Edmonton Custom Closets

Closet & Storage Solutions
3107 Somerset Point Sherwood Park AB T8H0G8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Closet & Storage Solutions
Edmonton Custom Closets
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Edmonton Custom Closets

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Walk-in Closet Design and Install

We recently had a walk-in closet designed and installed for our daughter's basement bedroom. Keith was knowledgeable, professional and provided great suggestions and advise. The closet arrived and was installed as scheduled. The quality of the product is excellent. Ryan and Jordan did a great job with the installation. We are so pleased with the final result. We highly recommended Edmonton Custom Closets for any closet storage / organization needs. Thank you, Keith and team!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Ziya, for the great review!! I really appreciate you taking the time to write the review. It was a pleasure to work for you in your beautiful house. Thanks Again!!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Master Closet Update

The design process was so easy and exactly what I envisioned. Keith’s expertise in product and style options is fantastic. Pricing was excellent. The install was flawless and quick. Quality of product is fantastic. I absolutely love my new closet!!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Bob and Mary-Jo B
Bob and Mary-Jo B
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Redesign walk trough closet

We had our walk through closet redesigned to become more efficient and provide more storage, Kieth did the design and Jorden the installation. We are extremely pleased with the results. The process was done quickly and any issues handled professionally to our satisfaction.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Bob for the great review. I really appreciate your business and review.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Mudroom custom shelves/cabinets/lockers

We are very happy with our new shelves, lockers and cabinets in our mudroom. Great quality and professional service. Staff were friendly and easy to work with. Addressed all of our questions and concerns in a timely manner. We would definitely recommend Edmonton Custom Closets to others and looking forward to using them for more projects in the future!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review Maureen, you too were a treat to work with!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Walk in closet

One day install. High quality. No probs. Friendly easy to work with. Loving the organization.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks A D for the wonderful review. I'm really glad you are "loving the organization"

Catherine in Edmonton
Catherine in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Kitchen Cupboards; Living Room and Dining area; Garage; Pantry; Walk in Closet

Keith provided a most misleading response to my original review below.

Firstly, to say that Keith 'did 25 individual job........ 'over a long term' Totaling $48,000.00. is not true.

Rather, Keith was hired for one job which was to complete cabinets throughout the house.

This took a matter of months due to Keith's work schedule and because I was flexible and easy to work with.

Keith provided an estimate of no more than $40,000 at the outset in black and white.

However, after Marshall left for a time in early 2019, the in-fighting on site set in between him and his son.

His son frequently decided not to show up for work and with Keith being at other jobs which disadvantaged me both in terms of time and money resulted in unexpected delays and I suspect the unexpected 20% hike in the cost of the work at the end of the project.

As the number of e-mails and official correspondence to and from Keith confirm, Keith was aware of my concerns about shoddy workmanship after Marshall left and Keith's son started to work.

The job was completely finished - apart from the 'snagging' and repairing damage to my walls and TV - and it was, at that point, Keith asked for another approximate $8,000 and it became clear that Keith had begun to charge $100 per hour for himself and $35 for his son who he acknowledge was unskilled and unhelpful to him.

Again, all of this is recorded in e-mails to and from and official correspondence.

Keith suggested I pay him $4,000 and that would be 'good enough'. I did so with the promise from Keith that he would return to repair the problems and the house damage apart from the TV replacement which I had done in the meantime.

As the e-mail records and official correspondence confirms, there was no 'stop work' since the project was finished.

Hence it is petty and small minded to state that Edmonton Custom Closets 'decided not to work' with me since that was a moot point.

In our final conversation, I told Keith it all left a bad taste in my mouth and I made it clear that I would not commission any further work from Edmonton Custom Closets.

Moreover, it must be clear there was no outstanding balance since Keith was the one to suggest 'splitting the difference' and stated he was happy with that.

Finally, I learned a very hard lesson and I am entitled to share my experience.

It is too late for me. However, others may benefit by first asking for a 'contract' to ensure that there is no 20% hike at the end of the job.

Not least since Keith's choregraphed and factually incorrect response to my unfavourable review signifies further lack of integrity.

A more business like response would have been to be restrain from manufacturing such propaganda.

I truly hope my review helps both Edmonton Custom Closets and future clients to avoid the pitfalls that come without written contracts and true meeting of the minds.

On a final note, there are a dozen pictures of my home that remains on Edmonton Custom Closets Website that I have asked on several occasions to be taken down because they are misleading and misrepresent the accomplishments.

