your insulation and thus decreasing your attic’s R value for the mouse inspection to be performed. Mouse boroughs can be spotted easily and accurately from the attic hatch.

Bait stations were placed in all areas of concern within the structure, attic included.

To conclude, according to our GPS records, the tech was at your home for approximately an hour and a half performing the mouse extermination. I apologize if the “Pest Proofing Quote Sheet” we left behind did not include upper level weep vents, but that omission was done so in good conscience. However if you are still concerned about entry points please call us and we would gladly return and close off ALL weep vents for you along with installing the exterior rodent station that is mentioned in the quote sheet. I would strongly consider installing the exterior rodent station as your home is directly adjacent to a forested area. In this way, you will have a first line of defense as rodents come towards your structure.

From what I can gather it appears that you are no longer dealing with a mouse infestation inside our home. If things change please give us a call as you are covered under our 6 month warranty.

Thank you

Monique in Toronto
Monique in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Finally exterminators who know what they are doing

I had a rat in my house, , and mice. I had three exterminators come who were of very little help. They said they couldn’t tell where the rat had come in, installed traps (one put poison which I later learned could have been a disaster) and conveyed that if I was lucky the rat would get caught. About the same for the mice. Fortunately my neighbor knew the exterminators. They looked very carefully around the house and identified several potentially problematic spots. They presented a strategy. It was obvious that they were experienced and knowledgeable. They gave me options. I went for going overboard in terms of protection but they never pushed that. The rat and the mice are gone. They always came when they had promised to come. The person who did the work was kind and efficient. I really, really appreciate the work that they have done. I have dealt with mice at my cottage so I am familiar with the challenges presented by rodents. It is very obvious to me that The Exterminators really know what they are doing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Monique, we would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience on HomeStars. We always work hard to provide superb pest control services and make sure our customers are pest free. We are pleased to hear we solved your rat issues and you have been delighted with our services. Please remember we are just one call away if you require our services again.

Dana in the Beaches
Dana in the Beaches
11 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Not rats!

Heard loud gnawing in our main floor ceiling and immediately thought we had a rat infestation. The "good news" was that its "only" mice. Prompt professional service, thorough scan of house interior and exterior, very well informed and articulate service person, no more problems approximately three weeks after setting eight traps in my 2700 sq. ft. Beaches semi. Recommend The Exterminators.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dana, thank you for leaving a review! We always focus on providing our customers with the best pest control services. The Exterminators is a team of passionate professionals who skilled and experienced to resolve any pest issues.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Exterminators

The Exterminators Inc. Pest Control Toronto, 50 Carroll St, Toronto, ON, M4M 3G3, 647-496-2211, http: / / www. theexterminators. ca/ The Exterminators Inc. Pest Control Mississauga, 1283 Matheson Blvd. E. Unit B, Mississauga ON, L4W 1R1, 905-367-5019, https: / / www. theexterminators. ca/ areas/ mississauga/
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Pest & Animal Control pros in Old Toronto?