Porter Moving & Storage - Out Of Buisness

Moving & Storage
1815 Meyerside Drive
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Brampton  >  Porter Moving & Storage - Out Of Buisness
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Porter Moving & Storage - Out Of Buisness

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (39 reviews)

Sort by

Joyce D.
Joyce D.
3 reviews Brampton, ON
3/10

move from Brampton to Lincoln

Started off late 6 boys 2 trucks, did not fit all in 2 trks had to go back so I gave them the garage door opener picked up most stuff had to make another trip for stuffed missed. Did not bring door opener and 5 mths later still trying to get the garage door opener. the move was slow and they got lost for 2 hrs, were not careful, walls banged, marked boxes put anywhere but the right place as they did not care. Michael still not returning calls or emails. very disappointed a many promises broken to have the opener returned and still not done.

Was this review helpful?
Melisa C in Mississauga
Melisa C in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
1/10

Residential Move - Disastrous

Do not use this company. They charged my deposit twice on my visa and won’t refund me. Michael won’t answer my calls and when he calls back always has an excuse why I haven’t seen the credit back on my visa. He promised me yesterday he would do an email transfer which I still haven’t gotten. They also charged my visa in full for the move the week before they actually moved me. My quote said they would arrive at 8-9am. They showed up at noon after I had to call multiple times to find out where they are. My quote said they would have wardrobe boxes, mattress covers and runners to protect flooring none of which they had.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Brampton, ON
0/10

HOUSE MOVING

VERY BAD EXPERIENCE THIS COMPANY DAMAGED 27 PIECES OF OUR ANTIQUE FAMILY FURNITURE SOME OF IT SO BAD WE HAD TO GET PROFESSIONALS TO REPAIR IT. DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE. THEY WERE NOT PROFESSIONAL WITH US LOADED OUR GOODS IN A RAIN STORM, WATER DAMAGE GOUGES IN THE WOOD NOT REPAIRABLE BY PORTER. THE WORKERS WHO UNLOADED THE TRUCK AND BROUGHT STUFF INTO THE HOUSE BANGED THINGS OFF THE WALLS. ONE OF THE WORKERS CARRIED A HEAD BOARD AND FOOT BOARD AT THE SAME TIME MAKING MARKS ON THE WALLS AND AFTER BEING CONFRONTED DID THE SAME THING AGAIN.IF THIS IS WHAT YOU CALL A GOOD MOVER WHO WAS SUPPOSE TO TRAIN HIS PEOPLE IT WAS NOT VERY WELL DONE.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your comment. We can't find your move in our system. We have had the pleasure of helping thousands of family's move this year and appreciate the feedback. However we're not sure we understand your concerns with our services. A rainy day move is unfortunately, something outside of our control. If you have any damages please contact us so we can either repair or work with our licensed insurance agent. We are open to feedback and want to improve. Contact us at [email protected]
Thank you Meridith smith customer representative.

Lisa D in
Lisa D in
1 review Toronto, ON
7/10

Small move

It started off well. Mike came and quoted for the small job. Then we had 3 young men, 2 with their first week on the job. They were nice and certainly friendly. They were a bit disorganized, but all in all they did a decent job, even though I had to pay extra for the time. I was certainly OK with that.

Nice charismatic guy, for sure. But if something goes wrong you might be on your own, too bad.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Moving

Hi Michael

Just wanted to say thank you so much for all of your help and support during our move. You and your crew were outstanding. Please tell Jonathan, kyle and navell (my apologies if I didn't spell navel correctly ) for all of there excellent hard work, they were amazing yesterday.  Next year when we move again please make sure we get the same crew.

All the best 

Felicia

Was this review helpful?
Linda Umezawa from Toronto
Linda Umezawa from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Residential Move

We retained Porter Moving as our professional moving service when we sold our home. We had not purchased our next property yet. Porter Movers were flexible, helpful and supportive when our move date and the contents to be moved kept changing. We will recommend them to everyone we encounter who is moving. A pleasure to work with everyone there!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Linda! Thank you for the review. Glad we could accommodate you on these last minute changes. Having a back up plan is always necessary.Enjoy the new condo! Michael T

Mary Grande from Unionville
Mary Grande from Unionville
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

Moving

Updated: Sept 10 2015 I agreed to retain Porter services for a 15KM move. They attended my house, viewed furniture and estimated 7 hours plus or minus 1 hour, for 3 men to move everything. I outlined all items to be moved in detail and explained that it was a move into a 3 storey townhouse. The move took 12 hours, we had to assist them to shrink wrap and move boxes because it took so long. I ended up with a broken imported table, (which they said their insurance would repair) They chipped glass shelving, marked walls and furniture, stained rugs from tar on their shoes and in the moving truck and left one large vitrine in the garage, asking for an additional fee to disassemble and move it in the house although they had seen it when they quoted and never expressed any concerns about moving it. I outlined my dispute concerns to Porter however he went ahead and charged my credit card for $1,500 without my agreement.
Update: Sept 9 2015. They came to my home after my Homestar review and agreed that I was right. However they did not follow through on anything that we agreed to. I was overcharged, substantially, without my authorization, the table repair was a mess. The vitrine sat in my garage until I arranged and paid to move it into the house.
The move was catastrophic.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Updated: Sept 18 2015 Mary requested the credit card company, look at all information and come to a decision. After the report Porter Moving and storage was awarded the payment. We never like letting things get to this point. We always want to work with the customers. No business is perfect but we will try to make our wrongs, right. We will learn from this experience and come back stronger as a company. Thank you, Michael.Jul 14, 2015 The funds that were placed on temporary hold are now available for use Removed Details -$1,401.20 CAD $43.74 CAD -$1,357.46 CAD

Hi Mary, Michael Theodorou here. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Mary, you added work from the quote. Disassemble of your built in wall unit took an additional 3 hours. We talked during the day if you were okay with these charges and you said yes. Our men at porter have never taken apart something so larger and told you there would be additional time. During the quote you said you would have the same professionals disassemble and move it. On moving day you said they couldn't do it. Leaving the movers to scramble to get it done in a timely manner for you. The final price was now including the extra 3hrs to disassemble your dresser. We are still in talks to fix your furniture and will still be sending out a repair man. We would never leave you after getting payment. Really wish you would have spoken to me directly about these concerns. Porter will always do the right thing. We ask our customer's do the same.
From: Michael Theodorou

Igor from Vaughan
Igor from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
8/10

House move

Edit: The issue described has been promptly rectified to customer satisfaction with the company management.

------
The service crew showed up over an hour late, very arrogant. I requested a follow up call with management, dead end.
Better take business somewhere else, I can not recommend their service to anyone.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Igor please contact us back. We would like to talk to you,we will make this right! The phone number we have goes straight to voice mail.

Lisa from Toronto
Lisa from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Moving

Excellent customer service and value. Had a great move today with Porter. Everyone I spoke with at the company was very professional and friendly. The movers were nice, hardworking, and very careful with heavy and fragile objects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review Lisa! We enjoy giving great customer service with added value. If you need anything else, give us a call. Thank you. Porter

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Porter Moving & Storage - Out Of Buisness

Bring our experts to your home! We offer a range of moving services–all designed to help you come moving day. Whether you’re looking for a small apartment or a four bedroom house move, we have you covered. Our services are available À la carte so you can get precisely what ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.