However, I have been ignored and they remain which once again summarizes the lack of integrity and also respect afforded to me, the client.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Still hoping that Keith will return to fix damage done to the Living Room; Dining Area; Garage cupboards and storage that occurred during installation.

A couple of the Garage doors also remain unfinished. Whereas other doors are now discolored after a very short time.

Some other outstanding issues around the Living Room and Dining areas requires completion and filler is now required for chips and damage to some of the installed product itself and other things that include a brand-new Sony TV that became a casualty of the installation process, alongside damage to several house walls that require repair and repainting.

Still waiting too for the pictures that have been used without my permission and added to the Edmonton Custom Closets Website for the specific reason that if one were able to take a closer look at the work in my Home, they would find the aforementioned chips; scratches and damages as some of these attached sample pictures make clear.

All things considered, I recommend Edmonton Custom Closets for the Bedroom Walk in Closet which, evidently, is the basis for the business and what Keith should most likely stick to, especially if Marshall is not around to assist.

In summary, everything started out well with Marshall and Keith.
Unfortunately, things didn't end up so well with Keith’s Son Scott standing in for Marshall mid-way through the project.

Many days were ‘hit and miss’ with difficulties between Father and Son that resulted in unwelcome stress and time delays that were invoiced, resulting in a shocking final tally somewhere in the region of $44,000.

I was also very disappointed to discover at the end of the project that I was paying $100 per hour which was not declared up front and is most definitely not warranted either for the work itself (some of which Keith was learning along the way such as the Garage; Kitchen; Living Room and Dining Room installation) or as a result of the on-site personality clash and internal company difficulties.

Since I was able to provide the contacts for Keith to access the already existing product used in my newly built Town House and also able to provide pictures of what was to be installed from my own research, it should never have turned out the way it did.

Or indeed the final cost it did.

Incidentally, there was some sort of possible 25% mark up which added costs of thousands of dollars.

Had I known or had this been discussed, I would have just made the call to my own contacts.

Such sharp business practice left a bad taste in my mouth.

Opportunist at best and charlatan at worst one might say. I am - as yet - undecided.

Some very hard lessons learned including advice and suggestions from others that I overpaid but was under delivered.

Attached are some photos and a break down of costs.

Final suggestions would be to have a written contract and some sort of guarantee for the work and workmanship.

Approximate cost of services:
$44,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We did 25 individual jobs for this client in her home, over a long term. Totaling $48,000.00

We did do our best to go above and beyond our usual scope in order to make sure she was satisfied with all our work; she was extremely happy until one day she decided she only wanted to pay $ 44,000.00. At this point I had no choice but to stop all work until it was agreed that the outstanding balance was to be paid. That agreement was not reached so therefore, Edmonton Custom Closets has decided no longer to work with this client.

To the reader, if there are any questions regarding this review, please do not hesitate to call us at (780) 278-1984. Or please read the 15 other Homestar reviews.

Regards,
Keith and the Edmonton Custom Closets Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Great Service

Keith was the easiest man to work with. Super friendly, easy to talk to and work with. He made choosing Edmonton Custom Closets over the other ones thoughtless. Product looked great and I couldn't be happier with both my new office and closet.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Library/Den Upgrade & Shoe Racks

Keith (ECC) provided a wide range of library and office workspace designs, materials and colors. I was quite impressed with his computer aided designs (where we could make real-time changes) and professional delivery on-spec on-time. Excellent work.

Approximate cost of services:
$9,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review, I hope you enjoy your home office.
Keith

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Mud Room

Great customer service, Keith measured and quoted on site. Fair pricing, quality work (attention to detail). Good selection of colors, quick delivery-ordered and installed within three weeks. Would definitely recommend!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,400.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review it was fun to do your Mudroom

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Closet Organizer

I found Keith to be professional, efficient, and accommodating. I was pleased with the installation and the product. I would highly recommend his services to anyone looking for closet organizers or other storage options!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,600.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Doug, I really appreciate your review. Enjoy your closets!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Edmonton Custom Closets

Notice: During the COVID-19 pandemic, Edmonton Custom Closets is operational during this time for all your needs. We are able to provide quotations and estimates through virtual consultation and through the practice of social distancing. Edmonton Custom Closets is a small company set up to serve our customers on a ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Closet & Storage Solutions pros in Edmonton?